Duet has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Duet Original recording reissued

5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
5 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

Price: £16.32 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
6 new from £15.18 3 used from £13.17
£16.32 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Audio CD (19 Dec. 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording reissued
  • Label: Egger Innovations Ecm Export
  • ASIN: B00002613M
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Vinyl
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 312,253 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Duet Suite
  2. Children's Song No.15
  3. Children's Song No.2
  4. Children's Song No.5
  5. Children's Song No.6
  6. Radio
  7. Song To Gayle
  8. Never
  9. La Fiesta

Product description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duet Sweet 3 Sept. 2012
By Mark Wierzbicki - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A classic. If you like your jazz pleasant but with some complexity this is a great place to start. The music works on lots of levels. It can be playing in the background getting everyone to chill. You can listen to the two virtusos go for it. Few albums have such impact and longevity.

Burton and Corea are also fantastic to see live.

Part of my jazz canon.
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'desert island' top 5 pick 30 Dec. 1999
By Brian Redman - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I listened to the title track at least a dozen times before I 'got it'. The melodic lines in 'Duet' are so complex and rythmically challenging, that it seemed almost chaotic. I was absolutely stunned when the whole vast, sweeping pattern started to emerge. To this day, some 20+ years later, I can still find new nuances and surprises; it is one of the most gratifying albums I know of, full of wonderful counterpoint and thrilling modulations. History will, I believe, place this Chic Corea composition alongside those of Chopin. The technical supremacy demonstrated by Burton and Corea is unparalleled; this is one great roller-coaster ride of a tune. The children's songs lend some balance, I suppose, to the frantic pace of the opener, but seem a bit out of place. Other pieces like 'Radio', however, offer up some very satisfying and approachable listening. I thoroughly recommend this album to anyone wanting to bite off a little more than is found in your usual easy-listening jazz album. It's one of the best ever!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets 21 Dec. 2006
By leeaubel@earthlink.net - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I still get chills at the total pleasure of listening to many passages in Duet - I was wearing out my vinyl copy when the CD was released. The music has plenty of energy but it's wonderful, lyrical complexity is true jazz virtuosity. I've seen these guys live with other people - this recording captures some of their best work...
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Vibes-Piano Duo 6 April 2015
By simonjp - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This tremendous recording of two contemporary jazz giants has definitely stood the test of time over the many decades since it was released in 1979 and remains a major musical statement. From the opening notes of this marvellous Burton/Corea recording, it is clear that these are two masters of their instruments, with incredible interplay and mutual understanding of each other’s musical sensibilities. This is no accident, of course, as these gents had by their mid thirties accumulated many impressive recordings in their own groups and as sidemen for almost two decades, and had been playing in one another’s company by this time for a number of years. This was their second of two seminal recordings. History has demonstrated the durability of their extraordinary, forty-year musical partnership, one of the finest in the history of jazz and deserving of every accolade that they have garnered over all these years. What makes this and the first recording, Crystal Silence, so good is the quality of compositions – in this case a mixture of pianist Corea’s own, and two fine pieces by their contemporary, bassist Steve Swallow – and the way the two blend the compositional and improvisational elements so completely together. While in much jazz, the distinction between what is pre-arranged and what is improvised is very clear, and often quite structured. Here, while no less structured, the construction of the compositions and the intimate knowledge of each other’s melodic, harmonic and rhythmic languages permits a seamless blending of these elements. This is seen most notably in the opener, the beautiful Duet Suite, an extended Corea composition, with several movements that take the listener on journey through different places and moods. This tour-de-force shows some of the range of his imagination, in terms of melodic inventiveness, mood and harmonic ingenuity. Both Burton and Corea give each other space to shine in their solo excursions, each providing fine accompaniment for the other, and each showing their capacity to generate excitement simply by their great playing. The Children’s Songs (four in number) are fine compositions, given straight renderings by both, and are part of a suite of 16 that Corea has recorded elsewhere in completeness. Each has its own mood and grows with the listening over the years. The two Swallow tunes (Radio and Never) are charming melodies with his characteristic harmonic twists and forward motion that are perfect vehicles for both Burton and Corea. La Fiesta, as the finale, is another tour-de-force, and the two men power through the familiar Spanish-tinged melody and repeated chord sequences as they continue to weave inspired melodies and build on the excitement that this song invites. This is an essential jazz recording for every collection.
Review by Simon Pilbrow – 6-4-2015
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category