Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
94
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2012
The Invasion is a masterpiece of British television in general, let alone one of Doctor Who's best serials. This is the fourth and final Cybermen serial in Doctor Who during the 1960's, having previously appeared in "The Moonbase" 1967, "The Tomb of the Cybermen" 1967, "The Wheel in Space" 1968 and "The Invasion" 1968. I feel sure that the production team felt that the Cybermen were being under-used, so this is why they elected to burn 22 episodes of Cyber action in to our brains in just 2 short years. The reason I love the Invasion therefore, is because the Cybermen are distinctly absent from events, their first appearance being in episode 4, half way through this mammoth 8 episode 190 minute story. For me though, the Cybermen are just a backdrop for the serials main villian, Tobius Vaughn, the greatest human villian that the series ever created. The Invasion is not a cybermen serial, after all, Vaughn has more onscreen time than any villain in Doctor Who, I would'nt be surprised is he was on screen longer than the Doctor himself.

Anyway you look at it, the Invasion is Doctor Who at its best, and I certainly think that the story deserves its mantle as an absolute classic and one of the all time greats. Douglas Camfield was the perfect director for Doctor Who, he never created a dull story, or even a dull scene, his fantastic eye for action was what made the Invasion great for me, every detail is made obvious and casting great actors like Kevin Stoney and Peter Halliday as the villains was a masterstroke. Another great choice of Camfield's was to employ the talents of composer Don Harper, the incidental music in the Invasion is probably the best in the series history. Although not as great as Dudley Simpson's talents, Don Harper was highly skilled in his scoring of the Invasion and it stands as a massive compliment to the story to have such vivid and exciting music for the backing. Another great choice of Camfield's was to cast Nicholas Courtney's Brigadier in this serial, The Brig is one of the most fondly remembered characters from the 48 year old programme, and still today, is regarded as one of the all time greats of Doctor Who.

Now, on to the BBC's reimagining of missing episodes 1 & 4, well, having heard of the animation of these episodes long before I actually saw them, I can tell you I was dubious to say the least. 1960's Patrick Troughton episodes being animated, surely not? Well after actually sitting down and viewing the whole story in one fell swoop, its fantastic, you really don't notice that much that you are watching animation, alright, maybe some people can but what we must remember is that this is the ONLY way in which any of us is going to be able to see these lost episodes. I for one am pleased with the results and am glad to hear that plans have been set in motion to animate more missing episodes for release on to DVD. Having watched every single missing episode in telesnap, audio etc etc form, it is a breath of fresh air to see some movement, the distictive motion of the B&W animation is unique. So here's to more BBC funding going towards animating other lost TV episodes of Doctor Who for release on DVD in the near future. Hurahh.

As well as the utterly brilliant animated episodes, this BBC DVD boasts many other little beauties. All remaining 6 episodes look like they were shot yesterday in high definition due to the painstaking work the Restoration Team has put into them, the picture and sound quality is truly amazing. I am unfortunate enough to have owned the BBC Video release of the Invasion from 1993, good god, I couldn't see or hear a thing. Thankfully, the days of the BBC just throwing these episodes out on to video are long since dead, and thusly we have these beautifully remastered BBC DVD's to enjoy in full digital quality. As well as all this you get a 50 minute long documentary narrated by Frazer Hines about the making of the Invasion, some documentaries concerning the animating of the Invasion and the usual other 5 minute or less tit-bits accompanying every release. Worthy of note however is the photo gallery, of which has a 6 minute uninterupted segment of all of Don Harpers pieces of incidental music used on this adventure. Great listen.

All in all the Invasion is a true classic, at 8 episodes long you would think that it is too long but if anything it could do with another 2 episodes, like the War Games. Kevin Stoney's Tobius Vaughn will remain in my eyes the greatest ever human Doctor Who villain, and the animated episodes are a huge welcome to BBC DVD's range of Doctor Who adventures.

