+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Deserter's Songs Deluxe Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 41 customer reviews

Price: £16.55 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Deluxe Edition, 16 May 2011
£10.47 £7.19
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
12 new from £10.47 7 used from £7.19

Amazon's Mercury Rev Store

Frequently bought together

  • Deserter's Songs
  • +
  • All Is Dream
  • +
  • The Secret Migration
Total price: £28.08
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (16 May 2011)
  • Deluxe Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Deluxe Edition
  • Label: V2
  • ASIN: B004Q731RM
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Vinyl |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 41 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 183,576 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Holes
  2. Tonite It Shows
  3. Endlessly
  4. I Collect Coins
  5. Opus 40
  6. Hudson Line
  7. The Happy End (The Drunk Room)
  8. Goddess On a Hiway
  9. The Funny Bird
  10. Pick Up If You're There
  11. Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp

Disc: 2

  1. Piano Vs. Telephone (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
  2. Holes (Bill Laswell 1998 Remix)
  3. Pick Up If You're There (DJ Nickel 1998 Remix)
  4. Endlessly (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)
  5. A Soft Kiss (For Waking Up) (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
  6. Tonite It Shows (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)
  7. Looking Back Now, I Can See (Unreleased Mix)
  8. Opus 40 (Early Rough Version)
  9. Hudson Line (Early Rough Version)
  10. Judging By the Moon (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
  11. Goddess On a Hiway (1989 Cassette Tape Player Demo)
  12. Night On Panther Mountain (Unreleased Mix)
  13. Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp (Early Rough Version)

Product description

Product Description

Digitally remastered and expanded two CD edition of this 1998 album including a bonus disc with 13 rarities. A touching, majestic gem of a record, Deserter's Songs raises the bar not just for Mercury Rev themselves, but orchestrated Pop in general. There's a timelessness to both the compositions and the arrangements here. Grand sonic visions are realized with horns, keyboards, strings, even a bowed saw! No matter how big the sound gets, though, it's all carefully controlled, and the cinematic scope enhances the songs, rather than obscuring them. Simple-but never blunt-lyrics benefit from an infectious melodicism that speaks to the pop song craft skills Mercury Rev has mastered. The sweeping scale of Deserter's Songs never denies the small, intimate pleasures that pop up from song to song, as the band combines Psychedelia, '60s Pop, Flaming Lips-ish Indie Rock and a homey Folk-Rock sound (the Band's Garth Hudson and Levon Helm even appear here) for a masterpiece of epic proportions. V2.

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

25 March 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
11 August 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
14 June 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
8 September 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
27 January 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
16 April 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
26 May 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 December 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?