Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
Dunn's Law Guides - Civil Litigation: Be Civil !
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£28.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 March 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
I obtained this book only after having sat my Civil Litigation and Evidence exam on the 2010/11 BPTC course. I saw this book and thought that it would make a useful easy-access reference for the future - and indeed it is a great "memory-refreshing" work.

There is, however, real value in this book as a revision guide. I thoroughly recommend it to anybody about to commence the BPTC. Civil Lit & Evidence is generally considered the most difficult module and this book condenses the relevant, essential material from the very heavy White Book(/s)into an easy to follow format with a very logical structure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
For anyone embroiled in the BPTC, or contemplating taking the damm course, then this book really helps you get to grips with the procedural rules quickly. I only wish one day someone will write an equivilant book for the criminal procedure part of the course. The book eases up the ball ache of getting your head round procedural matters, thus allowing time to home the skills of advocacy which, I guess, is why most of us want to wear silly wigs in a professional capacity anyway. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Great book. If you're taking the BPTC, buy it.

Civil Litigation is the graveyard of BPTC students. It is by some distance the hardest - and, frankly, the dullest - module of the course. If you get to know it well enough Be Civil! will make passing ten times more likely. It's not a substitute for doing the coursework; but as a guide and revision aid it's priceless.

My advice:

- buy the book at the start of the course and read it quickly without bothering with detail: just get acquainted with the broad topic areas and the terminology;
- then read the relevant chapters again carefully as you cover the ground on the course. At this stage cross-refer to the CPRs and PDs etc and read the suggested cases (the cases are chosen to be short and as interesting as cases about such things as limitation periods and pre-action disclosure can ever be: don't expect a laugh riot);
- finally, and most importantly, use it for revision. Read the book again and again. Mark it up, underline etc. And re-read the suggested cases.

The same recommendation applies to the other Dunn masterwork, It's Criminal! (although that book needs better proofing - and there's a footnote howler where Harold Shipman is confused with Fred West).

All in all, this is the best money you'll spend trying to become a barrister.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
The book is great, but naughty Amazon/publishers not to (a) mention that the new edition was only weeks away and (b) sell it at the full price knowing that it's I delete within weeks.

However the above is no reflection on the author or content. It's a very helpful aide memoire and highlights important bits. But for all you BPTC students it's not a substitute to Sime's or the WB!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
A very useful, concise book on the basics needed to pass the BPTC. It is easy to read and quick to refer to when testing yourself prior to the exams. A real 'must have' for exam preparation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
This book cannot be recommended enough and I attribute my passing the civil exam on the BPTC in part to this book. It is a godsend. Written well and with humour and lightheartedly, it gives you the vital structure to civil litigation and evidence, and enables you to fill in the gaps from more 'meatier' texts. This book closes the vacuum of trying to learn many, many procedural rules as it puts them into context making the whole learning process a lot more coherent. Thank you Virginia Dunn from the bottom of my heart!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
Discovered this gem at the end of the bptc course unfortunately, but had it in time to prepare for exams. Without the book I would've been lost and would not have passed the civil litigation and evidence exam in my first attempt!
It's a light read but very informative and useful. Virginia breaks the topics down into what is really essential and needed to pass the exam. I did not even read Sime in preparation, I only used this book and some other study aids and did well. You can too. It's definitely worth the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2013
Without a shadow of a doubt, this Dunn's Law Guide - Be Civil - got me through the civil litigation and evidence assessment of the Bar Professional Training Course with a grade of Very Competent. The guide concentrates on the main elements and explains them clearly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
I am currently studying on the BPTC Programme and find Civil Litigation extremely difficult. However, after purchasing this book last week, I must say it simplifies things for me. This is a must purchase book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)