Down in the Valley has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 2m ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Down in the Valley CD

3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £12.93 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
13 new from £8.25 4 used from £2.72
£12.93 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Mar. 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Harmonium
  • ASIN: B00004S2JV
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 386,319 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Oh Novelty
  2. Stained Glass Window
  3. Wind On The River
  4. Cotton Crown
  5. Shallo Brown
  6. Winter Woods
  7. Twin Stars
  8. Wychanger
  9. The Cuckoo
  10. Heaven

Product Description

Product Description

Charlotte Greig’s first two albums, Night Visiting Songs and Down In The Valley, established her as a genuinely unique voice - a folk minimalist inspired equally by Anne Briggs, Nico and the Young Marble Giants. Her third album At Llangennith marked a move towards a more spacious, airy sound: this was a song cycle, described by Andy Kershaw as : ‘a remarkable record … it sort of sneaks up and slips its arm around you.’

Now her fourth album Winter Woods sees Greig revisiting the gothic world of Down In The Valley, with her trademark harmonium once again to the fore. This time the drum machines and samplers have been exchanged for mountain dulcimer, melodica, and mandolin to give the music a certain backwoods feel. Here Greig uses the raw material of the British folk tradition, with its murder ballads and dark love songs, to create a kind of alt. folk that shares a common cause with just a handful of other British acts - James Yorkston and the late lamented Lal Waterson - but finds a resonance with many American alt. country pioneers from Will Oldham to Gillian Welch.

Winter Woods was recorded and produced by Greig in her home studio in Cardiff, Wales. The songs include seven originals - co-written with her long-time musical collaborator, Julian Hayman – plus two traditional folk songs, and one cover, a delicate reading of Sonic Youth’s Cotton Crown.


Greig has come up with her most refined and accessible album yet... the gentle serenity of The Cowboy Junkies pervades Winter Woods. Quietly beautiful. -- Western Mail

The Sibyl of Welsh alt. folk … This is august music unfiltered by the self-conscious artlessness that burdens so much indie music. -- Independent On Sunday

With this excellent fourth album Greig weaves tales of a quiet gothic terror, infused with romance, suspense and real beauty. -- Mojo

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
This early album by Charlotte Greig takes you through 50 minutes of quiet music with mostly original compositions. The style of her music is not so well developed as in the excellent, later Winter Woods and nor is the singing voice, so this is an album that will have less general appeal. This is an album for those who might appreciate a more traditional sound, particularly if you already know and like something of her work. For a speculative purchase, better to try the aforementioned album.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category