Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
22
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 July 2009
Welcome to competitive bass fishing in Florida. There is a backdrop which I never expected for one of the funniest novels I've read in a long time. You have got to love the Skink character, a sort of lunatic eco-warrior who is actually a secondary player in the novel to the hero Decker.

Mr Hiaasen weaves together an absolutely wonderful supporting cast of characters in the middle of his Green versus Greed main theme. There is a huge amount of violence, death and general mayhem much of it caused by Queenie (read it and see!).

This is a genuine, laugh out loud, funny book. It is also just so bizarre; as another reviewer has mentioned there really is a character going around with a dead dog clamped to his arm. There is also a very vivid example of the sort of conversation not to have at a funeral.

Just so brilliant but with a biting undertone about the fruit-cakes on the loose in the Deep South. This is strongly recommended and really is a five star read; now where can I find more of Mr Hiaasen's stuff?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2003
This is yet another fine piece of fiction from one of the true masters. Sharp, fast and very very funny, this is the story of life in the Florida Bass fishing circuit. A whole host of typically-Hiaasen characters are present, from the 'hero', with a personal life more stuffed with problems than an episode of Eastenders, to the villain of the piece, whom Hiaasen deals with in a suitably spectacular and hillarious way. If you've never read any Hiaasen before (and if not, why on earth not??) then this is an excellent novel to start with. If you are a returning fan of Hiaasen then you will not be disappointed. The master does it again, with a novel that blows all competitors out of the water!! :-)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2010
Hiaasen's second novel and setting a cracking pace. Dirty deeds in the bass fishing world, murder by rednecks and the wonderful ex-Governor Tyree -- inhabiting the wilds like an insane avenging angel.

Reverend (self-styled of course) Weeb is building a "Christian City" in Florida. With the sort of peole he wants to attract, bass fishing is a big lure (boooo that pun). Millions are at stake so the little matter of fiddling fishing competitions and murdering the odd journalist isn't too important.

You'll snigger throughout and laugh out loud at the set piece finale.

Although a journalist by trade Carl Hiaasen is an expert novelist. He also has a nose for corruption and an eye for the absurd - both feed this work - highly recommended.

ps a Double Whammy is a fishing lure. And a largemouth bass is one of the ugliest fish in Christendom.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I'm a late convert to Hiassen and I couldn't be happier. If you like sarcastic wit and believe a writer could interest you in fishing competitions then you won't be disappointed. Verging on farce, Hiassen's strength is he actually tells a story rather than simply bombard with funny anecdotes. Quality. I'm dying to read his other offerings. 5 star.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
I saw this recommended somewhere and thought I should check out Hiaasen's work. I've read two of his works so far, and prefer this to Stormy Weather, though both are decent reads. This is a page-turner and has some amusing moments, an array of bonkers characters and a good plot that has plenty of twists and turns. Having been to Florida I can understand Hiaasen's motives (other than the desire to write interesting novels!)

However, this book depicts a side of Florida that neither I nor many other tourists are likely to see (thankfully in many ways). Bass fishing has never been something that I'd taken an interest in, but it makes for a very different crime novel. I particularly like the way that all the characters are tied into the competitions with their own motives. The characters of Skink and Charles Weeb were probably my favourites, though there are plenty of cracker southerners to get to grips with!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Enjoyable enough. Pretty silly, albeit with some underlying serious points to make about development and environmental destruction in Florida. I don't usually read crime or whodunnits, and to be honest the plot didn't really grab me, but the characters bring it to life (especially Skink), and it's very funny in places, even if it wasn't the constantly uproarious comedy I'd been led to expect by the cover blurb.
And I now know more than I ever wanted to about bass fishing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
One of the best books I've ever read. Clever, witty, wonderful characters, beautiful descriptions of the landscapes, deeply philosophical and great story lines. Being a miserable Londoner, I would never laugh on the Tube in the morning. This book made me laugh out loud, time and time again on the train. Buy it, laugh, share it with your friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2007
Another delight from Carl Hiaasen, who really does seem to be a kind of American Tom Sharpe. The plot is, as usual, convoluted and scarcely believable, and the characters whacky, but his turn of phrase and comic descriptions are wonderful.
The thing that slightly worries me about Carl Hiaasen's books is that after a while the reader begins to accept that even the most bizarre of individuals - an ex-governor of Florida now calling himself Skink, living in a tent and subsisting entirely on road-kill, and a deranged assassin wandering the southern states with the jaws and decomposing head of a pit-bull terrier clamped immovably around his right arm - are perfectly normal!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I think we have all Carl Hiaasen's books, and love their irreverence and quirky plots. A strong recommendation for all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
This book is an antidote to sanity to brighten a dull autumn day with hilarious fantasy skink for governor or better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here