Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
99
4.6 out of 5 stars
Elizabeth, The Queen
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.99


on 23 October 2017
This is a superb over all account of the life of the complex Queen Elizabeth 1. Alison Wier has certainly made the most of the primary source material she is privileged to delve into, covering the vast amount of relevant people and events who were an important part of the Elizabethan era. This is a huge thick tome of imformation but as Alison herself says in this book, “you cannot please all of the people all of the time” and some have said she should have delved even further into Mary Queen of Scots or the Aramada etc. which I thought took up too much in the book, and if you think about it, I could also say she should have delved further into at least nine other people in Elizabeth’s life whom are of interest to me, but if Alison Weir had done this on each and every person, this book would have had to have been written into ‘volumes’. I devoured this book in one go and once finished I re read it again so I could absorb all of the details of Elizabeth’s life. I have read many books about Elizabeth and none of them touch this for its accuracy and vast detail. It is a superb account of an Elizabethan woman who in 2017 still holds fascination and intrigue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
I have read many books about the Tudor period and have always enjoyed Alison Weir's descriptions and attention to detail of both the era and the people in it. This book is extremely interesting and well written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
This book offers up a detailed account of Elizabeth, both in her personal life and habits and her public and working life, in great detail. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and found it hard to put down. Even for such a long (yet good read), I was disappointed to reach the end.

If you want to read about Elizabeth I, this is definately the book to buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2017
Wonderful.x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
exceiient
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
Great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
If you are as interested in tudor history as I am, you may enjoy most if not all of Alison Weir's books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
A fantastic biography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Easy read, Engrossing and written in an enjoyable way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Without doubt the best biography on Queen Elizabeth I ever written. Alison Weir draws you in as a reader so close to the life of England's arguably most famous- and one of its most successful- Monarchs, that you really feel as if you are getting to know Elizabeth herself. Although not intended as a biography and more of a detail about Elizabeth's personnel life and court. Weir gives the reader much detail about Elizabeth's Palaces, and progresses, the entertainments put on for her by her nobles when she visited their homes (particularly Robert Dudley at Kenilworth). Weir also examines some of the most fascinating chapters of Elizabeth's life, the dramas with Mary,Queen of Scots, the 'Marriage Game', the Spanish Armada, and the succession crisis. It is a fascinating analysis on how the young woman who inherited the throne in 1558 would go on to become such a successful Monarch. Weir also brings the reader into Elizabeth's intimate circle, revealing her great wit and sense of humour with her courtiers, but she does not hide Elizabeth's less appealing traits, her great temper with her ladies and Privy Councillors, her continual procrastinating on important matters of state, her incredible tight fisted attitude to paying her soldiers for fought in the Armada, but she highlights the struggles Elizabeth faced ruling in a mans world in the 16th century, and that, by the end of her life Elizabeth had more than proved herself as a Monarch.
Weir highlights the fact that on Elizabeth's death many of her courtiers had become tired of being ruled by an old woman and longed for the rule of a man. However, in the years that followed they came to realise what they had lost, and began to look back on her reign as 'The Golden Age' of England. Weir points out one of the highlights of Elizabeth's Golden Speech to Parliament where Elizabeth states "And though you have had, and may have, many princes more mighty and wise sitting in this seat, yet you never had nor shall have, any that will be more careful and loving" is true, as no Monarch before or since has had such a close with their subjects.
I read this book nearly ten years ago, and still come back to it time and again, it details the glittering court of Elizabeth I like no other. If you really want to learn about the Tudor Palaces, Castles and stately homes lived in or visited by Elizabeth, the fascinating politics, drama and intrigue that surrounded her, the love she shared with Robert Dudley, yet could never bring herself to be with him, and the fun, games and tantrums that went on in the private apartments, then this book is exactly what you are looking for. This book is one of the best history books i have ever read, and ever shall read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)