Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £4.00 (44%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Elmet: SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017 by [Mozley, Fiona]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Elmet: SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017 Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 123 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£4.99

Length: 320 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now

Product description

Review

A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable (The Economist)

Elmet is in so many ways a wonder to behold. It is also this year's David among the predictable Goliaths on the Booker list. How thrilling if David were to win against them (Evening Standard)

A work of troubling beauty . . . Brutal, bleak, ethereal (New Statesman)

Mozley is a gifted writer . . . Pastoral idyll, political exposé, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather (Sunday Times)

An impressive slice of contemporary noir steeped in Yorkshire legend . . . Elmet possesses a rich and unfussy lyricism (Guardian)

A rare find of a book and a truly startling debut . . . a fascinating and unique tale shot through with gothic elements of Yorkshire folklore and fable. A poignant and powerful story, relevant now more than ever in a time when many in the countryside feel disenfranchised and unheard, Elmet packs a punch (Stylist, Book Wars)

Rhythmic and lilting . . . a rich and earthy tale (Financial Times)

At its best, it reminds you of Cormac McCarthy's The Road (Metro)

A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable written in palatably simple prose . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement (TLS)

A novel that straddles the centuries, simultaneously modern and backward-looking, Hardeyesque yet fully engaged with contemporary politics (Literary Review)

With subtle colloquial dialogue and vibrant descriptive passages, this is an evocative read, which deserves attention (Sunday Independent)

Spellbinding . . . What is so memorable is the sense of utter desolation of this family. They are as outside our world as Lear and Edgar on the Heath (The Spectator, Books of the Year)

An amazingly brilliant debut novel . . . and a work of extraordinary Yorkshire grit . . . exquisite (Jenni Murray Guardian, Books of the Year)

Lyrical and mythic . . . a beguiling patchwork of influences held together by Mozley's distinct voice (New York Times)

A magical debut novel . . . this dazzling debut feels steeped in a more primitive, violent past . . . in seductively poetic prose, the book shines a light on the toll of power wielded cruelly, as well as on a countering force: the extraordinary sustenance family devotion can provide (People Magazine, Book of the Week)

Fiona Mozley's remarkable debut looks at life on the margins of society . . . A darkly evocative tale that lingers in one's mind (Financial Times, Books of the Year)

A cracking read. Darkly lyrical and full of violence, Mozley's Yorkshire owes something to Ted Hughes, something to older, deeper folk tales and fables. She's a name to watch (Observer, Books of the Year)

The breakout debut was the surprise dark horse on the Man Booker shortlist this year. A restless, fiercely felt novel about the deep bonds within an outlaw family in rural Yorkshire, it combines a demanding lyrical intensity with passages of astonishing violence and marks out Mozley, not yet 30, as a writer of great promise (Metro, Books of the Year)

Book Description

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent


From the Publisher


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2966 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: JM Originals; 01 edition (27 July 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06VWXLQ8Y
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 123 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,240 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?



Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

TOP 500 REVIEWER
28 December 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
18 November 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
2 December 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
3 April 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
2 April 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
18 December 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
20 November 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
24 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?