Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
Love the daleks because they are not in the form of humans like in alot of other dr who episodes remember this as a child peter cushing playing the Dr . great classic films still worth watching all these years later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2004
This is a great piece of 60’s hokum. I brought it at the low price and consider it one of my best DVD deals.
The Daleks are without doubt the greatest threat to peace in the Universe. Aliens and Predators are no match for these demented pepper pots.
I remember these two films the first time round, and I intend to wallow in the pure, unashamed nostalgia of it all. My only criticisms being that Peter Cushing is a bit too ‘Werther’s Original’, compared to Hartnell’s ‘tetchy old git’. Also, no BBC Dr. Who music, which is a bit like a James Bond film without the Monty Norman theme, and just as recognisable. The BBC TARDIS sound effects are also sadly missing.
Oh hum, never mind – ENJOY!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2003
As an eager 6 year old I can remember dragging my other to the local Astonia to see this. Even watching now one can be impressed with the higher budget spent on these two films. (the BBC even borrowed some of the film daleks for TV production).
As like the last TV Doctor Who film this must be treated as a seperate entity to the TV run and enjoyed accordingly.
the late Peter Cushing (taking a break from Vampire Slaughter) makes an ideal Doc though his assitants Roy Castle and Bernard Cribbens are irritating to say the least. The musical score on both films is 60's cheesey but that apart the DVD is well worth space in a WHO collection.
Extras are good.
DVD is good value.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2002
For those used to seeing the Daleks on tiny black & white tv screens, these mid-60s big screen outings for the metallic monsters were sheer joy. The real stars are the Daleks themselves. Re-designed for the cinema, they are bigger than their tv cousins and somewhat more imposing. They also have louder, more echoey voices and their guns fire more convincingly.
The first film is a grim tale of a post-nuclear (neutronic in the film) society, in which the former warring factions live in fear and ignorance of each other. The Thals are beautiful, bold and pale skinned nomadic farmers who have adopted a pacifist philosophy in reaction to the war. The Daleks are genetic mutations, condemned to live in metallic shells in a vast, metallic city. The second film transports the action to London in the middle of the 22nd Century. Although somewhat less cerebral and philosophical than its predecessor, this one is a great adventure featuring a good deal of action and the possible destruction of the Earth!
Hammer regular Peter Cushing takes to the controls of the TARDIS in these two cinematic jaunts, portraying the classic mad scientist with an avuncular gleam in his eye. Cushing was known to have enjoyed the role but, sadly, subsequent attempts to bring him back as the Doctor came to nought.
Fantastic sci-fi fun!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 1965 film and it's 1966 sequel "Daleks-Invasion Earth 2150 A.D.".Were made cheaply and quickly to capitilise on the immense success the Daleks were having on the kids of Britain at that time.(Myself included)
You could buy Dalek toys,sweets,wallpaper,Pyjamas and slippers, sounds familiar doesn't it?
The reason the Doctor was changed to an eccentric "Professor type" from an Alien were for reasons of simplicity. At that time the Doctor Who TV show was not playing in as many countries as it is now, so no complicated and time consuming Back story would be needed,
and it made audience identification that much easier with the various members of the cast.
~~~~
The producers,(New Yorker's)Subotsky and Rosenberg approached the BBC to see if they could use the TV show's distinctive theme music, but due to the high price the BEEB wanted, they gave up on that Idea.
These Film's are an edited version of the first two Dalek stories shown on Tv in 1963 & 1964,with marginally better production values.
The first film did rather better then the sequel in turn of profit's.
As a long time Doctor Who fan,(Episode six,Dalek Invasion of Earth,December 1964 was my first episode.), I have to admit the Daleks in these films are a long way more visually impressive then they were on the TV show.
Happy memories, I can still remember my Mother taking me to the Pictures to see this Movie and the sequel.
Both these films were made for a family audience, so get a big tub of popcorn, lower the lights, and watch them with your kids!
