Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
49
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2002
This wonderful collection of 4 short stories set in different parts of Dublin deserves 20 stars actually, 5 ones for each story. You'll be delighted with all of them. The first one, "Dinner in Donnybrook", is about a society hostess who's planning a dinner party, but guess what! Her husband's misteress is one of the guests. The second story is about a country girl who moved to Dublin and works in a post office. She lives in a run-by-nuns hostel with some other girls. But she'll have to face disappointment and loneliness after she decides to move and hire her own bedroom and share the same bathroom and kitchen with two strange girls in a house where there's also different neighbours downstairs. The third story presents the psychological storm inside another young girl's mind. Her eldest sister got pregnant once and refused to marry the father of the baby, thus escaping to London and losing touch with her family. Now she is the one who failed contraceptive methods and is expecting a child. The fourth last short story is about a photographer who is returning home after some time away because of his alcoholic treatment...
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Great story, great writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
This collection of four short stories set in the affluent Dublin 4 is a gem. The stories cover events in the lives of a dinner party hostess, a young country girl newly arrived in the city, a curious daughter in a dysfunctional family, and a recovering alcoholic. Maeve Binchy effortlessly captures the moods and feelings of the city, almost a sentient organism in itself. Every line resonates with images of Dublin life, real and emotive.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A book of short stories, some of which seemed to finish before their tales had properly ended and gave a feeling of being left in mid air wondering what the author wanted us to think happened next. I have enjoyed all the books of Maeve Binchy's that I have read and wouldn't hesitate to pick another of hers but I do prefer a full 500 page story with solid characters, an enjoyable plot and a good twist rather than half measures. I may be a little biased as I do not particularly enjoy short sketches that lasts a chapter, I'd much rather have a full beefy story.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
It is the worst story I have ever read of Maeve Binchy very disappointed but will not be put off as I enjoyed lots of other books she wrote.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
This book comprises four stories, all of which are too short to be novels, but too long to be short stories - and not quite novelettes either; there are too many unanswered questions at the end of each one. Unusually for me, I found myself looking forward to finishing this book simply so as to move on to a meatier, more satisfying text, by the same author.

If you are new to Maeve Binchy, this is not an ideal introduction to her work, so look a bit further and come back to this one later. This book contains the seed-corn of many of Ms Binchy's later characters, in longer novels. I only wish there'd been four novels written, one from each of these stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Although a great fan of Maeve Binchy her books do vary. Some very light and easy to read with comfortable endings. Others aren't so. DUBLIN 4 consists of four (there is a surprise) stories. All are completely absorbing but none end in the way you would expect Maeve Binchy to end them. But its a great read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I mostly enjoyed the stories. The fact that there wasn't closure on some of them left me feeling a little disappointed. As always Maeve Binchy makes the people so alive they almost seem like people you actually know. I think that's why I needed to know how everything ended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I have read these short stories before and enjoyed them. I prefer Maeve Binchy's full-length novels because the characters (especially in her early ones) have more depth but these stories are easy reading and while they don't have the appeal to me of the novels, I enjoy them
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Maeve Binchy! Enough said. She had the great capacity to observe people and get to the character within them. Brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here