Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
194
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2017
will do busisness again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
It is very good and excellent .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2005
This was the first Elvis DVD i bought. I have since bought, the 68 comback special and Aloha from Hawaii and well as various movies that he did. The 'Elvis -- That's The Way It Is' DVD is the best one yet! As a hugh Elvis fan i do beleive that this shows elvis in the same light as in 1956. His performances, both vocally and sexually are on an even with performances such as Hound Dog on The ED Sullivan show in 56 and the Jailhouse Rock video of 1957. The best performance is the Suspicous Minds track. Elvis shows a amazing amount of energy, enthusiasum and unbelievable vocals to a massive, screaming live audiance. After listening to recorded tracks on the 30 no1 hits cd, the live versions of such song like in the Ghetto, The wonder of you and suspicous Minds and twice as goo live. He also performs Thats all right Mama, All shook up and Hound Dog, thats all right Mama is equally as good as the original, even though elvis never performed Hound dog, Blue suede shoes etc as well after the 50s.
A must have!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
THAT'S THE WAY IT IS. ELVIS.

VERDICT :
Buy It !

SEE FURTHER BELOW FOR FULL TECHNICAL DETAILS.

NEVER MIND ALL THE TECHNICAL GUFF, WHAT'S ELVIS LIKE ?
He's brilliant !
This is the King in 1970 at the peak of his second classic period ( 1968 - 1973 ).
He Rocks and he Rolls, he jigs, he does karate moves and he even cracks the occasional joke.
Just buy it. You'll love it,

N.B. REGIONS :
I bought the Region 1 version.
Potential purchasers have asked if this version will play on a UK Machine.
Yes it does. At least it does on my Sony Blu-Ray player.
Both the DVD and the Blu-Ray disc play on my UK Blu-Ray player.

The official Amazon 'Product Details' describe the discs as Region A/1
which is of course made for America, Canada etc but not for Britain.
Normally that would mean it wouldn't play on a UK player.
Despite this, both discs play perfectly on my Blu-Ray UK player.

THE FILMS :
That's the Way it is. Elvis.
Blu-Ray and DVD plus booklet.

COST :
I paid £13.24 = £11.28 plus £1.26 for postage on 08.10.14.

SELLER :
Ordered from 'All your Music' - an American seller based in California
BUT arrived from 'Digital Waves' c/o Keymail UK Limited. Harmondsworth. U.K.

DELIVERY TIME :
Delivery only took 10 days.
I paid on 08.10.14. It arrived on 18.10.14.
Very good delivery time for an item purportedly sent from the USA.

POSTAL PACKAGING :
Good.
The item arrived in softish brown cardboard with corrugated inner lining
which protected the contents reasonably well.

SHRINK WRAP ETC :
The Blu-Ray set was shrink wrapped.
There was a gold label '2 disc collector's set' in the bottom right hand corner.
It was stuck on top of the shrink wrap.
That helps encourage the idea that this is not a 'counterfeit' copy.
( See the attached photo of this info-sticker posted with this review. )
Blue print on the rear of the shrink wrap states 'Disc made in Mexico'.

DISC CASE + BOOKLET :
Very high quality 'hard back book'-style disc case
with integral 44 page booklet with text and top quality photos of the man himself.

The front and rear cover of the disc case are all in English.
The rear of Blu-Ray case offers full technical details all exactly as per the images on the Amazon page.
Incidentally, the 'rear cover' is actually a detachable, insert-type sheet.

The 2 discs are locked securely into place in a clever, tiered plastic structure.
Please see the attached photo.

REGIONS :
No matter what it says on the discs,
both the DVD and the Blu-Ray discs play perefctly on my UK purchased Blu-Ray player.

DISC 1 - THE BLU-RAY DISC :

The Blu-Ray version of the 2001 Special Edition.

Regions :
There is no mention of any Regions on the disc itself.
There is also no mention of 'Regions' anywhere on the packaging.
I presume that means that Disc 1 is Region-Free.
Disc 1 ( the Blu-Ray ) plays perfectly on my Region 2, UK Sony Blu-Ray player.
My Sony Player is not Region-Free. Despite this, the Blu-Ray disc plays as normal.

FILM QUALITY - of the Blu-Ray Disc :
Blu-Ray Quality - ( Released 2014 )
The film quality is very good.
Not quite top Blu-Ray quality but better than standard DVD.
Considering the film was made as far back as 1970, the quality is impressive.

