Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
90
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2003
This book is a masterpiece and a must for everyone even non Elvis fans.It gives an in depth into the man good and bad. The most fantastic Elvis book I have ever read. I have read most of them,but I keep reading this one over and over again.Some Elvis fans may not beleive what they read because he is not portrayed as an idol, being put on a pedestal, but a ordinary genuine human being with faults like all of us. This book shows the unhappiness that he endured and the true insite into his life through the life of his truest,closest friends.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2005
This is an unusually honest Elvis biography which manages to treat his memory fondly and sympathetically but which is not afraid to delve into the darker side of his life and background either. Pieced together from the memories of some of his closest friends, there is a seam of humour running through the book as they recall extraordinary incidents from Elvis's life (and even from his family's life before he was born) with a deadpan matter-of-factness. It is also intriguing and sometimes amusing to read three different takes of the same event. I don't suppose anyone will ever manage to encapsulate the complete Elvis, with all his complexities and contradictions, in one single book but I have read several biographies now and this one, above all the others, makes you feel like you've done more than just scratch the surface. So all in all I'd definitely recommend the book as readable, enlightening and an important addition to the Elvis canon.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2005
This book is absolutely unputdownable. Although there is an excess of Elvis books out there, there are really just a handful that combine a superb read with the reality. This one hits the nail on the head. It will have you laughing and crying at the same time - it is loaded with both hilarity and tragedy from these three first hand up-close experiences of this complex and fabulous life. I am reaching the end and don't want it to stop. The honesty and affection that comes through these voices is incredible. I urge you to buy it - Elvis fan or not! Excellent.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
I'm not an Elvis fan, but I bought the book anyway. 750 pages of biography of a singer I don't like. But what a book! The narrative takes you right into the heart of the world of an ordinary and imperfect man trying to keep up with an extraordinary life. It just works so well. If you are reading this, you should buy this book. If only all biographies were made this way....
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Mountains of words have been and still will be written about Elvis...these 'feel' like they are from the horses mouth. I guess as ever the interview style quotes will be from subjective reality, but the overall impression is that their experiences of who Elvis really was, and the major events of his private life and backstage career, pretty much matched. It paints a picture of a man, talented but undereducated from a vicious, greedy, violent blue collar American family of the 1950s. Obsessed with wealth and fame, Presley's father was a weak loser, his mother built him into a monstrous narcissist in order to live in his reflected glory. Elvis never matured, he had no morals or ethics whatsoever and treated other people as objects. He literally ruined lives. It is one of the monumental ironies of recent human civilisation that we elevate the Ability over the Person, every time, if anyone has any doubts about how toxic and fake 'celebrity' life is, and how high the price for all that money fame and power really is, I recommend this book. Really well written, the framework narrative is not exaggerated or overplayed, I was completely gripped.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2007
Can't believe I am saying this but this is a "Bodyguard" book that is well worth reading. Although it tells of Elvis' not so nice side it is done in such a way that you see Elvis as a whole person both good and bad. It is written without bitterness but maybe with some regret that you can only appreciate with the gift of hindsight.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Such a fabulous read of an amazing, shocking and tragic story, and most probably the closest we'll get to the overall true picture of the very man himself. It is finely crafted and executed by our friend, Alanna as she captures the glories and tribulations through the perspectives of Billy, Marty and Lamar - three of the man's closest friends (1 of them family) who were very much a part of "The Memphis Mafia".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2005
This is an unusually honest Elvis biography which manages to treat his memory fondly and sympathetically but which is not afraid to delve into the darker side of his life and background either. Hewn together from the memories of some of his best friends, there is a seam of humour running through the book as they recall extraordinary incidents from Elvis's life (and even from his family's life before he was born) with a deadpan matter-of-factness. It is also intriguing and sometimes amusing to read three different takes of the same event. I don't suppose anyone will ever manage to encapsulate the complete Elvis, with all his complexities and contradictions, in one single book but I have read several biographies now and this one, above all the others, makes you feel like you've done more than just scratch the surface. So all in all I'd definitely recommend the book as readable, enlightening and an important addition to the Elvis canon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
A Total Betrayal Of Three Of His Closest Aides, If These Were Friends I wouldn't Like To Have Met His Enemies, The Book Is Done In Excellent Format Having Three Different Versions Of The Same Events But The Content On The Details Were A Little Disturbing And The Final Results Made Reading In Comparison To The West's Book "What Happened" & The Albert Goldman Trash Written Years Later. If You Believe Elvis Was A Pill Popping Pervert, Racial, Prejudiced And A Bully Then Read This Book. If All The Content Is True I Believe A True Friend Would Never Tell, Unless Of Course You Had The Benjamin Franklin In Mind, My Opinion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
I couldn't put this book down and have read it within a week.
Sometimes it goes on and on about Elvis's finances, which are a bit boring - I enjoyed the
Juicy bits about his philandering and the general 60s vibe which is very well remembered and described.
There are just a few paragraphs about his supposedly faked death and as the book was written quite a few years
ago, most of the guys narrating are now dead.
However, I enjoyed this book immensely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse