Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 December 2010
I have waited for this book eagerly and my hard up son presented it to me for Christmas. I have been buried in it for the last two days and learned some fascinating facts and seen some lovely photos but in the end could not consider it value for money. Frustratingly, important designs are often verbally described but then there are no images of those particular gowns which is very disappointing.Then there are typos on every other page and in a couple of instances, ends of sentences missing. Whoever did the proof reading did a dreadful job. For such an expensive book I would have expected the commentary to be pristine in its typing, more full colour photographs and a thorough, comprehensive depiction of Edith Head's work. There are a lot of gaps in this book where the gowns described should actually have been shown. It is very much a coffee table, mild overview and a bit of a rip-off at the price. I will look again when a more definitive book, with colour pictures from every film that attributed a deserved screen credit to Edith Head, is published.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
You need a lot of room on your bookshelf for this one but it's well worth it , it doesn't leave any of
the controversy of Ms Heads career out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2011
As an avid collector of fashion and history books I awaited this book with some anticipation. The book has some interesting illustrations but rather too many of Miss Head and rather too few of her creations. One of the other reviewers commented on garment descriptions rather than pictures. This is not helped by the inarticulate writing which is hardly worth reading...e.g. 'A blue dress with with blue sleeves' very helpful. Very disappointing.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2011
After studying the theory and history of costume design in Hollywood, I was itching to get my hands on a tome like this and it didn't disappoint.
Not only do you get a full biography of this talented, if somewhat illusive woman, but there's page after page of glorious movie stills, artwork, and sketches, from most of the productions Edith Head was lucky enough to work on, my personal favourites, Grace Kelly in Rear Window and To Catch A Thief, plus Audrey Hepburn and Elizabeth Taylor, these women the definition of style in the fifties, and still inspiring today, thanks to those fabulous clothes.
Four hundred stunning pages in all, not to be read on Kindle or any other reading device, it would be an insult to this beautiful tome, but then for me nothing can replace the look and feel of any book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2012
This is a great book on the fashion designer Edith Head; Head is the top fashion designer in the history of film. I bought this book mostly out of curiosity as so many of my favourite film stars have been dressed by her and always wondered who she really was. The book tells the story of a hard working woman who was highly creative and who never really retired, it is loaded with very high quality stills most of which I have never seen before. It also covers her most famous films in extensive detail, such as here work with Hitchcock on Vertigo and the birds.

Despite the other reviewers criticisms I would still highly recommend this book for the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2015
All went well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2014
Fabulous book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2010
This is a must have book for all those interested in the history of costume during the golden era of film and glamour Edith Head IS the fashion icon of that era and this is a truely fabulous book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here