FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Desertion has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Desertion Paperback – 1 May 2006

4.0 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
£7.99
£3.88 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Desertion
  • +
  • Paradise
Total price: £16.98
Buy the selected items together

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



All Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC; New edition edition (1 May 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0747578958
  • ISBN-13: 978-0747578956
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.8 x 19.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 804,254 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

‘An absorbing novel about abandonment and loss … Gurnah writes beautifully’ -- Daily Telegraph

‘As beautifully written and pleasurable as anything I’ve read … Gurnah’s portrait is the work of a maestro’ -- Guardian

‘Impressive ... a careful and often heartfelt exploration of the way memory inevitably consoles and disappoints us’ -- Sunday Times

‘This novel movingly examines the absences eating away at the core of all of its characters’ -- Sunday Telegraph

From the Publisher

The breakthrough book from the highly acclaimed author of By the Sea. For fans of Ahdaf Soueif’s The Map of Love and Amitav Ghosh’s The Glass Palace

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 6 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWER
2 January 2006
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICE
23 November 2010
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?