Douglas on Blue Note has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Douglas on Blue Note

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £13.69 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
9 new from £4.95 4 used from £4.21
£13.69 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Audio CD (22 Feb. 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Wienerworld
  • ASIN: B0031OSBNK
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,525,169 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. El Matador - Kenny Dorham
  2. This Is Always - Betty Carter
  3. Caravan - Duke Ellington
  4. Rendezvous - Various Artists
  5. Three Blind Mice - Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers
  6. My Man - Billie Holiday
  7. Them There Eyes - Billie Holiday
  8. My Funny Valentine - Bill Evans and Jim Hall
  9. Brazil - Herbie Mann
  10. Just Friends - John Coltrane
  11. I Can't Get Started - Charles Mingus Jazz Workshop
  12. I'm in the Mood for Love - King Pleasure
  13. A Taste of Honey - Lloyd Mayers & Oliver Nelson
  14. Say What - Ken McIntyre

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I generally do not do "compilation albums" but I read a favourable review somewhere when this was initially released a few years back, so bought a copy and have had no regrets. I already had some tracks elsewhere e.g. Caravan from"Money Jungle", but mostly didn't have whole albums and thought that these tracks would enrich my collection.

A list of the 14 tracks would be helpful since I can't see them listed on the amazon site.

1. El Matador : quartet lead by Kenny Dorham, feat. Jackie McLean 1962
2. This Is For Always by Betty Carter (v) plus trio 1964
3. Caravan by Ellington, Roach and Mingus 1962
4. Rendezvous arr. Oliver Nelson. Big band feat. Phil Woods (as) 1962
5. Three Blind Mice by Art Blakey messengers 1962
6. My Man by Billie Holiday (v) 1954
7. Them There Eyes by Billie Holiday (v) 1954
8. My Funny Valentine by Bill Evans (p) and Jim Hall (g) 1962
9. Brazil by Herbie Mann (f) octet 1962
10. Just Friends by John Coltrane (ts) quintet 1958
11. I Can't Get Started by Chatles Mingus quartet 1959
12. I'm In The Mood For Love by King Pleasure (v) 1962
13. A Taste Of Honey arr Oliver Nelson. Big band feat. Lloyd G. Mayers (org) 1962
14. Say What by Ken McIntyre (as) quartet 1962

Overall time 67+ min.

Why the CD title? Alan Douglas was the freelance, then United Artists recording engineer and manager. These recordings were eventually purchased by Blue Note.

This is an interesting collection of music over what was, perhaps, the greatest decade in jazz history. There would be many reasons to purchase this; each valid. It's worth a punt. I have hundreds of jazz CDs, and consider this a worthy addition to my collection, and I'm pretty choosy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category