Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
With vet bills going through the roof and their side-effect laden drugs becoming more and more prevalent, here's the perfect book to help you help your canine friend. George Macleod certainly knows the best remedies to suggest for all manner of ailments. Having previously used the companion volume on Cats to great effect, I purchased this as soon as I got a dog, in order to be prepared. Animals respond very quickly to homoeopathic remedies (dispelling all those ridiculous nay-sayers' myths about placebo effects!) and this book will help you choose the best remedies to keep in for specific ailments identified by your vet.
Don't be put off by all the Latin names, if you haven't used homoeopathy before, you'll soon get used to it; the book is very simply and clearly written with its' sections logically laid out. The Materia Medica in the back gives an outline of the actions of all the remedies, so you may glean help with an ailment which isn't otherwise listed; for instance, while the common hygroma isn't listed, the remedy Apis is described as useful for oedematous swellings... I tried it on my greyhound, it worked, no needles required!
Whilst I have 20 years of experience using homoeopathy to cure sick and injured people, these volumes are invaluable to me as a pet owner. The book begins with a succinct section about this system of medicine and explains how to use and store remedies. This information is very important so definitely read it carefully.
The only thing not covered is where to buy the remedies from... I am not convinced of the efficacy of many branded mass-produced tablets you will find in the chain stores, these should be avoided in favour of proper pharmacies where medicines are made to order, especially if they make soft lactose pills as you will have no trouble getting your dog to eat one of these. You have nothing to lose and your dog has everything to gain from your purchase of this book!
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Learning about homeopathic treatments for pets is a living dream, as I don't like the sound of loading my dog up with chemicals and harmful compounds so I was interested in learning the holistic way. This book caters for just about everything and anything from the simple diahorrea to joints and more exotic ailments. Starting homeopathy has been a blessing in disguise and I wouldn't go back.
Thank you
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
A most realistic and effective homeopathic remedy book. Well explained and written, definately a worthwhile reference book and an informative read too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
This is an excellent reference guide to the homeopathic remedies, but it is a bit complex and refers to a very wide range of possible remedies. There are simpler guides out there, and people might want to start with buying a basic Homoeopathy for Pets kit from Helios, which comes with 24 of the most common remedies and a very simple guide. Once started, and if you want to know more, then Macleod's book is a great choice - you will be able to identify specific problems and supplement your basic kit with additional remedies.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
This book is excellent but some experience with Homoepathic Remedies is needed as it is quite specific and seems to be more aimed at Vets.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
In detailing the various homeopathic remedies and what they may be used for, it mentions nothing about dosages and the frequency of doses, for the various conditions. Therefore the book is virtually useless to me in using the remedies on my dog.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2001
This is my first book on homeopathy for dogs, and it is comprehensive, easy to understand and very informative. It covers many ailments, common and rare, and also introduces alternatives for flea treatment, boosters and allergies. There are full listing of all homeopathic drugs, including the origins and usages. It has become my dog owners bible, and hopefully will cut down visits to the vets and expensive vet bills. Well worth investing in a copy, natural solutions have been around for so many years, they should be used more often.
0Comment| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Very Helpful. My dog has a skin condition. This book helped to diagnose the type of skin condition and possible treatment of it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
worth the money i paid for it. does have a lot of imfo in it for dogs and how to treat also look after them. good if you want to treat your pets yourself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)