Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.27
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Dream Eater (Portland Hafu Book 1) by [Lincoln, K. Bird]
Kindle App Ad

Dream Eater (Portland Hafu Book 1) Kindle Edition


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.27

Length: 304 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deals: Books from 99p
Sign-up to the Kindle Daily Deal email newsletter to discover daily deals from 99p.
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply

Product description

About the Author

K. Bird Lincoln's bio: K. Bird Lincoln is an ESL professional and writer living on the windswept Minnesota Prairie with family and a huge addiction to frou-frou coffee. Also dark chocolate-- without which, the world is a howling void. Originally from Cleveland, she has spent more years living on the edges of the Pacific Ocean than in the Midwest. Her speculative short stories are published in various online & paper publications such as Strange Horizons. Her first novel, Tiger Lily, a medieval Japanese fantasy, is available from Amazon. She also writes tasty speculative and YA fiction reviews under the name K. Bird at Goodreads.com.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1434 KB
  • Print Length: 304 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: World Weaver Press (4 April 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MS889K4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #251,105 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 8 reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Already anxious for book two! 21 April 2017
By Jules - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Whenever I travel I love to pack a book or two that connects me to the place I am visiting. This time I was setting off for my first adventure in Japan. I really didn't have a sense of Japanese culture or mythology but I love a good caper, mystery or paranormal book so K. Bird Lincoln's Dream Eater seemed like a great introduction to this vastly different culture. I loved that it blended Japanese folklore and that of native American story telling..that it gave me glimpses into Japan while still having its feet planting firmly in the states. The heroine, Koi, need only touch someone to pick up fragments of their most vivid dreams and take them on as her own.. often in nightmares, which leads her to avoid human touch as much as possible. Little does she know the trait that makes her feel uncomfortable in her own body and which messes with her everyday Portland life and family is actually much more than it seems with roots that go back to her father and Japanese legend. Koi has her hands full trying to juggle life with college, a father suffering with Alzheimer's and a sister who couldn't possibly understand. Throw in a cast of mysterious characters who may or may not be trustable and some good sexual tension with a handsome stranger and you have a book that is hard to put down. I was sucked in immediately! Koi's already unusual life gets even harder to manage as she struggles to deal with family issues, forces of good and evil and otherworldly powers. I look forward to watching Koi develop and grow as a person as she finds her true self and am looking forward to more mystery and adventure in book two!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smart, scrappy heroine who’s far from perfect but determined to do her best 5 April 2017
By Stephanie A. Cain - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
Koi is an endearing protagonist. Because making contact with anyone’s skin gives her nightmares, she lives her life without touching anyone. She is finally pursuing a life outside her apartment, though. She’s going back to college, she’s making conversation with the baristas at the coffee shop, and she’s determined that this time it’s going to stick.

Only she hadn’t counted on evil college professors–like, literally evil, not just tough–and a hot guy with secrets of his own. She also hadn’t planned to get stuck taking care of her father, who suffers from dementia. That’s usually her sister’s responsibility, but family is family, and Koi can’t refuse.

Koi’s father, the hot guy, and the evil college professor are all involved in some mystery that Koi can’t quite unravel. Mix in Japanese and Native American mythology, lots of shenanigans, and a healthy dose of Portland ambiance, and you’ve got a great series debut!

I really enjoyed Dream Eater, and I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the series. The pacing is fast, the characters are fun to spend time with, and Koi’s voice made me want to keep hanging out with her. While there’s one front-and-center conflict in this novel, there are also hints of an overarching conflict that will span the series, and I look forward to seeing how it develops.

Any reader who enjoys Japanese mythology and anime will love Dream Eater. It will appeal to fans of C.E. Murphy and Patricia Briggs, and anyone who likes a smart, scrappy heroine who’s far from perfect but determined to do her best.

I received an electronic ARC of this book for the purpose of writing a review.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Twist on Japanese Myths 12 April 2017
By Sara - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
As an avid reader of fantasy with a background in dead languages, Dream Eater worked the two together seamlessly. The idea of a girl having dormant magical powers, which her father had long hidden from her, is nothing new. But having her hide away from most people, as a result of this strange “condition” gave this secret an entirely new meaning. Dream Eater is filled with fanciful creatures and kind strangers (some more trustworthy than others), and rooted in the folklore of several cultures which are identified rather than morphed together. This book also shows the power of love for family and a willingness to do difficult things in order to protect those you love.

Koi’s story pulled me in immediately and kept my attention throughout the entire book. There were numerous twists, but never abandoned the hope of a happily-ever-after. The blossoming love story was sweet, particularly because I felt Koi’s emotions when she was finally able to touch someone without the typical repercussions. The mythology was also fascinating. We don’t have enough mythology from Asian cultures in mainstream fiction, so this is a gift to those who loved Percy Jackson, but wish to move beyond the well-known Greek and Roman myths. I recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy, ancient cultures, and all things Asian.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love contemporary paranormal and urban fantasy and have wanted to ... 4 April 2017
By Patricia A Esden - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I was thrilled to get my hands on a review copy of DREAM EATER by K Bird Lincoln. I love contemporary paranormal and urban fantasy and have wanted to read this ever since I heard it was coming out. The novel’s main character, Koi Pierce, is a biracial college student who reads flashes of people’s dreams through touch. I love how this ability affects every aspect of her life. It adds emotional depth and complexity to her relationships with family members and all the other characters in the novel. It’s this depth that will leave you cheering and crying with Koi. Intertwined with the emotion is Japanese folklore (and touches of mythology from other cultures) lots of action, and romance. The romantic relationship between Koi and Ken is believable and has the perfect amount of smolder for the novel. It adds to the tension and action, rather than distracting from it which can sometimes happen in urban fantasy. Overall, DREAM EATER is a fantastic, fast paced, and fresh read. I highly recommend it.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good 7 April 2017
By RainStorms - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I really liked this book. Koi is thrust into a conflict between Japanese, Native American and Armenian "Kind" or higher beings. In the process she finds out she is half Baku and a dream eater, so not crazy. Her Japanese father kept her in the dark about her heritage and she gets a crash course from a Kitsune that was sent to take her Father who has Alzheimers back to the Japanese Kind Counsel (or kill him). The only criticism I have about the book is that it's so choppy. I had to keep resetting my thoughts about what was happening. That's the only reason it didn't a five star from me.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know
click to open popover