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2000
After inadvertantly picking up a London copper, the Doc + chums arrive in a menacing 22nd Century dominated by Daleks. What are they planning at their colossal mining complex in Bedfordshire?
Cushing's second and final appearance as Dr Who is far superior to the flat first film as we have a hell of a lot of location filming and some impressive action sequences and effects. The Daleks are truly awe-inspiring and yet they do not dominate the film, leaving space for many of the humans to shine. Cushing's a great Doc, and all in all this is a nice production. Nowhere near the quality of the TV story like!
James
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2001
Of the two Doctor Who films that were produced during the sixties, this is the better by far. Peter Cushing returns to play the Doctor and does his best but still seems quite unsure about how to play the role, although he deserved to be commended for avoiding a simple impression of his television counterpart, William Hartnell. The supporting cast are impressive, which include Bernard Cribbins and Philip Madoc. The filming at Shepperton Studios is nice and the space ship in the sky is more convincing than the TV series ever managed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2007
I'm one of those fortunate people who remember the Daleks from the very beginning (December '63 to be precise). I also remember being very excited about these films when they were originally released, watching the first one in a cinema in Slough and the second one with my Dad in Aylesbury.

The feel of these films is very different from the BBC TV originals, but it was great to see the Daleks in colour on the big screen and then go home to read the weekly TV21 comic, which featured stills from the film and an excellent, now legendary, Dalek strip on the back cover.

The first film stays quite true to the TV story in my opinion, with only the excessively stilted Dalek dialogue (their lights flashed almost continually in this film) and the clouds of steam emanating from their blasters being detracting to an anorak like me. The size of the film stage(s) helped enormously to give a sense of scale to this film, the petrified forest especially looking superb even now. The control room, although a bit dated now, is a fine size, allowing plenty of room for the action to take place. I soon got used to the different actors and rather liked the great Peter Cushing's bumbly Doctor.

The second film was even more impressive in many ways. The Daleks were painted more like the "real thing" and much of the grittiness of the original story transferred over. However, although supposedly 2150, the scenes and sets are all early nineteen-sixties London, with no advanced technology on view except from the Daleks themselves... The Dalek space-ship flying through the sky was very well done, despite the DVD showing the strings holding it up occasionally...

I bought these discs for my young son (and I!) to watch and they've been played many, many times now and given very much enjoyment over the last few years. My disc of the first film has a sound fault, which was corrected on the second and subsequent batches I understand. I never bothered to have my disc replaced although there was an offer to do this at the time.

If you've a young budding Dalek fan in the family, please buy them these films, as despite the forty years plus since their release, they're as much fun to kids now (and their Dads), as they were to me back then. The current "New Series" Daleks on TV are even based on these film versions with large lights and bases...........

Go on, BUY IT. You know you want to................
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 November 2013
The only two big-screen outings for Dr Who have always been met with scepticism and mixed reactions from fans and public alike. People seem to either love them or hate them. They're not considered as `cannon' therefore they have no links to the TV series.

This is the second and last Dr Who film to date and sees the Doctor travel into Earth's future, only to discover the Daleks have only gone and taken over the planet, turning the population into leather-clad slaves (like something out of 50 Shades of Grey!). However, the Doctor is on hand to sort them out. But there are some differences with the official series. For a start, the Doctor is human and has a family. So, if you can get over that (quite major) change, you may just enjoy what follows.

If you're used to the current Dr Who series, you may be a bit disappointed with what goes on here. The budget is small and the effects slightly corny. It's unlikely to win over any new fans here, most of which will probably find it a bit too cheesy to be watched. But, if you've watched sci-fi that was made in the sixties, you'll probably know what to expect - bright, garish colours, wooden sets and some of the least futuristic gadgets known to aliens across the galaxy.

If you've already seen it, you'll know what to expect and will probably still love it for its sheer nostalgia value. If you haven't, don't expect an alien invasion movie on the scale of anything made today. Lower your expectations and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)