Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2009
A colleague of mine had the ESOL Activities Entry 2 and I was inspired to try the Entry 3, as this is the level I am currently teaching. There are three sections to each unit (there are 16 units) with a different skills focus for each: Speaking & Listening, Reading and Writing. The book comes with a CD with all the Listening tracks (so no need to buy anything more than this book !) The units cover grammar and skills and touch on all the ESOL topics as well as including a fair amount of Citizenship. So far I have used the book as a resource for some of my lessons but I think it could easily be used for planning a whole course. I think it is a fantastic resource for ESOL. A lot of the other coursebooks are aimed at EFL students and do not cover all the topics adequately and are not as inclusive of all the typical ESOL students. Excellent value in my opinion (given the cost of buying student/teacher books and CDs etc with the usual resources). Each section includes teachers notes and transcripts, curriculum refs, answers (!) and advice for extension activities and further practice. Some lessons require a little more than photocopying the page but advice is given and most can be achieved fairly simply with a bit of forward planning (eg: the extension activity could be photocopying the transcript and tippexing out key words and making a gap-fill so stronger students could listen for the missing words). Very well cross referenced to Skills for Life and Citizenship materials
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
These are AMAZING ESOL resources and a MUST HAVE IN ALL THE LEVELS!! 👌🏼👌🏼👌🏼
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
Bought this book for my E3 class. Very useful, gives clear instructions on how to use the book, has the CD which is good and planning your lesson is easy. It covers issues Learners face when they come to this country and how to integrate. Excellent book, have not used all of it, I pick and choose topics that are useful for my learners. However, my Learners feel the people speak too fast, when listening to the CD. I use the book for E2 levels as I have a mix class and I differentiate little bit for them. A very good buy and recommend it to any new ESOL teachers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
ESOL Activities Entry 3 has much to recommend it. However, there is a significant omission in its treatment of religious festivals in the UK. While Muslim, Jewish, Hindu and Buddhist festivals are included in the student worksheet (14B), Christian festivals are not. Christian students from Africa and Eastern Europe and elsewhere are bemused that their religion is not acknowledged. Given that Christianity is the professed religion of the majority of the UK population and that it is this heritage that underpins the history and culture of Great Britain, such an omission would disadvantage any student wishing to understand UK society. This book claims that it is ideal for students living in the UK and /or for taking the Citizenship test, but I would suggest that this particular worksheet should not be used unless it is supplemented by extra input from the teacher. Students may be confused or misled by the unbalanced information it presents.

A serious shortcoming in a book otherwise useful for a mixed class of Asylum Seekers, East Europeans and long term residents.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
I think this is really useful and i got all the books in this range after trying out the pre-entry one. The pages are easy to photocopy and use.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
The book is good for teachers and not for independent student as u won't understand the activity.I have listened to the cd many times, though can't really understand .I think it's meant for classroom lessons
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
I like this book because it contains whole lessons with a CD for students to listen and interact with using the worksheets. This is the second book in the serious I have bought and when recommend it to lover teachers/tutors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This is a smile use book.. the handouts are included although you may like to make your own and adapt what is here.
But good book covering ESOL L3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Missus found this very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Brillant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)