Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 1 May 2006
I'm just the right age for all this to actually mean something. I started buying the Sunday Times at the same time that Scarfe started illustrating for it and I've grown up appreciating his acerbic yet spot-on comments on the political and social mess that the late twentieth-century thrust at us. The negroid Statue of Liberty setting America aflame, Lyndon Johnson shitting bombs on Vietnam, Wilson and MacMillan almost Punch-and-Judy in their behaviour. This is nitty gritty, pared to the bone political commentary... and the memories flood back.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Scarfe, he has been one of my artistic inspirations, I do not forget other masters of artistry but when I first came across his work in the mid sixties, an inspiration of the terrible horrors of the Vietnam War & others too many to mention, became a well we are not alone. ps terrible but true "How do you crucify a child in Vietnam" Recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
a brilliant book if you like his work.bulging with his illustrations,it's a big, beautiful book which I keep nearby as a regular source of inspiration when producing illustrative work with pen and ink.If you like Scarfe, Ralph Steadman is great also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
A superb set of drawings. You can enjoy this book but if you lived through the events it is even more enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Great value for what I paid for it new, approximately £ 23, selling second hand for around £ 60.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
The book was an amazing price and shows off his penmanship to the full.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
This a wonderful book full funny witty illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
amazing!!! i saw the movie "the wall"!!!! my all time favorite movie!!!!!the animations of gerald scarfe are incredible!!! the book is full drawings of the master!!! i love his nasty drawing, unusual and bitter!!!!!i would like to see the bbc documentary"scarfe on scarfe"!!! i saw it a long time ago on a germen tv!!!! i wish a dvd were available!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)