Early Singles has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by annsbooksetc
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Excellent condition. Dispatched from UK.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Early Singles CD

3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £15.44 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
27 new from £9.26 4 used from £6.99
£15.44 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Champs Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (24 May 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Ace
  • ASIN: B0000009IS
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 357,108 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Tequila
  2. Train To Nowhere
  3. El Rancho Rock
  4. Midnighter
  5. Chariot Rock
  6. Subway
  7. Turnpike
  8. Rockin' Mary
  9. Gone Train
  10. Beatnik
  11. Caramba
  12. Moonlight Bay
  13. Night Train
  14. The Rattler
  15. Sky High
  16. Double Eagle Rock
  17. Too Much Tequila
  18. Twenty Thousand Leagues
  19. Red Eye
  20. The Little Matador
  21. Alley Cat
  22. Coconut Drive
  23. Tough TRain
  24. The Face
  25. Hokey Pokey
  26. Jumping bean
  27. Sombrero
  28. The Shoddy Shoddy
  29. Cantina
  30. Panic Button

Product Description

* Features the As and Bs from the first fifteen singles.

* The package includes highly-informative notes by the Pipeline instrumental experts.

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I only have "Teqiula" and the great rockin' instrumental "Train to nowhere" so can anybody shed more light on what the other material on this cd is like and when it was recorded please?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Of Several Ace Releases Covering The Champs 16 Sept. 2007
By George O'Leary - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
From 1958 to 1962 this LA instrumental group, who took their name from Gene Autry's famous horse Champ, had 8 single hits for the label Autry started in 1957, Challenge Records. At the outset the group was made up of studio musicians Dave Burgess on rhythm guitar, lead guitar Buddy Bruce, saxophonist Danny Flores (who would later change his name to Chuck Rio), bass guitarist Cliff Hils and drummer Gene Alden.

Their debut single was a memorable one as Tequila soared to # 1 Pop (where it stayed for 5 weeks) and # 1 R&B (4 weeks) in early 1958 b/w Train To Nowhere on Challenge 1016. That, however, not only turned out to be a tough act to follow, but the group suddenly began making personnel changes as both Hils and Bruce were replaced by Joe Burnas and Dale Norris for the next release, Maybelle b/w Take This Love on Challenge 1018 billed as Dave Burgess & The Champs. It would be the only time they tried that billing, and for some reason that is left out of this compilation.

For their next release the revamped group chose the old standard Alla En El Rancho Grande, which had been a hit for Bing Crosby way back in 1939, and in June had it go to # 10 R&B and # 30 Pop as El Rancho Rock b/w Midnighter, which also charted at # 94 Pop on Challenge 59007. Then, following the same pattern of resurrecting old tunes, they next hit with Chariot Rock, based on the spiritual Swing Low, Sweet Chariot, which made it to # 59 Pop in late summer 1958 b/w Subway on Challenge 59018.

Shortly after, following some friction, more changes ensued as both Flores and Alden were asked to leave the band, being replaced by saxophonist Jimmy Seals and drummer Dash Crofts (who would form the team Seals & Crofts in the 1970s). But they wouldn't hit the charts again until early 1960 as five straight releases all failed to make any national charts (Turnpike/Rockin' Mary, Gone Train/Beatnik, Caramba/Moonlight Bay, Night Train/The Rattler and Sky High/Double Take - all presented here in order and showing label details - for those released in the U.K. they also show the London label details).

Then, reverting to their debut hit, they cut Too Much Tequila and saw it top out at # 30 Pop in February 1960 b/w Twenty Thousand Leagues on Challenge 59063. It would then be another two years and 6 more singles before they reached the Hot 100 again (Red Eye/The Little Matador, Alley Cat/Coconut Drive, Tough Train/The Face, Hokey Pokey/Jumping Bean, Sombrero/The Shoddy Shoddy and Cantina/Panic Button - again, all presented here in order. It was also in this period that Glen Campbell joined the band as a guitarist.

You must, however, also buy their other CD in the singles series, The Later Years, in order to get their last 3 hits along with the rest of their failed singles for Challenge to 1965. Here you get 5 pages of liner notes written by Dave Burke and Roy Simonds of the U.K. publication, Pipeline Magazine, mixed with some poster and chart insert reproductions. The sound quality is excellent.

One can only conclude that someone at Ace has an abiding admiration for The Champs as they have released no less than 5 different CDs on the group, this one which came out in 1996 and 1997's The Later Singles, as well as the 1993 release Wing Ding which contains a mix of 28 singles, album cuts and unreleased material, the CD Tequila in 2004, again with a mix of 22 singles/album sides, and a 2006 release of the 12-track original 1958 Challenge LP CHL-601 Go Champs Go.

A bit of overkill perhaps for a group with a modest history of hits at best, but if you remember and loved this band from your youth you can certainly get your fill from Ace.
5.0 out of 5 stars One great selection of tunes for the die-hard fans! 1 Aug. 2016
By Rick - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Want: 20 THOUSAND LEAGUES? You will find it here.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category