Disco Vol 1 has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Disco Vol 1 CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £6.90 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
6 new from £6.90 5 used from £1.48
£6.90 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (9 Mar. 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Sony Music
  • ASIN: B001RTYKN6
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 202,324 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Got To Be Real
  2. Disco Nights (Rock Freak)
  3. Mainline
  4. Shame
  6. I Want You For Myself
  7. Turn The Beat Around
  8. Shine On Silver Moon
  9. You
  10. Dancin'
  11. Standing Right Here
  12. Native New Yorker

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Many soul fans turn their noses up at disco music. I find much of it trite and repetetive, yet I cannot turn my back on the music of my teenage years, it was where the world was. Much of it was creative, the good stuff for me retained vestiges of soul. The music media set out to destroy the genre at he end of the 70's. Could that possibly have been because it was predominantly black or gay?

Three tracks here stand out for me. Cheryl Lynn 'Got To Be Real' from the same production stable as Eath Wind and Fire. Classy music with a top vocal from an underrated vocalist. Vicki Sue Robinson 'Turn The Beat Around' is one of the records that really kicked off the genre as something separate to soul in 1974. Oddyssy 'Native New Yorker' is a great song that stands up today, or in any era.

Disco never went away. You hear the sounds pounding out of pubs and clubs to this day. It came back as 80s dance and helped to form the roots of hop-hop.
2 Comments 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Disco Complation 23 Jan. 2010
By Juggs - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
1. Got To Be Real- 5.07
2. Disco Nights- 6.28
3. Mainline- 6.56
4. Shame- 6.35
5. Turn Me Up- 7.36
6. I Want You For Myself- 6.26
7. Turn The Beat Around- 5.32
8. Shine On Silver Moon- 7.29
9. You- 5.52
10. Dancin'- 7.03
11. Standing Right Here- 6.59
12. Native New Yorker- 5.32
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?