Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
157
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2017
Read this first about 30 years ago. It is an intriguing documentary of war against the the 'Left' really.
The vicious war in Indo China was fought in the main, by tough soldiers of the Foreign Legion. Their biggest problem being they were trained in desert warfare.
Second biggest problem their opponents were not only worse than or as bad as Nazis at their worst, but they knew how to manipulate the media.
Nothing new there then....
A fascinating record of a chapter of French history that they'd rather forget.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
A cracking read about events I knew little about. Ex SS in Vietnam fighting for the French.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
A Very good read excellent,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
This is an excellent story, somewhat controversial but they sorted the Viet Minh out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Excellent book, nice to learn about the history of Vietnam & the wars that followed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
All good. Quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Got this for a present for someone as he'd been saying he wanted it for a long time and he's since read it and said it was a great read and would definitely recommend. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
I know people have mixed feelings about this book and I found some of the incidents described a little far fetched. Maybe the real story could have been about how the German soldiers escaped post war and into France. A bit talkie at first, it started to grab me when the unit were going into China to take enemy camps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Thankfully I stumbled upon this book. Best book on war I have read in years
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse