Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18


TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is another example of what I've come to expect from the 'at a glance' series. A handy, quick reference guide that breaks down the topic - in this case ENT, into manageable and intelligble bite size chunks that covers the basics from diagnosis to treatment and management pathways. By definition it's not a comprehensive guide, more a taster/quick reference so won't replace some of the classic studies in this area like Lecture Notes - Diseases of the Ear, Nose and Throat by Ray Clarke and Lecture Notes on Diseases of the Ear, Nose and Throat by P D Bull. The medical illustrations (both photographs and drawings) complement the text.

My only complaint about the 'at a glance' series is that none of the guides are pocket sized. Reduce this to slightly smaller than A5 and you've got a handy carry around, leave it as it is and despite the fact it's thin, it's still an awkward size to tote anywhere other than a large bag. That said, it's still a useful quick reference resource.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a good introduction book to the ear, nose and throat (ENT).

I was surprised at the thinness of this book, but it seems quite comprehensive.

It had lots of illustrations - and this leads me to the point of disappointment in the book. The illustrations are a mixture of drawing and photographs which is great up to a point. Most of the "in the ear" images are photographs but every so often you get an artist impression of the problem and to be honest it's not good enough to show the problems that the text is talking about. For example was it really impossible to get photographic images of "traumatic perforation of the ear drum" or "exostoses"?

Other than that it is a good starting/revision book for anyone with an interest in ENT.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 May 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
ENT is generally one of the nicer specialities in medicine. ENT surgeons tend to be decent doctors, but without the push and tension of general surgeons. Their speciality falls easily into three parts, and within those parts things often fall easily into three. So the speciality was one of the easier bits of medicine to learn as a student, and the textbooks available were easy to read and remember most of it.

This book is a new undergraduate ENT textbook. It takes advantage of the well established format of the "At a glance" series of books, and illustrates its subject well. The illustrations are good, and summarise a lot of medicine down into single diagrams. The text is straightforward and clear. The description of symptoms,signs and complications is very clear, but the information about treatment, and when to refer is less clear. Likewise diseases are described as "common" without the incidence or prevalence being stated. After reading this book you would know a lot about the subject, but not necessarily how or when to act on the information. For example it didn't answer clearly a question I wanted to check around pros and cons of ear syringing. At undergraduate and junior doctor stage this is not a drawback, but in later routine practice the approach taken by for example Coley and Kay in ENT for Primary Care is very helpful.

Overall this is a decent well illustrated introduction to ENT, that works at student level.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The 'At A Glance' books are great for medical students in providing a good overview and introduction to a specialist area, and this book does just that!

The book is well laid out, with excellent diagrams summarising large amounts of information (great for visual learners), short and not-too-wordy descriptions and clear chapter headings. There are multiple choice questions at the back to test your learning, and also some 'fill in the blank' pictures to test your anatomy knowledge. There is a lot covered in this book, from anatomy and physiology to more clinically relevant topics such as procedures and clinical examinations. There are "Clinical Practice Points" littered throughout the book to put into clinical context what you've just learned about.

For a more detailed understanding I recommend a more specialist and larger textbook, but for an introduction this book is excellent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I obtained this book partly through bewilderment following a recent admission into hospital for a condition included in this book and to gain a clearer understanding of my own condition than provided at that time. I also took the time to read the remainder of this very well constructed book. The photographs and other illustrations are clear and easy to understand and the accompanying narrative is written in 'plain English', providing factual information adding to that clear understanding, without being over-dramatic. Each section also provides sensible and practical advice on what to do next

This is a very well illustrated and clearly written book which I know medical students and junior doctors will find invaluable and particularly helpful in explaining conditions clearly to their patients.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the latest offering from the at Glance series. In essence this book covers the basic ground work in relation to the field of ENT. The book fundamentally aimed at junior clinicians and practitioners. The text is well formatted to add to, and supplement the plethora of very good diagrams and other photographic media, as is the tradition with this series this book is feature rich in its delivery. As the bumf states the overview, here, covers the most common maladies and diseases that you can come across in ENT. The layout indexed well and each topic is given over to a couple of pages.
There are good selections of multiple choice questions and more extended QAs in the book to test how well you picked up on the topics in the text.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2013
This is a great book for getting to grips with the basics of ENT, it's well laid out and presented. The 2 page per topic is the usual for the at a glance series and works really well. I found the book easy to read and a great book to learn about the basics of ENT. With increased cross cover in on-call rotas, i found this a really useful text to cover a lot of the ENT we see and a good basis which helps with clinical work. A great text book for undergraduates and junior doctors!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I used this book to study for my year 2 head and neck SSC and it was great for revising. As with the other books in the at a glance series, this book covers in concise sections relevant areas of ENT knowledge such as anatomy, physiology of hearing, tests for hearing: I always muddle up Weber and Rinne's tests, the anatomy of the facial nerve, trauma, infections and cancer. There are also practice EMQs and MCQs at the end to test your knowledge. A great revision aid !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rich in illustrations, this is a guide for medical students, residents and junior doctors. Very short in size and very concise, it's one of the handiest guides I've seen on the market.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I find generally that Wiley books tend to be very well presented with lots of online extras. In the presentation department, this book is no exception. However, in this case there is no online support as this is merely an 'at a glance' type of book, but as such, it is excellent. Each 'chapter' is just two pages long with detailed diagrams on the first page and text on the other.

The text itself is simple and straightforward to the level at which even a GCSE student would be able to follow and yet detailed enough to be useful to a university graduate I believe. At the end of the book you have a couple of sections for self-testing which is always useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)