Highly highly recommended 10/10

Many thanks for your time,

M.B.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
I really enjoyed this, nicely filmed - very 60's tho Jamie still in a kilt. The baddie is a megalomaniac who shouts like a two year old having a tantrum which is a scream and you see a cyberman having a panic attack which is surprisingly disturbing - I've never wanted to cuddle one before but I felt sorry for this poor sod. Its all crazy but I loved it all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
As always - thoroughly enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
Delivered on time well before Christmas without damage. Both DVD's view view exceptionally well. Would recommend these to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
Ok fans of the new Doctor Who series, you're going to watch the first five minutes and say 'Boring!' But no. You have to get to at least the second disc before the main action happens, and it seems that Russel T D and all the other new writers don't seem to get that the quiet, slow begins are much more creepy and chilling than the first seen being the Doctor rushing round the TARDIS in a storm. That's my first warning. Watch all of it before you judge.

The second obvious one is the cartoon episodes. They work really well and you would think they would appear funny at first, but it really helps understand the story rather than still images, and the Doctors' cartoon looks so real.

The cybermen here have so blank, evil faces it's untrue, and the music is so sixties yet so scary. I think with this story I don't tend to watch it through more than once, but pick out some of my favourite little scenes to watch - The Doctor and Vaugn tracking down the cybermen, the first cyberman awakening, the cyberman invasion, all the usual. There is something seriously magical about this story, and I advise anyone to give it a go.
22 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2007
This is my favourite Cyberman story ever and as a result of that I was really looking forward to seeing the animated episodes. How did they do? Well as a fan of archive television I have always got a thrill in watching material that had been lost and then recovered and yet here is something that is technically still missing and yet at the same time isn't.

This is not missing material returned but missing material reconstructed, there have been many attempts over the years to showcase missing Doctor Who material on video but this by far the best, we actually have moving footage to focus our attention on rather than looking at static images or a Doctor Who actor filling in the blanks.

I almost got the feeling of watching two missing episodes and I'm quite sure that was the whole point.

The only downside of the animated episodes is that the six surviving episodes of The Invasion will probably be overlooked in viewers reviews and suchlike, which is a pity as it is, as stated above not only the best Cyberman story but also the best Troughton.

The story acts as a template for the direction that the series took during the Pertwee era, in essence a pilot episode. It was one of the few to be set in the modern day at the time of transmission (1968) and feels very fresh and different from the majority of the sixties episodes, all the regulars are on brilliant form and even though the adventure is eight episodes long there is no real sense of padding, the storyline moves along at a cracking pace.

One of the highlights of the entire story is the performance of Kevin Stoney as the main villain, Tobias Vaughn, he is quite simply outstanding, mixing charm and menace with great panache and is a worthy adversary for Patrick Troughton's excellent Doctor.

The picture and sound quality have been dramatically improved by the Doctor Who Restoration Team, and the batch of special features are generally good, focusing on the original recordings and the animation process, all this is capped off by two super commentaries and production subtitles.

The use of animation provides a golden opportunity for fans to finally see a version of lost Doctor Who episodes that would otherwise never be seen again.

All in all this a very worthwhile project and will hopefully lead to more incomplete stories being animated. Buy this DVD release now.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2007
Some people would say that the Invasion is far too long, and that the cybermen just arent in it enough. But if the story is good enough without having to rely on aliens all the time, then this obviously shows the story to be a great one. And the Invasion is a great story, full to the brim with classic doctor who moments. The classic Cybermen coming out of the sewers has to be THE classic Doctor Who moment of all time.

But what is really great about this dvd release is the new animated episodes. These are so wicked and wonderfully done is brilliant detail. The bbc certainly know their stuff! It is great to watch a whole story, even if it is in two different formats, this doesnt bother me at all. Finally im just glad that i get to watch the whole of the Invasion for the first time!

