Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
66
3.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2017
Waste of time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
My son got both the Wii and DS Dr Who games now...Yeah he is a big Dr Who fan,lol! He loves that sonic screwdriver and is really loving this game. He is so happy that the DS and Wii games aren't the same game. Plays the DS in the Car and gets home and plays the Wii one. A must buy for any Dr Who fan!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
Now that we are the proud owners of both Doctor Who games, apart from reducing a lot of arguing over who's turn it is to play in our house, we can see the big difference between the two games. The first game for DS is a Professor Layton-style puzzle adventure which is suitable for older kids and the the Wii game is an actiongame more suited to younger kids - although there was a joke by the doctor in the first few minutes about the staff canteen in the space ship being closed which had me chuckling (and the kids looking at me like I was mad).

I think if your kids are older, in the 10-12 age group, they may find the Wii game a bit easy and I would recommend the DS game for them, but I think the Wii game is perfect for ages 7-9.
33 Comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
I find it amusing that so many grown up reviewers seem to be unhappy with this Doctor Who game. From the very first introduction it is obvious that the game is made for children. The graphics are not exactly state of the art but they are friendly and appealing, also appealing are the excellently scripted and delivered dailogue by the dotor and amy and the amusing, if somewhat repetitive things the robots say like "Take Cover!" and "Time for a cup of tea".
Zapping of the crystals, especially with the Sonic Screwdriver controller is particularly fun and I am hoping this will turn out to be a really immersive Doctor Who role playing game for my primary school age niece and nephew. I must say at first I was a little bemused by the 12+ rating but I am glad I took a chance on it, there is nothing that frightening here.. just cybermen and (allegedly) daleks. Looks like a great kids Christmas present to me.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
I have been playing video games since 1984. I have played more games that I could care to count on everything from ZX Spectrums, to SNES, to Playstations and Xbox's. I have played some truly great games as well as some utter rubbish, but this game, is without any shadow of a doubt, the worst, most abhorrent, hateful piece of software it has ever been my misfortune to encounter.

I could write pages about the problems, but I will skip the woeful animation, poor graphics, inane dialogue, poor story, lack of atmosphere and excitement and I will stick to the biggest problem with the game, namely the gameplay. The gameplay consists entirely of collecting different coloured crystals and shooting them and floating target of the same colour, in order to open doors or shut off robots etc. THAT IS ALL YOU DO.

Over and over level after level you just just collect coloured crystals and shoot them at targets. What this has to do with Dr Who, escapes me.

Having watched Dr Who since the days of Tom Bakers and I have never seen any of the Doctors use his screwdriver to shoot coloured crystals at coloured targets. Possibly this would not be so bad if it were not for the control system. You spend more time actually trying to see the targets as you do trying to hit them. At first, when you are dealing with only one target it is not so bad, but on later level you can be required to hit three targets to open a door.

So bad is the control system that the amount of time it takes to hit all three targets means that by the time you have hit the third and final target, time has run out and the first target has reset itself.

You can literally spend 15 to 20 minutes just trying to hit all three targets fast enough to open a door.

If the game did not have Dr Who written on the box then you would have absolutely no idea this was supposed to be a Dr Who game. Words do not exist to fully convey to you my hatred of this game, playing it is torture, not fun. Everyone responsible for this games existence should be thoroughly ASHAMED and I sincerely hope that none of them have ever been allowed to contribute to anything to any other game ever.

This is the worst, most hateful, abhorrent, putrid abomination of a game that it has ever been my misfortune to play.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
My kids begged me to buy this game for them and I was a bit dubious having seen some of these reviews but was pleasantly surprised at what good fun it was!

I was worried some of the gameplay might be a bit too easy for my 7 and 8 year olds but there were definitely some challenging puzzles that we all had to join in to solve. Personally I loved solving the riddles and moving the energy ball around the maze and can't wait to play more.

As fans of the TV show it was great to hear the voices of Matt Smith and Karen on the game and some of the graphics are really great. Two thumbs up from me!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
My kids are loving this game! I am so pleased that I bought it for them. They're such big Dr Who fans and have been eagerly awaiting Return to Earth, it hasn't disappointed!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
My Doctor Who-crazy son has been waiting for this game for months and is now one very happy boy! Seems to be a nice balance between challenges and entertainment - only problem is how I get him away from it! I highly recommend if your looking for Christmas presents.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
We played this as a family and thoroughy enjoyed it. It took just under a week to complete the story and found it very addictive. Running around collecting coloured crystals and completing mini tasks whilst avoiding the usual bad guys was great fun. Some levels are played as the doctor and some as Amy, the challenge being to get them together (there is an indicator to show the distance between them). It's not an easy game, it requires some dexterity to use both the WiiMote and Nunchuck to move around, but even our 5-year-old got the hang of the controls. The only downfall is that due to the nature of the game; an adventure or a story to complete, once it is over, that is generally it. It is not like a platform game that can be played over and over. It was also frustratingly slow to load each level (everytime we lost all our lives!!).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
I bought this game for my 9 year old son who has just started getting into Doctor Who. He picked it up and got through an hour of play without a hitch and was totally absorbed. After that, I wanted a go and he obliged by letting me play for around 15 mins before asking for the controller back. I liked the game play in it, simple though it was. It is largely comprised of quick puzzle-like objectives (obtaining coloured crystals) that allow you to progress onwards to face more dramatic challenges (such as running the gauntlet of monsters taken from the TV series or getting across a chasm using moving platforms whilst more monsters patrol below). There is much humour in the dialogue and some great touches in the game play too - like the bit where you place a distraction using a yapping puppy toy you've collected earlier, which allows you to bypass cyberman occupying the narrow room you are in. My son carried on playing for a few more sessions and didn't seem to think it too easy or without variety and is now heading towards completing the game. Overall, a good purchase and would recommend it to people with young kids.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)