DISC 2 - THE DVD DISC :

DISC 2 :
The 1970 Theatrical ( = Cinema ) release on DVD.

There are 'Extras' on Disc 2.

Regions :
Disc 2 is described as 'Region 1.'
The words 'Region 1.' are printed on the outer circumference of Disc 2.
This disc plays perfectly on my Region 2, UK Sony Blu-Ray player.
My Sony Player is not Region Free. Despite this, the DVD plays as normal.
So, you don't necessarily need a Region 1 player or a Region-Free player in order to play this DVD.

Printed on the disc is : 'Widescreen. Region 1. - 108 minutes. '

TECHNICAL DETAILS :

DISC 1 :

Contents :
That's the Way it Is. Elvis.
The Blu-Ray version of the 2001 Special Edition.

Total Running Time :
1 hour, 34 minutes and 57 seconds.

Screen :
Widescreen ( 16:9 )

Resolution :
1080/24p ( = 24 frames per second )

Picture Quality :
Surprisingly good considering this film was made in 1970,
mainly with hand held cameras.

Audio :
English. DTS HD Master Audio. 5:1ch. 48kHz - 4.5 Mbps.

DISC 2 :

Contents :
That's the Way it Is. Elvis.
Theatrical version = the film originally shown in the cinema.

Total Running Time :
1 hour, 48 minutes and 20 seconds.

Screen :
Widescreen ( 16:9 )

Resolution :
?

Picture Quality :
Surprisingly good. Especially considering this film was made as far back as 1970.

Audio :
MONO.
English. Dolby Digital. 1.0ch. 48kHz - 192 Kbps.
Please see the attached photo of the Mono label.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
I am very Disappointed with this release. Disc 1 is very good and in excellent condition. But then it would be, as it was only released a few years ago. The Original Film on Disc 2, does not look like it has been cleaned up in any way at all and is no better than my old VHS copy. The extra's (less than 40 minutes) are in bad quality and even stagger here and there. And what about the 'Lost Performances' video? No sight of that footage!
The Ideal would have been a package like the 'Aloha' and '68 Special' sets a couple of years ago. I would of cut out the Elvis Impersonators and the Fan interviews Etc from the original film and gathered all existing rehearsal and concert footage from both films plus 'Lost Performances' before re-editing it all together with never before released footage in a 3dvd set in Remastered quality.
If you have not got the new 2001 version (On Disc 1) then this may be worth getting, although you can buy it as a separate DVD. If you have , then I wouldnt bother with this. I for one cant wait until they get it right. I would rather pay three times as much for the real deal!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Just received this bluray from amazon the picture quality is a massive improvement on the dvd version of this movie Elvis at his absolute peak.ive noticed one other review remarking on the bluray being region A only it's not this is region free and an absolute must for Elvis fans put this movie on and be stunned at the picture quality,yes there are a few grainy moments but that doesn't detract from this amazing documentary Elvis at his finest knocking em dead in vegas.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Just excellent.. had this in vhs years ago ... so pleased to get it on DVD ..
Elvis at his best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
DVD arrived on time and the quality is good despite being a used DVD. However, the DVD was recorded in 1970 so no surround sound was incorporated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
Probably my favourite bluray...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2004
I came across this film as I flicked through the TV channels one evening. I originally missed the first half of the film but even coming in half way through I was hooked.
After watching the film, I immediately ordered it from Amazon. It turns out that first third of the film is footage of the build up and rehearsals for the Las Vegas concert - it is nice to see the man himself laughing and joking with his band members and friends, you get to see a different side to the normal staged interviews and performances. The remainder of the film is made up of footage from a couple of performances Elvis made at the Las Vegas Hilton in 1970 and is absolutely magnificent. Most of the Elvis staples are there (Heartbreak Hotel, Suspicious Minds, etc) mixed in with some of the lesser remembered songs. All songs are given with so much fun and energy; it is easy to see why people still consider Elvis Presley to have been the ultimate showman and performer.
Put the film on, turn off the lights, wire the sound through the stereo if possible and just take it the spectacle of it all. I always say that given a time machine, one of the things I would like to do would be to go to an Elvis concert (I was not even born in 1970!) when he was in his post Hollywood concert tour semi-comeback phase. This DVD is nowhere near as good as the real thing would have been but it is as close as we are going to get and for that it is wonderful.
This is how people should remember Elvis.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)