Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon 12 February 2002
My family discovered Eva Ibbotson last year with Journey to the River Sea, and now we are all addicts. This is one of the best and funniest. An evil, snobbish pair of cousins want to terrify the heir of Helton Hall to death by renting ghosts from a ghost agency. Fortunately,the orphaned Oliver is sent a kindly family who comfort him and help him overthrow their wicked plot.
This story is hilarious, good-hearted, completely absorbing and told with a verve that makes it perfect to read aloud or to yourself. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2001
I loved this book It's about A ghost agency who finds homes for ghosts. Several days the agency is open for people who want ghosts to live with them and several days it is open for ghosts who want homes. The ghost family who it is mostly about died when a bomb was dropped on their home. It is a great book for all ages. I highly recomend it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Great, thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 18 March 2002
The idea of an agency for ghosts is a brilliant one, and the uses Ibbotson puts it to as thrilling as can be imagined. A wicked guardian plots to terrify the orphaned heir to a large gloomy castle to death, but meets with unexpected resistance when a nice ghost family is despatched instead of the ghouls he signed up for. Wonderful, entrancing story-telling, recommended for any nervous child of over 8.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Great story! I read the whole unputdownable book. No doubt, my nieces and nephews will love the book. I am going to get another book by same author, Eva Ibbotson. She is truly a gifted storyteller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
yet another beautifully written children's book from one of the best children's authors around. reading to my son is no longer a bit of chore since we discovered Ibbotson
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
What a fab, funny and entertaining read. My daughter has listened to this numerous times and still enjoys it. The characters are creative and the plot is original with a twist towards the end.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
What's not to like? It's Eva Ibbotson and the story is original and wonderfully written. My 8 year old loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Fantastic story but be warned quite gruesome in its ghost descriptions and needed some editing for my 8 year old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here