Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 9 April 2017
A excellent medieval novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2003
This is the 13th in Michael Jecks’ series – all of which I have read with delight – set in the west country in the early 14th century. Anyone who enjoys either detective novels or historical fiction will find the two most beautifully fused and balanced in this series. In The Devil’s Advocate a number of things unaccountably disappear from Tavistock Abbey and before long a series of murders follow. Investigating both these affairs are the two key protagonist of each book in the series; Bailiff Simon Puttock and Sir Baldwin Furnshill, an ex Templar and now Keeper of the King’s Peace for the area. As always with Michael Jecks the historical period is vividly evoked, the plotting is devilishly clever and the characters are convincing, interesting and explored in some depth. At just under 400 pages this book, like its predecessors, is quite substantial – time enough to get fully absorbed into the early 14th century world and the intricate cross-relations of people and events that the story explores. Small wonder that Michael Jecks has attracted such reviews as: “The most wickedly plotted medieval mystery novels”(The Times) and “Tremendously successful” (Sunday Independent). My one caveat with this particular novel is that the first chapter is short of the normal sparkle. Nevertheless read this – or any other of the series – and I guarantee you will want to read them all. What more can I say!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Again a good read by Michael Jecks. Good well thought out plot line. A welcome return of the regular characters, who still can show their human frailties and personalities. An interesting story line that will have you on tenterhooks till the end.

As always enjoyable and entertaining, yet gives a real deep and accurate portrayal of what ordinary life was like away from the maestrom of the Court and the aristocracy.

Waiting for the next one
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Jecks does it again, the story keeps you going up until the last chapter and gives a good feeling of what it was like to live in these times.

Slowly adding all the books to my Kindle. I recommend the Knights Templar Mysteries to anyone who enjoys a good murder mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
I had a pleasant surprise when I read this particular story. As soon as it started I realised that it differed greatly from the previous stories. The Devils Acolyte is quite dark, and the quick and ready humour that normally accompanies Baldwin & Simon is not there. I felt sadness at first, but soon became entangled in the plot, and as a fellow reader so rightly said, "Sit up and pay attention". You really do have to concentrate just a little bit harder with this one, reading it bed is not easy! Mr Jecks has made things a little more difficult to follow. A triumph never the less and well worth the additional effort...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Happy to recommend to anyone who enjoys historical who dunnits. Well written and have now acquired all the kindle books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I always wanted some of these books and I enjoy reading them as one of my books or my kindle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
I am quite glad that the series is being republished in its entirety, paper and e-book. I have the entire series plus other Jecks works.
His primary source historical research is first rate and his ability to write a good and plausible story within the historical framework is terrific!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Michael Jecks is an excellent writer who's eye for historical accuracy is second to none. The Templar series is enjoyable and a thoroughly good read. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Brilliant story in the series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse