Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
132
3.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2017
This was hyped up, but sometimes that hype isn't lived up to in this movie. The zombies are good and there are some really great tense scenes but some bits, mainly the narration and the repetition of certain scenes can be tedious - this is why I didn't give it 5 stars. The acting is really good though - I love the professor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
This was far better than I expected. Not as good as the first ones but still worth watching. Its a zombie film but is done through a camera so its in a different aspect to the other films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
LIGHTNING FAST SHIPPING, WILL BE BACK FOR MORE 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
I enjoyed it, as I love Zombie films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Oh my! this is my darkest guilty pleasure hahaha, It's so bad in so many ways, But i love this, Movie B for sure!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
A group of students witness the beginning of a zombie apocalypse and capture every moment on a video camera.

If you're looking for new or different ideas, you won't find them here. This film is strictly by the numbers, not explaining how the apocalypse commenced or what happens to the survivors in the end. There is a lot of driving around from place to place, killing zombies and being bitten by zombies but not much else (eg. not a lot of character background or development).

This is quite an old film now and it really shows, with the camera being the biggest thing you have ever seen, and the students posting video on a My Space page. But it is better made than many cheapie zombie films made now.

Watch it with suitable expectations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
...as in you will either love it and get what Romero's trying to do, or hate the lack of action even by the standards of his other Dead movies. You're given "2-3 Nights of the Living Dead" as Romero goes all the way back to the beginning, Savini's cameo is a voiceover only and George himself pops up instead. In terms of recurring character archetypes we get the "Roger" from Dawn of The Dead. This indie film's concession to Hollywood is a handgun that never seems to run out of ammunition.

The whole combination of the Zombie Apocalypse with modern cameraphone culture and social networking, with the cast being students and their teacher, no problem with that. This isn't the first Romero movie where the humans are dislikeable and it's almost like he's rooting for the Zombies. However, making this lead character so over-the-top dislikeable and self-centered is a mistake as you end up caring less about the group and more about the people they meet along the way as they take to the road. Those encounters with other humans are more substantial than the end of the main action of the film where more than one character believes the camera takes precedence over fighting the Zombies. The proper ending loops you back into another of Romero's recurring themes which invokes shades of Tom Savini's 1990 remake of Night Of The Living Dead.

On this DVD Package - the extra 90-minute documentary about the 40th anniversary celebration of Night of The Living Dead is the icing on the cake and one of the best double DVDs ever released. Combined with all the extras for the modern film and the commentary on disc 1 it's almost three hours of extras. The commentary takes the form of a Skype conversation with the director in a different country to the editor and cinematographer but if they hadn't told you they weren't sitting in the same room you wouldn't have noticed, it hangs together very well and the film short enough to listen to it again after watching the film normally, which isn't something you would say about Lord of the Rings or other big epics. So if you're a fan, get this DVD, it's well worth it in a sale where it might drop to below £5. Otherwise if you like Zombie films with action, it's not for you unless you want the Night of the Living Dead anniversary documentary.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2008
If you're reading this it's more then likely you've seen a zombie film so you'll know what to expect. You'll have your unlikely group of survivors slowly dwindling in numbers, plenty of suspense and of course lots of blood and internal organs being used as zombie chew toys.

What you probably won't expect is to find yourself leaving the cinema with a lingering thought in your head at the closing line of the film. There aren't too many films I've seen recently that leave me with an afterthought and it was something I certainly wouldn't expect to find in a zombie film.

It's quite a modern twist in it's production values as you view the film through a film being produced by our lead, Joshua Close. In concept it's similiar to the Blair Witch Project but while that is more about suspense and your imagination here you're seeing plenty of action as the survivors decrease in numbers through foolishness and sheer bad luck.

The survivors themselves are reasonably likeable, a teacher and a group of students all trying to get back "home" as the chaos ensues around them. I was also slightly surprised at who survives the film which is never a bad thing. After all if you can guess who's going to end up dead upon seeing your survivor group it takes away that element of surprise any good film needs to hold your interest.

This is definitely an essential purchase if you're a lover of zombie and horror films in general and even worth a watch if you're just getting into horror films. There's quite a few amusing moments throughout the film and it doesn't take the route of becoming a needless gore fest like some other horror films.

Give it a watch and if you like it you've got the original series of The Dead films by Romero to go back and enjoy as well. To a lesser extent there's also two other modern re-makes of Dawn of the Dead and Land of the Dead to satisfy your urges as well.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)