Buy used:
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Doctor Who At The Radiophonic Workshop Vol. 1: The Early Years 1963-1969

Audio CD

4.0 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Available from these sellers.

Amazon's BBC Radiophonic Workshop Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (29 May 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Soundtrack
  • Label: BBC
  • ASIN: B00004TFMK
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 396,557 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Doctor Who (Original Theme)
  2. Original TARDIS Effects
  3. Doctor Who (Original Titles Music)
  4. TARDIS Takeoff
  5. The DALEKSThe Edge of Destruction
  6. The Edge of Destruction
  7. The Keys Of Marinus
  8. The Sensorites
  9. The Chase
  10. Galaxy Four
  11. The Daleks 'Masterplan'
  12. The Savages
  13. The Tenth Planet
  14. The Power Of The Daleks
  15. The Underwater Menace
  16. The Macra Terror
  17. Doctor Who (New Opening Theme, 1967)
  18. The Web of Fear
  19. Fury From The Deep
  20. The Wheel In Space
  21. The Dominators
  22. The Mind Robber
  23. The Invasion
  24. The Krotons
  25. The Space Pirates
  26. The War Games
  27. Doctor Who (Closing Titles)

Product description

It's been so easy to sympathetically think back on the series as budget-challenged chintz. Contemporary technology is like a comfort zone of superiority against TV of the past; what really mustn't be forgotten is how appreciated Dr. Who was in its day for technical innovation. And that's where this first volume comes in: the Hartnell and Troughton years-apart from being blessed with Ron Grainer's immortal theme--were often tracked with sourced library cues. The majority of playtime is thereby made up by the unique sound designers then resident at the BBC's Radiophonic Workshop (principally Brian Hodgson, Delia Derbyshire, and Dick Mills). While this hardly makes for any sort of light musical experience, it is nonetheless a fascinating record of electronic sound at its genesis. Twenty-two episodes are covered in various fashions, there's the old-piano-and-a-key "Original TARDIS Effect", but most importantly a chronicling of each stage of the Grainer theme. Preparing for the continuation on Volume Two is a final, unused rendition. --Paul Tonks

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 11 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

13 June 2008
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
14 April 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
14 November 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
18 December 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 February 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
22 January 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
19 July 2006
Format: Audio CD
15 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
19 April 2004
Format: Audio CD
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?