Buy Used
£0.40
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Drink Deep (Chicagoland Vampires Novels) Paperback – 1 Dec 2011

3.9 out of 5 stars 34 customer reviews

See all 17 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 1 Dec 2011
£7.11 £0.40

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Clearway; 1 edition (1 Dec. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780451234865
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451234865
  • ASIN: 0451234863
  • Product Dimensions: 13.7 x 1.8 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (34 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,816,447 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:
"A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine." --"USA Today "bestselling author Julie Kenner
"Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader."--Monsters and Critics
"If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl." --Geek Monthly
"Chloe Neill keeps readers right on the precipice of anticipation."--Fresh Fiction

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:
A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine. "USA Today "bestselling author Julie Kenner
Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader. Monsters and Critics
If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl. Geek Monthly
Chloe Neill keeps readers right on the precipice of anticipation. Fresh Fiction"

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:

"A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine." --USA Today bestselling author Julie Kenner

"Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader."--Monsters and Critics

"If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl." --Geek Monthly

"Chloe Neill keeps readers right on the precipice of anticipation."--Fresh Fiction

Book Description

The fifth entry in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley Armstrong. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I'm at a loss how this book currently has a four star rating.

Let me say I am a huge fan of Chloe Neil and books one to four of the Chicagoland series are amazing, each and every one worth a five star rating on their own. Merit is a fabulous character and the universe Chloe has created is one I couldn't wait to return to. I didn't even mind the end of 'Hard Bitten' which a lot of fans didn't like for obvious reasons.

What I cannot understand is why this book falls so far short of the previous ones. Gone are the wonderful sarcastic one liners, the laugh out loud moments, the great interplay between the other memorable characters that populate Merit's world. Instead we have a book where the first 90% is effectively Merit investigating several mysterious supernatural events with the plot unravelling at such a slow and pedestrian pace that, for the first time ever, I was tempted to start skipping pages. Nothing much happens, characters are seemingly introduced at random and yet with no bearing on the outcome. Merit does little more than go from place to place and talk to different people. However that is still not the greatest crime of this book. Momentous events finally happen in the last part of the book but scenes that deserve entire chapters to themselves are skipped over in a single sentence. Emotional events are either treated in the same slapdash way or glossed over entirely and a previously good character effectively turns bad overnight. Suddenly it feels like I am reading a young adult novel. This alone has almost ruined my appreciation of the entire series. The ending also sets up the next book but I cannot say I am looking forward to a road trip and time spent away from most of the supporting cast that are such an important part of this series.
Read more ›
Comment 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By AyJay TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 2 Jan. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
** The order for the series is Some Girls Bite, Friday Nights Bites, Twice Bitten, Hard Bitten and Drink Deep **

I have to be honest and admit that I was a bit disappointed by DRINK DEEP. The series up until this point has been pretty solid, the previous book in particular was extremely enjoyable and had a surprising ending. So I was consequently expecting this Chicagoland Vampires entry to hit the ground running and keep on throwing twists at me.

Once again Merit partners up with Jonah [the Guard Captain of Gray House] as she goes undercover for the main plotline. In the last book I thought that this partnering up and cross House cooperation was a exciting glimpse of the future directions in the series, but in all honesty I find Jonah's character dull now we've got to 'meet' him and know him a bit more fully. And the fact that the author has pushed the other secondary characters to the sidelines in order to feature him more prominently, has lead to me coming to suspect that he's going to serve the author in another round of 'all these hot men want me, but I just can't make up my mind' fun and games. In short; I began to dread seeing his name pop up in the book, as he could derail the way all of the plotlines so far are running and building, which could make me lose interest in the series.

For the first third of DRINK DEEP the plot doesn't really seem to be going anywhere as the vampires have nothing to do with the problem of the blackened lake and, since they aren't magical, they don't know the answers to the who, how and/or why; Oh look, the lake is black. Oh, yeah, did group A do it? No, how about group B? No? Shrug, what should we do? There has to be a group C somewhere to pin the blame on.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Life in Cadogan House has not been easy since Ethan's untimely death. Merit is having a hard time getting over her feelings for the Master Vampire and isn't even sure she wants to. Dreams have begun to plague her where Ethan plays an important part in them. She knows she needs to let him go so they will end. This seems particularly important because many other problems are cropping up that she can't ignore. First is the receiver sent by the Greenwich Presidium (GP), Frank Cabot, has begun to institute unreasonable rules on the house and has done all he can to make the vampires in it feel miserable. Merit suspects his true motives and believes his intentions are not as honorable as he claims. Yet she has no idea how to stop him, and Malik (the new Master Vampire for Cadogan) is hesitant to upset the GP. This leaves everyone vulnerable to Frank's whims and tyranny.

To add to these difficulties, very strange occurrences begin to happen around Chicago. The first being the lake and rivers within the city limits have turned black and no longer move. It appears to be a bad omen which alarms the human population and brings greater pressure on the vampires, as they are given the blame. It is left up to Merit and her occasional partner, Jonah (from the Grey House), to work out what is happening and try to stop it. The problem being they must first figure out who is causing the trouble and then also deal with the other effects that follow. It appears to be magic of some sort, but it is unclear as to who's. Merit attempts to contact her sorceress in training friend, Mallory, but their relationship is becoming rather shaky. Mallory is caught up in her final testing, and due to extreme stress, takes it out on anyone who disrupts her studies.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category