Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2011
I LOVE this book. Its best feature is the 2 page overview of all countries covered and the best time to go. This is absolutely essential information and I have been surprised to find that other diving books don't spend much attention to that.

Each location is covered on 4 pages and includes: a map of the area, visibility info, must see dive sites, downsides (i.e. crowded, difficult to get to, expensive...), getting there, visa and money information. In about 2 pages of text, he discusses the dive area in general and then focuses on a few specific dive sites. There are also always a few recommendations for dive organisations. The photography is very impressive.

To be able to buy a dive book of this standard at such a low price is an absolute steal.

When planning holidays, I use Monty's book in combination with Footprint, Diving the World and those 2 give me all the info I need! But if you can only buy one, buy Monty's.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2005
When I first saw this book, I was impressed - nice page layout, good maps and wow, look at all those places I want to go. Then I got down to studying it and became more and more disappointed. Why, for example, does it have a few pages on Papua New Guinea but no dives from there? Yet in other chapters there are dives, not enough to give a real flavour of a place, but at least some. So it made me wonder whether the author has actually been to as many places as he claims and it's hard to tell. Certainly this is not an "ultimate" dive guide - how could it be when there are so few dives in it? It will be useful as a quick reference, but that's about it.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2005
So what are the world's top dive destinations according to Monty Halls. Apparently, Bonaire in the Dutch Carribean is not one of them as it's not included in the list. Bonaire has been voted the worlds top dive destination. On the other hand, Cyprus 'the Zenobia' is one of them!
There are 320 pages with 60 destinations,that is, roughly 5 pages per destination. The pictures are beautiful but the printing is not the best. The information on each dive site is brief. The book is part of the series 'Ultimate Sports' unfortunately it is not the ultimate guide to dive destinations.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
I've steadily built up a collection of masses of these types of dive books and this is always the one I go back to.

Of course there will always be debates about how one book misses one site and one misses another, but isn't the point that it's just one person's opinion and as long as you find it interesting who cares? This has some great sites (including the Zenobia which I thoroughly enjoyed diving and would never have known about otherwise) and will give you plenty of inspiration about where to go and crucially when to go, so you give yourself a great chance of seeing the marine life you're travelling to see.

Overall a fantastic book that I'd thoroughly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2005
If you are a dedicated Discovery Channel fan, you will definitely enjoy Monty Hall's DIVE - THE ULTIMATE GUIDE to 60 of the world's top dive locations. Halls is a regular contributor to Diver magazine and works as a biologist and expedition leader. In 2002 he led a team of divers on a round the world trip to find the world's greatest dives, and in 2003 they wen in search of the top ten wrecks of the world (which explains the inclusion of Cyprus - The Zenobia). Many of the old favourites , such as The Thistlegorm in the Red Sea, are featured, but there are also some lesser-known sites, which make for interesting reading. Each location includes a detailed map, safety information, contact numbers and beautiful colour photographs. I was pleased to see South Africa well represented with four sites, including Gansbaai. I particularly enjoyed the chapters on Ireland (The Skelligs), eastern United States and Brazil. Cost, how to get there, visas, visibility, water temperature and diving tips are added to answer any questions divers might have. Hall's writing style is entertaining and informative, and even if you don't agree with all his choices, you will definitely be inspired to do some travelling.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
It's a shame when Amazon book review facility is undermined by bias, notably anonymous comments from "A customer" (we know who you are!) who is connected with a rival and entirely inferior publication that has not yet sold 100,000 copies worldwide and is highly unlikely to do so. The facts of the matter are that Dive - The Ultimate Guide author Monty Halls twice circumnavigated the world in visiting top dive destinations in 2002 and 2003 "including top 10 wreck dives, and continues to draw record attendances when delivering hugely entertaining speeches at Dive Show and LIDS. As for "A Customer" there's little to say about them, hence their anonymity. Dive - The Ultimate Guide continues to be the best selling world scuba diving. Latest book trade figures reveal 100% sell through by Waterstones (source: Hugh Brune, Portfolio Book Distributors) so if in doubt you can always browse a copy in store then return to Amazon to buy if this where you first found it.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2005
For Monty Halls, this book represents an insight into his day job. For the rest of us it represents a job we would absolutely love. Halls has gathered together 60 of the best dive locations in the world and poured them into this large volume. The emphasis is on giving the diver as much information as possible, so we get details about marine life, geography, depths, recompression chambers and dive centres as well as accurate descriptions of the individual sites. Once you've ticked off how many of the sites you have visited yourself, the real fun comes in finding out what's missing - you can argue over individual sites, but its pretty comprehensive and as Halls says in his introduction, 'this is a live work waiting for feedback and updates'. Definitely worth a look."
Paul Critcher.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2005
I've just purchased Dive The Ultimate Guide and what a fantastic buy it was. Love the maps, the travel facts, the photography and the enthusiasm with which Monty Halls describes each site. It's my new bible for diving and I'd recommend it to anyone at any level of diving - it gives inspiration for your next dive holiday as well as looking great on the coffee table (not that I EVER leave books out on show as it's naff ... although maybe with this I'll make an exception!). Buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2006
Wow! Monty Halls really knows his stuff. Dive - the ultimate guide is packed full of really useful information. I am only a newcomer to scuba diving but I can't stop myself picking up the book and flicking through it. I really love the way each dive location is covered in such an in-depth way with such great photos. The pages aren't cluttered by over design which means you get exactly the information you want. My partner is a more experienced diver and has used the book to plan several diving trips. Its just a pity that the book isn't bigger.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)