Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars

VINE VOICEon 7 January 2009
The diary of Lady Murasaki is the court diary of the author of the Tale of Genji - an 11th century masterpiece of japanese literature. Although Murasaki Shikibu has been dead for over 1000 years this diary brings to life Murasaki and the imperial court. It recounts an important period at court with the birth of Empress Shoshi's first son. We are given details into court ceremonies, life, fashion, and attitudes. Excellent read, especially if you're interested in Japan.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
It is impossible, after finishing this beautiful book, to believe that Murasaki Shikibu has been dead for a thousand years - through her diary and poetry you sense a real human spirit.
The diary, and Murasaki herself, are even more appealing when contrasted against the grandeur and ritual of the Heian court she served.
The ceremonies, competitions, veneration of poetry and gorgeous colours and costumes are unbelievably vivid, intricate and fascinating.
Although the formality of the court seems alien to the modern world, Murasaki's observations give intimate glimpses of the characters of those involved, from Empress to serving-maid.
After finishing this book, you feel real regret. Read it and immerse yourself in a lost world.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
While England was ruled by Ethelred the Unready, the "Lady Murasaki" was creating a wonderful saga of the shining prince, The Tale Of Genji (Everyman's Library classics) This is the diary of her life at court, describing the clothes, the rituals and the behaviour of the Japanese court, 1000 years ago. The Excellent notes enhance this slim volume.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
really interesting if you like the history of Japan and want to understand more about the author of the Tale of Genji. Great pre-read to the masterpiece, will help you put things in context and understand where she got her inspiration from. Totally recommended for fans of Japanese literature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
I read the diary, then read the introduction and comments, which led me to re-read the diary with greater interest and insight. It's not "something sensational to read on the train" but if one is already interested in Lady Murasaki and the Heian period, then this slim volume is helpful. I'm currently reading Sei Shonagon's Pillow Book, and the two books fit well together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Magical insight into the world of feudal Japan. Beautifully written and can be dipped into and out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2016
Interesting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
A nice and interesting read.

It's not a masterpiece like Genji, but it gives you an entrance to a lost world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Good price. Arrived quickly. Cannot review it properly as it was a present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
It finally came after a wait of one and a half months! I guess it was worth waiting for, except I was hoping to use it as part of a paper I was doing. It did not arrive in time. I did the paper without it, but I would have preferred it if it had arrived on time.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)