Doomsday Revolution has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Amazon
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Doomsday Revolution CD

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £5.49 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
19 new from £2.60 4 used from £1.49
£5.49 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by The UK Record Shop and Fulfilled by Amazon.

Product details

  • Audio CD (8 Nov. 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: e1
  • ASIN: B003XQE0R2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 607,353 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Keep On Goin'
  2. Confessions
  3. Desperate
  4. Why Do U Have 2 Lie
  5. Don't Watch Me
  6. Time Stops
  7. Brush With the Devil
  8. So Sure
  9. Abstract Prague
  10. Crashed
  11. Doomsday Revolution
  12. Only Dreaming
  13. Tell Me
  14. Had 2 Do It
  15. Funky Detour
  16. Crotch Critters

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
The New Czars may be a new band, but the men involved have got plenty of previous. Between them they've worked with Alice Cooper, Puddle Of Mudd, Bruce Dickinson, Courtney Love, Lita Ford, Pink, Black Oak Arkansas (yee-hah!) and many others. Now that's no guarantee that they can do anything other than play other peoples licks very well, so have singer/guitarist Greg Hampton, bassist Paul Ill and drummer David "Chilli" Moreno got what it takes when they step up front? Short answer, yes.

"Doomsday Revolution" is actually quite an old fashioned heavy rock album, something that Hampton tried a couple of years back with the rather good, Razor Ball. For sure, there are the odd nods towards alt-rock here and there, but it's basically heads down, riff heavy rock and roll. And that's when it works best, as those alt discursions you'll find on the title track, 'Time Stops' and elsewhere are the least enjoyable parts of what is, generally, a very enjoyable release.

Hampton has a good rock voice, and a large number of the songs are enlivened with guest guitar from King Crimson man Adrian Belew. And for those of who have yearned for him to rock out a bit, well this is a bit of a godsend. It's a bit odd hearing in him in such a commercial environment, but it makes the guitar picking all the more enlivening. And there are commercial numbers here, with 'So Sure' and 'Why Do U Have 2 Lie', catchy enough for radio play. There's still room for a couple of instrumental workouts and even a bit of prog on 'Abstract Prague', so you're certainly never bored.

The band can't quite resist their muso background all the way through and numbers like 'Crotch Critters' (no I didn't make that up) and 'Funky Detour' give the band plenty of room to show off a bit.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beignets After The Bombs Stop - A Taste Of The New Czars "Doomsday Revolution" 25 Sept. 2010
By S. Serio - Published on
Format: Audio CD
(NOTE - a portion of this review previously ran in Sept. 2010's Maximum Ink Music Magazine. Used by permission.)

The New Czars are a heavy prog Euro-American rock group assembling the talents of singer/songwriter/guitarist Greg Hampton and drummer David "Chilli" Moreno, with former Pink and Juliette & The Licks bass player Paul Ill. Rounding out the sound are sonic contributions by sax/keyboardist Steffen Presley, and King Crimson guitar whiz Adrian Belew.

Doomsday Revolution loosely resembles a Todd Rundgren project, with it's multi-layered big studio sound offset by a mixture of basic pop rock sensibilities. The songs are quite a lot to absorb in a single sitting. To say there's a ton of ideas at play in these 16 tracks would be a massive understatement. The task of absorbing the wide spectrum of guitar sounds Hampton is capable of is a Herculean task alone.

Illustrations of these points: "Don't Watch Me" features a modern processed guitar workout and intense vocal delivery. It's beautiful contradiction is the marriage of technological studio sounds with raw primitive emotion. "Abstract Prague" layers brutally heavy, driving, rhythms with jittery, brainiac Morse code dripping lead guitar soling. The creepy lumbering pulse of "Tell Me" builds into a stick-in-your head vocal chorus climax.

Some of my favorite moments are the instrumentals colored by Hampton and Belew's stylistic soloing. The aforementioned "Abstract Prague" may have the most overt Crimson influence, via Belew's signature overdriven free-flight guitar genius. The "Funky Detour"/"Crotch Critters" opus displays stretched out jamming, with the two guitarists intertwining their effects laden fretwork, shooting sparks right up until the final crescendo.

As if all this was not enough, there is a veritable plethora of additional material, some are new tunes designed as bonuses to the Amazon and iTunes digital bundle markets, and others earmarked for the European release and film scores. These are not throwaway tracks either, songs like the rock steady boogie "Don't Funk Me Up" are as strong as the rest of the album, though may have a less serious demeanor. "Wish You Were Not Here" paints a pretty scene, with it's relaxing acoustic guitar melody, and the "Brush With The Devil" remix by Big Swede etches a gothic metal streak into a club-style dance beat.

All in all, you really can't go wrong with this release, which has so many intriguing nuances it will provide new surprises for repeated listens. "Doomsday Revolution" will leave you so full there will no talk of dessert whatsoever. Not that there will be many sweets after the apocalypse anyway...
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smokin! 5 Oct. 2010
By GITAR FREEK - Published on
Format: Audio CD
amazing modern group!&these guys are top notch musicians& innovators ,
and so unique they should be in a league of thier own,modern rock, jazzy fusion elements,
progressive music, !great experimental guitar , vocals are stellar- great production,
a lot to digest in even 3 or 4 sittings but then you start to really get it!
only complaint the cd may be a bit long ,but the songs are all great!
so in a day and age of 2 good songs on a cd, guess I shouldn't complain!
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category