Buy Used
£1.95
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Die With Me Hardcover – 5 Jul 2007

4.0 out of 5 stars 39 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£0.50 £0.01
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus (5 July 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847241565
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847241566
  • Product Dimensions: 16.3 x 3.2 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,347,826 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

'A page-turning and assured debut in the vein of Ruth Rendell and P.D. James' Irish Independent. (Irish Independent)

'Fast-moving ... original and compelling' Sunday Times. (Sunday Times)

From the Inside Flap

For fifteen year old Gemma it is already too late.
Her body is found in the nave of a church in Ealing, west London. At first
all the signs were that it was a suicide. But then the autopsy suggests it
is not and Detective Inspector Mark Tartaglia and the Barnes murder squad
are called in.
For Tartaglia and his team it is just a matter of time before the tragedy
repeats itself.
Writing in the tradition of Ruth Rendell, P D James and Val McDermid, Elena
Forbes has created a team of police detectives who are as intriguing as
they are successful. And the world of west London is wonderfully realised -
from edgy, urban Hammersmith to middle class Ealing and over the Thames to
sleepy Barnes, a surprising location for the two London murder squads based
there.
Elena Forbes is the most exciting new British female crime writer to come
along in years.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
I read a lot of crime fiction and really enjoyed this debut book on holiday, which gives a chilling insight into the mind of a serial killer in an original and well-crafted fashion. The police duo who track the killer, DI Mark Tartaglia and DS Sam Donovan, are interesting non-stereotypical characters for the genre and the twists and turns of the plot kept me turning the pages well into the night.
1 Comment 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By J. Chippindale TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 13 July 2007
Format: Hardcover
Elena Forbes grew up in London. After gaining a degree in French and Italian at Bristol she worked in investment management for a number of international groups before committing to full time writing. She lives in London with her husband and two children. This is her first novel and she is already working on her second.

The blurb on the front of the book says if you like Ruth Rendell you will love this. Well for my sins I have never read any Ruth Rendell books so I could not compare it in that way. All I can say is that I thought the storyline and the writing were first-class. The reader, or certainly this reader, instantly takes to the lead character Detective Inspector Mark Tartaglia, whose personality one instantly seems to take a liking to. The book is a first class thriller and if you did not know that it is the author's first book, one would think she had been writing for years.
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I got about 200 pages in and stopped reading as it was becoming a chore to pick this book up. I was interested enough to see if I'd guessed correctly as to Whodunnit (I hadn't!) so I read the end - not something I normally do - and found it, um.....interesting!

I'm always on the look out for a new detective series. A lot of the books I've read recently have been debut novels. I would love to discover an already written series to get my teeth into and thought, at first, this might be it. There was the DCI with the anguished love life; the useless high-up police boss demoting the protagonist and bringing in an annoying superior; the sergeant, secretly in love with her boss and a good storyline - an older man befriending suicidal young girls online and 'helping' them to commit suicide.

But it just didn't move along fast enough for me. I couldn't connect with the characters and it was all a bit forgettable. This was the first in the series. I may read a later on at some point as this did have potential.

But it just didn't move quickly
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This novel starts quite well, but doesn't live up to its initial promise. The main problem is that the plot and characters are entirely predictable; indeed the identity of the murderer is so obvious that he may as well wear a t-shirt saying, 'It was me.' The ending of a whodunnit should at once surprise the reader, and make her think, 'but of course, why didn't I see that.' The ending of this novel fails on both counts; it manages to be both predictable and unconvincing.
And the characters are so dull, so stupid that you wouldn't want them doing anything more complicated than giving out speeding tickets.
The writer may be capable of writing a decent police novel, but this one is very disappointing.
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Cloggie Downunder TOP 500 REVIEWER on 30 Mar. 2015
Format: Paperback
Die With Me is the first novel by British author, Elena Forbes, and the first book in the Mark Tartaglia series. When an autopsy on the victim of an apparent suicide in a deserted London church raises questions about the death, DI Mark Tartaglia finds himself in charge of a murder investigation. From laborious examination of coroner’s records, it becomes clear that there are at least two, and possibly three, earlier victims. Emails, suicide notes, locks of hair, presence of GHB and other factors point to a serial killer.

With Tartaglia’s DCI in hospital following an accident, he and DS Sam Donovan are under pressure to produce results, but Tartaglia is infuriated when DCI Carolyn Steele is brought in to head the case. And even more annoyed when she brings in psychologist, Dr Patrick Kennedy as the profiler. Kennedy and Tartaglia have an adverse history on a previous case; Steele is also not as impartial about Kennedy’s role as would be wise. As more deaths occur, Tartaglia is also distracted from his work by his previous affair with pathologist, Dr Fiona Blake.

This is an excellent murder mystery that captures the feel of the west London suburbs and introduces a team of realistically flawed members of the Metropolitan Police force. While the astute reader may be able to determine the perpetrator and the source of various red herrings, this is, nonetheless, a page turner that will keep the reader enthralled to its gripping climax. Forbes leaves plenty of scope for further books in the series, and readers who enjoy this one will be pleased to know there are a further three (so far) to be savoured. An excellent debut.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This novel was reasonably well written although the plot was rather average. It did have a twist at the end and the characters were nearly believable. I found the author's style a bit girly and will not be buying any more of her books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
A teenager is found dead, in a suburban London church. At first it assumed that she commited suicide by throwing herself off the church's high balcony. However, as the death is investigated further, it appears that she may have been pushed. It is then discovered that other teenagers have recently died under similiar circumstances.

This book held my interest from the start. As police procedurals go, I thought that is was better than most. It reminded me a bit of the 'Tom Thorne' series of novels. I cottoned on as to who the killer was with around a third of the book still to go, but still found the ending full of suspense.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback