O Come, Emmanuel has been added to your Basket
+ £1.76 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

O Come, Emmanuel

4.6 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

Price: £13.44 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 13 Nov 2015
£9.52 £7.93
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Product details

  • Conductor: None
  • Composer: Various
  • Audio CD (13 Nov. 2015)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Regent Records
  • ASIN: B01708JFR8
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 222,099 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Prelude - Various Performers
  2. Advent Responsory I - Various Performers
  3. The Advent of Our God - Various Performers
  4. O Sapientia - Various Performers
  5. Where Shall Wisdom Be Found? - Various Performers
  6. O Adonaï - Various Performers
  7. Come, Thou Long-expected Jesus - Various Performers
  8. O Radix Jesse - Various Performers
  9. There Is a Rose-tree - Various Performers
  10. O Clavis David - Various Performers
  11. Earth Grown Old - Various Performers
  12. Thy Kingdom Come! On Bended Knee - Various Performers
  13. O Oriens - Various Performers
  14. Chanticleer - Various Performers
  15. O Rex Gentium - Various Performers
  16. Joy to the World! - Various Performers
  17. And They Shall Call His Name Emmanuel - Various Performers
  18. O Emmanuel - Various Performers
  19. Gabriel's Message - Various Performers
  20. And Art Thou Come With Us to Dwell? - Various Performers
  21. Advent Responsory II - Various Performers
  22. Lo! He Comes With Clouds Descending - Various Performers
  23. A Baby So Small, a Message So Great - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  24. A Boy Is Born in Bethlehem (Puer Natus) - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  25. And All the Stars Looked Down - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  26. Hillside Carol - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  27. The Gracious Gift - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  28. This Night - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  29. Rose of Such Virtue - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  30. Child in the Manger, Lord of All - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  31. A Star As Bright As Day - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
  32. Merrily Did the Shepherds Blow - The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge

Product description

Product Description

Alan Bullards O Come, Emmanuel is an Advent Celebration based on the Great O Antiphons. It is the second of three cantatas for broadly similar forces that Bullard wrote in successive years, the first being Wondrous Cross (2011), recorded by Selwyn College Choir (REGCD404). O Come Emmanuel (2012) is dedicated to Sarah MacDonald and the Chapel Choir of Selwyn College and was first performed, in its complete form, in a service in Selwyn College Chapel on Advent Sunday, 1st December 2013.

The remainder of this disc contains ten new Christmas carols. The dates of the poems that Alan Bullard has chosen to set range from the present day to the distant past, but all tell the same story, beloved of Christians for centuries.

Selwyn College Choir, under the direction of Sarah MacDonald, have gained increasing critcal recognition in recent years, not least for their advocacy of the works of living composers. Their previous CD release The Eternal Ecstasy spent several weeks in the Specialist Classical Charts and was Classicfm Album of the Week in July 2015.

Selwyns performance in Wondrous Cross beautifully exhibits their true charm and reverence. REGCD404 Choral Journal (US)

Sensitive, precise and well-balanced Gramophone

The 29 mixed-voice Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, under the skilful leadership of Sarah MacDonald provides sterling performances of these 19 musical gems. Their vocalism is distinguished by clarity of diction, immediacy, purity of tone, superb balance, blend, intonation, rhythmic precision, and subtle expression... The American Organist

3 customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

31 December 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
10 January 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
22 April 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase