FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The End of Your Life Book... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The End of Your Life Book Club Paperback – 6 Jun 2013

4.2 out of 5 stars 137 customer reviews

See all 22 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£9.99
£5.44 £2.52
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£9.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • The End of Your Life Book Club
  • +
  • Books for Living: a reader’s guide to life
  • +
  • Crossing to Safety (Penguin Modern Classics)
Total price: £34.16
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Two Roads (6 Jun. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444706381
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444706383
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 2.2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 137 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 139,826 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done. (Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra)

I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do. (Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes)

A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son. (Library Journal)

Will Schwalbe's brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You'll turn the last page wishing you'd met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example - and promising yourself to read more. (J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar)

At last a book that celebrates the role books play within our own story. Will Schwalbe has created a tender, moving and honest portrayal of the precious relationship between a mother and son - an ode to that beautiful thing called love. (Cecilia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You)

A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page. (Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper)

an astonishing, pertinent, and wonderfully welcome work. (Publishers Weekly starred review)

An extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching book about parental love, filial love, profound grief, and literature's great consolations. How wonderful to encounter a writer who combines erudition with great emotional honesty, and who isn't afraid of addressing life's most profound and baffling questions. (Douglas Kennedy, author of Leaving the World and The Pursuit of Happiness)

a moving and inspiring story (Choice Magazine)

This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it. (Booklist (starred review))

What self-respecting reader isn't a sucker for a great book about other great books? The End of Your Life Book Club is that much and more. (BookPage)

a graceful, affecting testament to a mother and a life well lived. (Entertainment Weekly)

Literature bridges generations in Will Schwalbe's thoughtful tribute to his late mother (Vogue.com)

a tribute to a remarkable woman and an exemplary reader. (Salon)

A truly poignant read . . . a moving tribute to a wonderful-sounding mum and the power of fiction. (Good Housekeeping)

It helps of course if you are a book lover and can relate to the passion for reading, but even prolific readers will find that the book teaches them not only about life and death but about the power of a really good book to move you and peel off the onion skin layers of "what you already know" and reveal truths. (Curious Book Fans)

a life-enhancing celebration of the power of books and reading, very much in the vein of Tuesdays with Morrie (Independent)

Book Description

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
The inspiring story of a son and his dying mother, who form a 'book club' that brings them together as her life comes to a close.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 22 August 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 June 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: book club

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?