Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 22 November 2013
Tim's personal recollections gathered here is not just another book that reflects on the Rhodesian Bush War. What sets "Three Sips Of Gin" apart from other Rhodesian War accounts is the jovial and hilarious manner with which the author addresses an otherwise painful and traumatizing setting; the Rhodesian Bush War itself!

This trend can be picked up as early as the first chapters, namely within his educational odysseys in his native Tanzania, only to stay course throughout the book.

An exceptional account that encompasses the Rhodesian Terrorist War from its inception to its closure, and what is outstanding, in a light-hearted mode.

Great book! Compulsory reading for those interested in Southern Africa of the 1970's!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
When reading the book, it very nearly follows my own experience in moving to Africa, specifically Rhodesia, where I lived with my parents in Bulawayo Kumalo Camp for a number of years, and now proud to be an honary member of the Rhodesian Light Infantry. an excellent book so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Brought this for my Dad, he loved this book the detail and the writing style, he told me several times how he could not put it down and he has told just about everyone he meets how much he enjoyed it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Written as an odessay through an extraordinary set of life experiences it in parts hilarious sad frank informative but most of all from the heart and with good humour.
A must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Bloody good read. Give it a go - you won't be disappointed. In the middle of a shooting warm the author made me cry with laughter too! Well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Throws light on a conflict that I had previously little knowledge or understanding. The lightness and humour of the writing is at odds with the harshness and at times desperately sad implications of the situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
excellent story well written about a subject not often talked about. a good insight into why Zimbabwe is in such as state
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Very well written, and for those of us who lived in Rhodesia memories of time gone by, good and bad happy and sad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
This is an autobiography and very little is about the serious scouts. Gung ho and jolly hocky sticks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Author has a great, dry sense of humour. Clearly a very accomplished operator but he refreshingly plays this down with modesty and humour. The book gets more entertainingly as you progres
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)