Buy used:
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Dust Blows Forward - An Anthology Double CD, Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Double CD, Import, 22 May 2006
Available from these sellers.
4 used from £22.37

Amazon's Captain Beefheart Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (22 May 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Double CD, Import
  • Label: Rhino
  • ASIN: B00000JNIS
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 123,596 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Diddy Wah Diddy
  2. Frying Pan
  3. Electricity
  4. Abba Zaba
  5. Beatle Bones 'N Smokin' Stones
  6. Safe As Milk
  7. Moonlight On Vermont
  8. Ella Guru
  9. Old Fart At Play
  10. Sugar 'N Spikes
  11. Orange Claw Hammer
  12. My Human Gets Me Blues
  13. China Pig
  14. Lick My Decals Off, Baby
  15. Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop
  16. I Wanna Find A Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go
  17. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (Or The Big Dig)
  18. I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby
  19. Click Clack
  20. Grow Fins
  21. When It Blows Its Stacks
  22. Little Scratch
  23. Big Eyed Beans From Venus
  24. Golden Birdies

Disc: 2

  1. Nowadays A Woman's Gotta Hit A Man
  2. Low Yo Yo Stuff
  3. Too Much Time
  4. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
  5. Clear Spot
  6. Upon The My-O-My
  7. Party Of Special Things To Do
  8. Sam With The Showing Scalp Flat Top
  9. Debra Kadabra
  10. Blue Collar: Hard Workin' Man (Main Title)
  11. Bat Chain Puller
  12. The Floppy Boot Stomp
  13. Tropical Hot Dog Night
  14. Owed T' Alex
  15. Hot Head
  16. Ashtray Heart
  17. Sue Egypt
  18. Making Love To A Vampire With A Monkey On My Knee
  19. Ice Cream For Crow
  20. The Past Sure Is Tense
  21. Light Reflected Off The Oceands Of The Moon
  22. Bonus Track 1

Product description

Product description

As per title

It's tempting to emphasize Captain Beefheart's eccentricities at the expense of his talent. We're talking, after all, of an art prodigy who emerged from the Mojave Desert in the 1960s performing an unprecedented strain of Dadaesque blues (fortified with jazz, R&B, and Beat ingredients) and backed by his personally schooled Magic Band. But once you get past the fact that players dubbed Zoot Horn Rollo and the Mascara Snake were backing a headstrong fellow howling with ungodly range songs with names such as "Old Fart at Play", "My Head is My Only House Unless it Rains", and "Nowadays a Woman's Gotta Hit a Man", you're confronted with...well, genius. The man born Don Van Vliet possessed a potent vision and the will to bring it to life on his own terms. This long-overdue two-disc retrospective presents 30 Beefheart tracks cut between 1966 and 1982 (when the Captain stepped away from the music world for the last time), including a smattering of rarities. Consider Dust an apt entree to the extraordinary creations of this outsider. --Steven Stolder

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

23 October 2008
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
A customer
28 December 2000
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
28 November 2007
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
12 February 2010
Format: Audio CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.1 out of 5 stars 29 reviews
Grigory's Girl
5.0 out of 5 starsBest Beefheart compliation out there....
24 November 2008 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
5 people found this helpful.
P. Couture
4.0 out of 5 starsGenerous best of, too bad it's out of print
12 January 2015 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
B. Johnson
4.0 out of 5 starsDust Blows Forward: An Anthology - Captain Beefheart
18 July 2014 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
Dirkous D. Degrassi
5.0 out of 5 starslove ol Beefheart
1 July 2015 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Sharon Daugherty
5.0 out of 5 starsAn Assortment of Observations
19 December 2000 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
9 people found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?