Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

  • Disco
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
Disco
Format: MP3 Download|Change


on 4 March 2011
this was the pet shop boys very first remix almum to be released staright after their very first album wich was called "please",and i had both albums on cassette format,and the disco album was fab,as the remixes on it were excellent,and my fav tracks are paninaro and surbubia.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2005
Done back at a time when the Pet Shop Boys were just starting out, this may have been an idea to make disco music more mainstream - it was big in the urban areas, and disco from the 70s had not really died, but was being transformed into pop, electro and other kinds of music that the Pet Shop Boys would come to typify for a while.
The first album, 'Please', had a string of world-wide chart toppers; these became sought after not only on the radio but also in the dance clubs - if there was one place that Pet Shop Boys music was welcome at, it was the dance clubs. This mini-album satisfied the more general demand for extended versions of songs at a time when the extended single was still a rare commodity (and mostly it was done on vinyl).
This CD has six tracks, four of which are remixes of charting songs from the album 'Please'. The songs 'Love Comes Quickly' and 'Suburbia' are lesser known in North America, but the songs 'Opportunities' and 'West End Girls' are perhaps two of the best known PSB songs ever. 'Suburbia' sounds very much like it encorporates the keyboard-heavy introductory music to the British series 'Eastenders' (at least, the music of the time), which is not a mistake.
The other songs included here are b-sides or extra tracks; the song 'Paninaro' became a hit in its own right, being revisited a number of times later in the PSB history.
These are all longer-playing songs, averaging eight minutes or so per track (when the standard radio edit is around four minutes, that is a long track) but done deliberately for more sustained dance time. The tracks are even listed by beats-per-minute, going from a love of 111 bpm on 'Love Comes Quickly' to 128 bpm on 'Suburbia'.
This is a remix album as they should be done - the songs are clearly extended versions of the ones from which they come, not so overlaid with DJ accretions that one can barely make out the base tune.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2013
Eight months after their remarkable debut album "Please", Pet Shop Boys would satisfy the thirst of their growing legions of fans by releasing "Disco", an interesting hybrid between songs that their LP buyers had not heard yet ("Paninaro", "In the night") and kick-ass remixes of their "Please" singles: "Suburbia", "Opportunities", "Love comes quickly" and "West End Girls".
The remixes are overall very successful and they have obviously been done with a lot of care, a lot of respect for the original material, while making them more "user-friendly" for the dance floor. "Paninaro", a legendary PSB track, makes its LP debut here. "In the night" was just the B-side of "Opportunities" and demonstrates here it did not deserve to fall into oblivion. The track is lifted by the remix and works very well. I have never been a great fan of "Suburbia" but it holds its head quite nicely here. I prefer the "short" version of "Opportunities" because I think the tone of the song needs to be "in your face" to enjoy the phenomenal lyrics but the remix is fun.
Overall, a fun LP that takes chances with the letter of the PSB songs without betraying their spirit.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
Bought this when it first came out in the 80s and decided to get it again on CD. Good re-mix album (and I don't usually go for remixes)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2016
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2015
I had this album when it first came out! Over time I forgot about it and lately I have been thinking about the music I loved in my life so just had to buy this again! Paninaro is a classic. I listen to this over & over. PSB at their best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2011
This is the first and greatest of the boys Disco albums with truly excellent remixes of all songs around the time of the releases of Please and Actually plus two of the ultimate b sides
In the night - truly insane song in the first place but an even more incredible remix (best song on album)
Paninaro - Stretches on for almost 10 minutes chris lowe is a genious, this remix shows his skills at there best AWESOME!!
So in conclusion this is a must have for all PSB fans out there, you will love it
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2013
SIX DISCO LARGE MIXES , SUBURBIA AND WEST END GIRLS THE BEST SONG IN THE ALBUM. PERFECT MIX FOR OPPORTUNITES.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2016
CD a bit dirty but cleaned up OK. Great value TBH!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2006
In fact the benchmark for a lot of remix artists past and present! An absolute classic. Buy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)