Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A new Doctor Who quick reads book. Quick reads are books aimed primarily at those who don't read often. If at all. Because being short and not very complicated they are ideal reading those who want something short and sweet and easy to get through.

This runs for one hundred and ten pages. It has eleven chapters and an epilogue. And large and easy to read print.

At the same time though these are good for those who do read regularly and are also looking for something short and sweet because it makes for a nice quick read.

The story features the Eleventh Doctor plus his companions Amy and Rory, and is a completely original piece of work that tells a tale which hasn't appeared in any other form before.

It sees the Doctor and friends trying to have a relaxing holiday in present day London. And getting chucked out of most places they visit as a result. When they go to a magic show at a theatre involving a magician called Sammy Star - whose career was previously going nowhere but has now suddenly seem him become a sensation, thanks to the closing part of his act - they find there's more to it than meets the eye.

Becuase there are lots of posters of missing girls all over the city.

Two residents of an old age people's home have had their memories jogged.

And there's a Weeping Angel in the city.

Can the Doctor save the day? And make sure nobody else vanishes?

As ever with these books it does have the characterisation of the three main characters down perfectly, and you can easily imagine the actors saying the dialogue. But there's a lot more to delight on the way. The Doctor has some great moments, including some genuinely funny dialogue that should make you laugh out loud. The plot is well worked out, managing to keep surprises and developments coming at just the right pace. It has a go at reality tv shows and a few other things from present day life in a manner that makes the reader think about them.

Plus the characterisation of the old ladies allows for some powerfully poignant moments.

There is some playing around with the notion of time travel here, the ubiquitious phrase 'timey wimey' springing to mind, but in addition to being pretty clever it's also not too complicated, so the plotting shouldn't leave anyone in the aforementioned former category of reader out of their depth.

Whether you never read these, or whether you do, it's a fun read for anyone in either category.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
Really enjoyed this short story/ novella. It's got the chaos of Matt Smith's Dr, the menace of a weeping angel, a reality "make the big time" magic show and the bittersweet backstory of the two old ladies. An easy enough to read story but lots of fun nonetheless.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
This book was brilliant, it was so gripping and I couldn't put it down (which meant I ended up reading it for roughly 2 hours!)
I'm ten, and I thought it was perfectly written for people about my age. This is a book I would 100% recommend to every doctor who lover!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
The Weeping Angels are on of my favourite enemies..in this story they were well used...You felt the closness of The Doctor,Amy and Rory..I thought it was funny at the begining on the tour bus and some past stories were mentioned..You feel sorry for Mrs Hooper and Mrs Collins who Rory looks after and the great twist with them was excellent..and nice reference to The Third Doctors costume as The Eleventh Doctor uses it as a magicians outfit...This lovely little story flows very well..and with a touching ending its a really brilliant one for Doctor Who fans to enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This certainly lives up to its billing as a 'quick read', however it's aimed at reluctant readers not adults or avid book lovers! As an English teacher I think this is a great idea and a good way in for those who struggle to read novels. Jacqueline Rayner has produced a witty and engaging story; yes it's featherlight but I guess that's the point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I enjoyed reading this book with my seven year old granddaughter. She loves anything to do with The Doctor! (Matt Smith) She could easily manage to read this, not too wordy, short book, and the story was interesting and written in a familiar Dr. Who format. It had enough intrigue and interest to hold her, (and my ) attention. with a moving and thought provoking ending. Very well written, with a touch of humour, and a feeling of watching a typical Dr Who episode. I will search for more of these reasonably priced books. They would make a great little gift for any young Dr. fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
This is an OK story but it just didn't quite hit it as a good Doctor Who story. Possibly worth a read but there are certainly better ones out there. This was the first book I have bought so I can't really say how this compares to the other books but I have bought doctor who audio books which were much more enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
This book was excellent because it made you think it was going to be boring but they n it hits you and is amazing. It includes some of my favourite aliens, the weeping angels, which hold sixpence and are a bit scary a a few points. I love doctor who so if you do as well then you would love it! It is a nice quick and simple read and is great for kids and adults!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
This might be the best Doctor Who book I have read and I'm on holiday getting through plenty of them.

Fast paced action, very true to the characters and subtle plot twists. The final closing of the loop made me smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
A Quick Read can easily just slip by in a single sitting. At the end, you might feel the urge to go out and read more of an author, or you might be inspired to read another and another. A Quick Read done well provides a somewhat self contained tale that has a distinct beginning, middle and an end - and presents them with style, energy, enthusiasm, engagement... one or another, several or all.

Somewhere in the mix, 'Magic of the Angels' tells a self-contained tale with all the necessary elements, but perhaps fails to satisfy with depth.

Having read other books in the Quick Read series for 2012, you can achieve some interesting things in a very limited page count. The author doesn't quite pull it off here. The Doctor, Amy and Rory seem right enough, with just enough character to match expectation. However, perhaps a little too much fan service and familiar tropes of the series makes for a distraction rather than an essential dollop of colour.

I enjoyed the basic plot, but feel that the villain of the piece might have been given more background. The familiar characters worked well together and we got the expected division of companions from the Time Lord for hi-jinx and a threat of sudden and premature demise. Though I can't pick holes in the essentials of the story, or indeed have any wish to try, I left the book feeling mildly unsatisfied.

I went in for the whole luxurious Belgian chocolate experience and came away with a thinly coated wafer snack. Quick Read, by all means - but, that shouldn't mean skimping on the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse