Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD Audio|Change
Price:£17.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2017
Discipline is an album, like most King Crimson albums, complex. This album is from 1981. It has as a highlight the title fax. The instrumental of the tracks is well worked out and can be better accepted if compared to other albums of the band. The 40 year edition enriches the work with extras of the time. Who does not know, may not be a good alternative at first sight or have the patience to listen to it a few times and then give an opinion. OK! Note 7.5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
Please note these comments refer exclusively to the new CD re-master.

I was somewhat worried that 'Discipline' - one of my all-time favourite KC albums along with 'LTIA' (my all-time favourite), 'Red', 'Lizard', 'ITCOTCK', 'TCOL' & 'TPTB' - might have been spoiled by the so-called loudness wars influence that has sadly affected so many recordings these days ever since the iPod/mp3 revolution. I do have an mp3 player, BTW, which I happen to use quite a lot, loaded mostly with AAC VBR 192 kbps files.

What a relief to hear there's been some serious care taken to truly improve the sonics of this fine album. It seems as if a (not so thin) veil had been lifted from it. I actually thought the 30th Anniversary edition of 'Discipline' was quite good sonically (compared to previous editions), but this latest re-master is a real breath of fresh air.

The album sounds more organic, spacious, real, ie it is less 'clinical' and 'distant', yet it does not fall into the trappings of the let's-make-it-all-loud-and-very-clear-and-enhance-high-frequencies-to-satisfy-portable-playback tendency.

This 40th Anniversary edition is a must-have for those who value this remarkable album. I'm sure the extras are worth it and the 5.1 version of the album is very likely very well crafted, too. I was, however, particularly looking forward to the new stereo re-master, and this does not disappoint.

It is clear that both Robert Fripp & Steven Wilson have approached this project with the utmost respect and dedication as they have with previous the 40th Anniversary editions.

Been waiting patiently for the 40th Anniversary edition of LTIA, the jewel in the crown, in my opinion, of the whole KC catalogue.

Unfortunately, it seems the only album that will not be re-mastered this time round is 'The ConstruKction of Light'. If this turns out to be the case, it's a shame as 'TCOL' is a rather peculiar album which is terribly underrated. 'TCOL', in my view, does need to be 'improved' sonically - it is a gem of an album: raw, intense, powerful and, to some extent, fairly 'naive'.
22 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Discipline was one of those albums that I loved. But I forgot I loved it. It was always overlooked when choosing which KC album to play.
So when the 40th Anniversary remaster was being made with Steven Wilson on the mixing desk I knew were were in for a treat. He had done wonders for 'Red' and the others so far issued.
I ordered this together with 'Starless and Bible Black', a classic in my book. So when they arrived I played them with open ears and anticipation.
You will not be disappointed. The Wilson ears and hand have worked a miracle on Discipline. Like the previous reviewer says it's like a veil has been lifted. To my ears the bottom end, Levin's bass and Bruford's batterie, have been given a power and authority that previous editions lacked. I think the technical phrase is 'umph'. The guitar work is clear and to listen to Fripp and Belew interlocking guitar lines is a marvel to behold.
The album truly is aural knitting at its best. That makes it sound analytical and cold. It's not. It is a warm, funny, exotic and powerful album and all the more so for Wilson's remix.
Plenty of bonus material on the DVD part to keep any Crimso drooling too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2000
Having got this far you can congratulate yourself on your excellent taste. You've done the difficult bit finding this CD. Now buy it. You won't want a complete history of the 30 years, and continuing, of King Crimson - see "The Rough Guide to Rock" - but a little background won't hurt. Robert Fripp is the only ever-present member of King Crimson. Between 1969 and 1974 they released seven sudio LPs, but then split for seven years. In 1981, Fripp recalled the drummer, Bill Bruford, from the line-up that made the excellent Red, and introduced not only Adrian Belew who had previously played guitar with Frank Zappa and Talking Heads, but also Tony Levin, who brought his considerable reputation, his weird "stick" guitar and his bass. Levin's mere (stage) presence meant that this band was likely to be special, even before he had played an idiosyncratic note. Fripp had never included another guitarist in Crimson, nor any Americans; now there were two. It is worth mentioning that Red has a preominantly black cover, whilst....see above. This is typical. Although the writing credits go to King Crimson, it seems likely that Fripp had already envisaged the overall sound on Discipline even before anything was formally written. No other combination of musicians could have come up with anything like this, for whilst the songs differ in tempo and purpose, there is a unifying sound which unfortunately is almost impossible to describe. This is not a case of 4 amazingly talented musicians trying to blow their colleagues off stage, or out of the studio. It's difficult to tell, apart from the percussion and the lead vocals, who is responsible for what, and this is made more difficult by the poineering use of the (Roland?) guitar synthesisers. The instruments intertwine like rapidly rotating cogs, the same phrases emerging, just slightly altered, with the result that the tunes seem to be going nowhere, except starting a nagging resonance from which there doesn't seem to be an easy escape. At times it's a cacophony, but one that has a plan. These are not, with the possible exception of Matte Kudasai, 'pop' songs, neither are they progressive, in the sense that they don't build up to thundering climaxes. They are something else, almost a new category, though I hesitate to use the term, more like soundscapes. Elephant Talk sets the tone, which is one of tension that runs throughout. Belew recites a list of synonyms for "talk" in alphabetical order, until he gets to "elephant talk" over a constantly bubbling backing. He gets closest to conventional singing on Frame by Frame - these two tracks could easily run into each other. On Matte Kudasai I'm reminded of lying in a hammock in The Far East, even though I've never done so. It's a brief interlude before the music starts to threaten again. Indiscipline must be about the madness that results from constant exposure to modern day pressure, and Thela Hut Ginjeet continues this theme, highlighted by Belew's nervous spoken passage. Both these tracks have their amusing moments, which serve to alleviate the overall threatening feel, and perhaps make them just bearable, although this is not, I repeat, easy listening. Sheltering Sky is calmer, the atmosphere could be pastoral African rather than the earlier references to Indonesia and the urban jungle. The lead instrument is probably guitar, although it sounds more like a saw! Finally there is Discipline, which is perhaps a typical Crimson instrumental, if there is such a thing, with a glance back to the band's earlier formations. At this stage Fripp had decided that a Larks Tongues in Aspic Part III would be one too many. Two albums later, on Three of A Perfect Pair, he'd changed his mind. Anyone seeking a more scholarly guide to the music on this album would do well to read the chapter on King Crimson IV in "Robert Fripp,From King Crimson to Guitar Craft", by Eric Tamm (faber&faber 1990). Of the three albums that this line-up made (Discipline, Beat, Three of a Perfect Pair) I have no doubt that this is by far the best. It's as though the band formed with the expressed purpose of making this album and then felt that they had a duty, to Fripp, their audience, or their bank managers, to make a couple more. King Crimson split again after the last of these, but re-emerged in 1994 with an augmented line-up that includes Pat Mastelotto and Trey Gunn who form what is effectively a second rhythm section. There is, as yet, only one studio release, Thrak, which has its moments, but whilst the 'extra' players complicate the sound, I'm not convinced that it actually needs it, and after all this time in the business, I suspect that Fripp may have already produced his best work, so that the twin peaks of Red and Discipline are unlikely to be scaled again. Thrak is merely a milder form of Discipline!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2011
Discipline may be a King Crimson Fan Favourite but it's never been one of mine, however I thought I would buy this as it's now issued in 30th Anniversary edition with a surround sound DVDA, and I have to say I now have new found respect for the album. 'Frame By Frame' may still suffer from a horrible choice of instruments Tony Levin's Chapman Stick for instance but this for me is a song that fully benefits the surround treatment and the extended dynamic range of a DVDA rather than CD the surround field extending the instrumentation and breathing new life into the album.
A true classic `Matte Kudasai', `Thela Hun Ginjitt' also sounds so much better in this new surround mix. So my congratulations to Robert Fripp and Steven Wilson for mixing new life into this album.
As an added attraction as well as the surround mix on the DVD you get some extras well a lot of extras, as follows:
Surround album MLP5.1 (96/24)
Surround Album DTS 5.1
Original Stereo Album MLP (96/24)
Original Stereo album PCM (48/24)
A host of rough mixes and outtakes in PCM (48/24)
Some bonus video tracks `Elephant talk' `Frame by Frame' and `indiscipline' from the Old Grey Whistle Test.
A CD of the new stereo mix which the 5.1 was based on.
Overall a big improvement over the original releases and all previous releases, and pretty much a definitive version of this album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Steven Wilson's DTS mix is hugely complimentary.
Its as if Chapman Stick was designed for 5.1. The opening notes of Elephant Talk just flood the room.

It's not the most accessible KC album, my Wife didn't like it but she likes West Life so her opinion is useless.
I liked this incarnation of KC and saw them on the Discipline tour in Guildford in the early 80s so I am a fan anyway, but you should buy this despite my obvious bias.

The SW/Fripp 40th Anniversary edition of Red is also excellent. I'm putting In the Court of the Crimson King on my shopping list.

And if this review ever gets Steven Wilson's attention: please could you talk with Chris Squire and do DTS mixes of Fragile, Close to the Edge, Tales from Topographic Oceans, Going for the One and Relayer. Nobody mixes DTS like you. I have all the PT albums in DVD-A and prefer them to vinyl/CD.

(BTW, Crimson King is a cider apple. I only found that out this week).
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Strange album. Im a big crimson fan but they have always been a most frustrating band to me. I dont think theres ever been another band who can go from the sublime to the ordinary and back again within the space of one album. All their albums suffer from this malady - this one being a prime offender

As usual- there is at least one monstrous crimson song on here which justifies the whole album and means that you simply must buy it. That track is 'indiscipline' which must be one the greatest songs this band have ever recorded. Truly otherwordly arrangements and as heavy as an elephant in concrete boots - This is an astonishing peice of music - it totally blew my mind when i first heard it - and this remaster makes it even more immense if thats possible

The rest....? well, crimson always have been a band that likes to go off on curves. Here though - i dont get it. sounds more like talking heads than crimson to me. exceptionally annoying early 80's bass-lines run through all the tracks (indiscipline excepted)and really grate. Fripps guitar lacks bite and the whole bunch of songs dont really go anywhere as far as im concerned

Again though - the track 'indisciple' being the exception. You should buy this album immediately just for this track, and especially in this remastered condition - totally off the scale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
King Crimson's `Discipline' was one of the ground-breaking albums of the 1980s. Robert Fripp for the first time brought in two fine young American musicians, Adrian Belew and Tony Levin, to join him and veteran KC drummer Bill Bruford in a reconstituted and for the first time guitar-dominated foursome.

The result is by turns mellow and energetic; complex, interesting and fun, it sounds nothing like the work of KC's previous incarnations. If you like the music of Talking Heads from the same period, you'll likely warm to it immediately. Lead vocalist Adrian Belew (you can't always describe what he does here with his voice as technically `singing') actually sounds like David Byrne in several places. Multiple guitar interplay weaves over inventive rhythms to form joyful conversations. It's more or less instantly accessible, as good on first hearing as on the hundredth.

On the 2011 remix, Steven Wilson and Robert Fripp again teach less skilled music producers the art of masterful remastering. The DVD is the star, featuring the album on MLP Lossless 5.1 surround & DTS 5.1 digital, and MLP Lossless & PCM stereo. The video content features performances of `Elephant Talk', `Frame by Frame' and `Indiscipline' from 2 different sessions for the BBC's Old Grey Whistle Test. Both the CD and the DVD feature extra tracks not on the original 1981 album release: `A selection of Adrian's vocal loops' and some new Steven Wilson mixes of `The Sheltering Sky' & `Thela Hun Ginjeet'.

Even if you have an earlier release of this album, the sound mix on the 2011 package is so exemplary that it's worth buying as well. If you don't have this truly great album in your collection, this is the one to go for.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2001
I was first introduced to King Crimson when this album was first released. I had heard of KC and saw them once on TV, but never really listened to them until I bought this one on vinyl. Since then, I have bought every album made by KC up to Thrak (which I haven't heard yet but will soon) and I still consider this one the best: taut; well-crafted; and very dark. It is by far their most consistent album. Most of the others have pieces I can "take or leave" interspersed with great prog. rock but this one is consistently good. It even has decent lyrical content, particularly Elephant Talk, something KC weren't exactly renowned for in their earlier works! Other albums belonging to the same period have their moments (try Neurotica, The Howler and Requiem from Beat! and Industry, Dig Me and No Warning from Three of a Perfect Pair) but this one is outstanding! I have to admit though, KC have never been easy listening and this one is no exception; not the easiest introduction to prog. rock! According to my late father "they sound like a demented cat!". Wonderful stuff!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
Discipline is the first of the trilogy of red, blue and yellow albums by the newly-reformed (at the time) King Crimson. It is probably the most satisfying also. Fripp split the power-rock combo at the height of its success in the early 'seventies and the new line-up introduced two americans, Adrian Belew and Tony Levin. The music changed accordingly. Originally the band was to be called Discipline but reverted back to Crimson after some initial gigs. The album itself features 7 solid tracks. Elephant Talk kicks proceedings off with Belew's clever but simple lyrics of alternative words from the dictionary for "talk". Frame by Frame is next featuring the new duelling guitars of Fripp and Belew in an intricate time signature. A romantic Matte Kudasai follows, slow and atmospheric with whirling bird sounds from the guitar. Indiscipline is THE classic Crimson track building from a slow quiet sense of security into the trademark devil's music. Thela Hun Ginjeet or (Heat in the Jungle)is a fast rocking industrial piece, and the pace slows again with The Sheltering Sky. This shows Bill Bruford's box tapping skills to the fore and also Belew's incredible guitar effects. Discipline closes proceedings, hinting back to Indiscipline earlier and contrasting the piece. All in all an album that should be in everybody's collection and a strong return for the Crimson King.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)