Patrick Troughton is my favourite doctor and he is excellent in this story. I think the last episode of this story, especially the cybermen fighting unit, are some of the best moments in Doctor Who history. A really well directed story with brilliant acting from everyone, especially Kevin Stoney who is brilliant as Vaughn. I really like the voices of the cybermen in this story too. They are my favourite voices of any of the cybermen.

So, altogether this is a story well worth watching. Very well worth watching.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
The Doctor and his companions arrive in present-day London, after a near fatal attack by a mysterious spacecraft near the moon. Once the TARDIS lands on Earth, it becomes clear that there are issues with the circuits, rendering the machine invisible. The Doctor remembers his old friend, Professor Travers and sets forth to find him in order to repair the circuits, however he ends up becoming embroiled in a plot by the Cybermen to take over Earth with the co-operation of the sinister, Tobias Vaughn, played to perfection by veteran Who-actor, Kevin Stoney.

This eight-part epic is notable for a number of reasons. Firstly, it is the only official Doctor Who release that has had its missing episodes (1 & 4) replaced by fully animated sequences, using the original audio recordings. Secondly, it features the return of Lethbridge-Stewart and the introduction of UNIT, who would feature more heavily in future episodes, and finally, it was a test for the format which would come to be used in the Third Doctor's opening seasons, with the action firmly set on Earth and a more 'militarist' slant to the action.

The animated sequences are amazing, with each actors likeness captured perfectly. Whilst there isn't much dynamic movement and the heads wobble too much, it manages to work well with the existing audio and paints a perfect picture of what the episode would have been like and the tense mood as the Doctor and Jamie attempt to rescue Zoe. I wish the BBC would fund Cosgrove Hall to animate the remaining lost episodes in exactly the same manner, allowing us to have a complete collection of DVDs, albeit it some fully-animated.

Kevin Stoney returns to Doctor Who, playing Tobias Vaughn, after his previous turn as Mavic Chen in The Daleks' Master Plan. He plays a similar role to his earlier appearance with an over-confident human turncoat, who enables the alien threat to get a foothold to take over Earth, only to get betrayed at the last minute. Stoney plays Vaughn as more restrained than Chen, with a smattering of charm, but he is still very watchable and remains the strongest human villain to date.

Whilst the serial was eight parts long, it never seemed to drag at any part. In fact, it felt more like two separate four part storylines, with the first half concentrating on Vaughn and his sinister company, without revealing the Cybermen behind his plans. Then the second half brings the Cybermen to the fore and becomes a more action-packed storyline. I really enjoyed the two halves to the story and it made what could have been an over-long serial into a nicely paced and epic feeling tale. This is not the best Cybermen storyline (I prefer the The Tomb Of The Cybermen) but is a nice parallel to The Dalek Invasion Of Earth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
you could be mistaken with the invasion to think its just another cyberman story...but you'd be very wrong this story is absolutely superbe and basically could sum up the whole idea of doctor who

the doctor and his companions (jamie and zoe) are just recovering from an incident from the previouse story when a missle comes out of nowhere and nearly hits them from there on the doctor must discover the mystery behind international electromatics

sadly two episodes of this were wiped by the bbc during the 60s/70s however the two episodes in question have been wonderfully animated by cosgrove hall which makes the story stand out

this is probably one of the best troughton storys avalible on dvd and i would wholeheartedly recommend to any doctor who fans
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
If you've been watching the finale for the latest season of Doctor Who, you'll have seen that the cybermen played a big part in the story. If you're a massive Doctor Who fan, you'll have also seen many references to a previous serial within the show. The Invasion is that serial.

The Invasion was set towards the end of the Patrick Troughton era of Doctor Who and is seen as one of the best of his entire run. It's a massive 8 part story which sees The Doctor his companions Jamie and Zoe and Brigader Stewart confronted once again by the Cybermen who have mysteriously arrived in London.

While I think The Invasion is a very good serial in the era of the Second Doctor, I don't quite rate it as highly as others as it does take a while for the story to get going and the Cybermen don't appear until the end of the part 4. However, it's still a very fun serial and the perromances are as good as ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse