FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
I Don't Know Why She Both... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Over 2 million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

I Don't Know Why She Bothers: Guilt Free Motherhood For Thoroughly Modern Women Paperback – 22 May 2014

3.5 out of 5 stars 19 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£0.64 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • I Don't Know Why She Bothers: Guilt Free Motherhood For Thoroughly Modern Women
  • +
  • The Mommy Myth: The Idealization of Motherhood and How It Has Undermined All Women
Total price: £25.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: W&N (22 May 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1780224508
  • ISBN-13: 978-1780224503
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 1.8 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 581,975 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

It is a hilarious, timely book - and a rare and potent antidote to the guilt, exhaustion and anxiety that threaten to poison every aspect of modern motherhood. (SUNDAY TIMES)

To read this book as a new mother is to know the pure joy of someone speaking for - and up for - you at a time when you have not the resources to do so yourself...fantastically energetic, heartfelt and witty identification of all the absurdities created by maternal guilt...a hilarious, timely book. (Lucy Mangan SUNDAY TIMES)

The provocative I Don't Know Why She Bothers by Daisy Waugh is one for women who feel life is too short to make their own fish fingers! (GOOD HOUSEKEEPING)

Waugh's book is not so much a call for bad mothering to return as a return to a more laissez-faire parenting, liberated from all the fear and guilt women impose on themselves...Waugh is refreshingly frank, swears like a sailor and debunks the sanctification of motherhood with relish....This is probably one of the funniest parenting guides you'll find. (THE OBSERVER)

I Don't Know Why She Bothers isn't a guide or a handbook; it's merely saying what a lot of women think. No doubt the Mumgelicals will want to burn this book and Waugh's effigy, but I think it should be given away free with every pregnancy test. (IRISH INDEPENDENT)

This self-help book deserves pride of place by on slummy-mummy Bridget Darcy's bedside table. (THE METRO)

Book Description

A timely, intelligent and important book for fans of LEAN IN and Caitlin Moran: why do modern mothers allow themselves to suffer from so much guilt?

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As the other review suggests, this book is clearly aimed at a certain type of mum - a middle class one one with a professional job and a hearty dislike of over- parenting, but also a mum who feels the guilt brought on by competitive parenting and the assumption that everyone is doing it better!

So, in that sense, completely aimed at me!

The book covers a lot of ground, from trivial school meetings to Tupperware snack pots, from martyr mothers to nits. A lot of the time it reads like a very entertaining and humorous rant by someone who sounds like she would be a hoot in the pub. Occasionally, it veers off into advice (e.g. items you will buy for your baby that you will not use) and it is here that I thought this was less successful, being so personal to her experience and not mirroring mine (yes, OK, stair gates are unsightly, but when you have steep stairs and stone floors, they're kind of essential...)

Despite the niggles (and the amount of typos in the book is another one), I found lots here to enjoy. I'd recommend this if you want a whirlwind tour through some of the absurdities of parenting and can accept that your tour guide is incredibly opinionated (but very funny). It might even make you feel a bit less guilty about your own (perceived) failures...
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
If you are a frazzled, professional middle class working mum looking for a book to save your sanity, this book could be it as Daisy Waugh offers a sane & sensible critique of modern day perfectionist parenting. But, like all of us, she writes from a particular perspective: an affluent London writer with a stimulating career & privately educated children. So, whilst I applaud her ridicule of ultra-competitive parenting styles, I think life is a bit more complex than she suggests, with many mothers carrying conflicting desires for themselves & their children. Not every mum has her confidence, intelligence or resilience &, if you are indecisive or ambivalent about life, this book may make you feel even more flaky & useless! Also, if you are living a less privileged life, you may find her laid-back approach inappropriate or irritating. Finally, she should be a bit less dismissive of full time mothers; we are not all cake-baking, meeting-attending soccer mums! Some of us actually read books & everything!
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book has saved me. Its candid and hilarious honesty has given me the courage to be exactly the sort of mother I want to be, but more importantly, to be the sort of woman I am. It will upset a few women out there I'm sure, but they are precisely the women who have had me cowering in a corner ever since I fell pregnant with my first child, and life took on a very bizarre and haunting albeit worthy and profound meaning. It's as if Daisy climbed into my head, found all of my deepest darkest thoughts, observations, grievances and fears, organised them and put them neatly into a book, for me to use as a survival guide, and make light of what is sometimes an overwhelming experience.

I wish every mother could at least read this book, regardless of their views. It is inspiring.

After years of battling with guilt, and inadequate feelings, and wondering why I was doing it so 'wrong' this book has finally set me free. I shall continue with my barrister training and social pursuits guilt free, confident that my Love for my children is completely enough, even if I do, on the odd occasion, forget their packed lunch.

Thank you Daisy xxx
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book is so hard to put down. I will be really sorry when I have finished it.Daisy has a similar attitude to me when it comes to the dreaded party bag , not saying too much as I don't want to spoil it for you.
Every page had me laughing out loud at something she had written. Calling all mums! A bell will ring with a lot of what she writes. And you will laugh so much I promise.
Daisy is so down to earth, lives in the real world and tells it like it is.
A brilliant read.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A great foil to the 'sacrifice yourself to guilty motherhood' movement. I found it a refreshing change from the amount of guff you get thrown at you in the form of 'advice'-being a new mum is sometimes like walking though the chimpanzee enclosure and being pelted with poo.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Highly opinionated and no holding back. This book made me snort out loud with laughter on the train. I could identify with so many of the stereo types in this book and although I do not agree with all of her opinions that at the end of the day is kind of the point.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
have never agreed so whole heartedly with anything. its the book I've been waiting for. thank you daisy! i just wish it had been written when my babes were new. a must read for ALL mothers- new and old. a witty and charming book... if a bit mad at times.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I listened to the author on the radio and thought that this book would be helpful as well as some light hearted entertainment. It didn't meet my expectations and is a book of the authors whinging and rants. There were a few 'helpful' paragraphs early on in the book, but I didn't gain anymore insight into 'what not to buy', than I had heard on the radio broadcast. I like the idea of a book to address all of the baby myths, but this did not satisfy me
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback