Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
39
Drenge
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 11 February 2014
Like some of the other recent great bands Drenge are a two piece, taking Rock back to it's best stripped down basics. The difference to the American greats of this genre such as The White Stripes and the Black Keys is that they are writing and singing with a British slant in their ouput. Great singing and playing from this young duo who I reckon have a great and hopefully long career ahead. Backwaters is the high light for me of the 12 original songs featured, well strictly speaking 11 because one I Don't Want to MAke Love to You has a Willie Dixon influence evident and rightly credited.
Good value, looking forward to the next one lads!
PS they are great live too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2013
Love this to bits. Like the White Stripes only with a drummer who can drum and a singer whose voice doesn't annoy the bejesus out of me. And with some real emotion. Standout tracks are Backwaters, whose riff has nearly made me crash the car as I drum along to it, and Let's Pretend which has a couple of anguished roars in it which still give me goosebumps after a couple of dozen listens. Saw them live at Lancaster Library a couple of days ago and they were louder, more distorted, and even more wonderful than on record. Hopefully they will be enormous in 2014!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2017
Great album. If you like grunge, these young uns' deliver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2015
Love this album so much. Nothing added, just the raw sound of drums and guitar with excellent songwriting. Much better than royal blood!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2015
I can't listen to this enough. It just rocks. And any song which features the lyrics "I'll make you pi*s your pants" is a winner with me! well done boys, keep em' coming!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2013
A brilliant record from two young lads - I'm sure it's already been described with words like 'raw', 'angsty' and others of similar ilk to the point of oblivion. I think for a more mature listener the lyrics don't quite always live up to the sheer brilliance of instrumental prowess and imagination, but, hey - they're 'young lads'. Thusly,- plain banging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
Saw them on Jools Holland and thought the album would be worth a listen and wasn't disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2014
Cracking album, every track on here is excellent. These lads just seem to throw out Anthem after Anthem. Well, i like it anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2015
solid band painting pictures with sticks and metal. Great Stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2013
Having heard bloodsports being touted on XFM and having read that the Drenge lads would NEVER produce an album i was interested to see if they had enough material to make it worth while.....

For me the first half of the album is more exciting then the second but I love the basic raw sound and the feel that this is a band that really love what they're doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here