Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Well written and infrormative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
I bought this book for my dad for christmas. He well remembers the experience of being demobbed after WW2, and greatly enjoyed reading this excellent and well-researched book. He has only one minor quibble: the author doesn't distinguish between discharged and demobbed. Those demobbed were still liable for recall, and some were in fact recalled at the time of the Korean War, to their utter amazement and disgust. My dad thinks none of them actually went to Korea but replaced regulars who were sent there. He himself received a letter in about 1950-51 telling him that he was still in the RAF and should hold himself in readiness for recall, which fortunately never happened.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
This is a refreshingly short book but one that smacks of authenticity from cover to cover. It will particularly appeal to demob babies like myself (1947). I found the comment of the previous reviewer very interesting and something that I did not know about. My own Father was sent on a two week refresher course during the Korean War and I remember it well, particularly the present he brought me back. This book has just the right balance of anecdote and research and I recommend it without reservation.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
Alan Allport, born in England, moving to the United States in 1994, earned his doctorate in History and has become an expert on WWII; currently lecturing at Princeton.

We usually think of joyous reunions of returning servicemen from WWII, seamlessly re-entering peacetime jobs and wives happy to have them back. But a somewhat darker image lies just beneath the surface, and Alan Allport explores this in seven chapters packed with details that are disturbing.

Allport correctly concentrates on the experiences of the demobbed men, and does not cover the British auxiliary forces (ATS, WRNS, WAAF), which story is so different in key respects, that they cannot be covered in a book that concentrates on the experiences of men.

Most popular accounts of demobbed soldiers are anecdotal in style, and some historians still believe demob to be non-problematic, according to Allport. Thus, this writer brings to the table a careful examination of original primary source material, including court documents and press accounts of the period.

Allport's startling revelations come in 7 chapters. Chapter 1, servicemen were anxious to return home, and when it didn't come soon enough, insubordination broke out. The Bevin demob plan was based on a simple formula, with realistic expectations that were generally accepted. With the Labour Party newly installed, political promises of a quick demobilization were short-lived. Some bored airmen, awaiting demob, went on strike. Chapter 2 details how back home, the homecoming became passé...coming home slowly and anonymously, after many had had fantasies of reunion: the cozy vision of his wife, waiting in a bright apron, a hot cup of tea in her hand. It was not to be. Soldiers returning to "Civvy Street," returned to a lunar-type landscape with over 200,000 houses totally destroyed or damaged, resulting in families having to move in with in-laws or desperate homelessness. With disconnect between reality and fantasy, family life became unglued. Pop psychology handbooks became a new cottage industry, with tabloid "agony aunts" giving advice to writers. Demob fears accelerated the British embrace of this new therapy culture. The reality was that husbands and wives barely knew each other; they were perfect strangers. The men knew what they had been through, but they didn't realize what their wives had experienced. The author has done an excellent job detailing wartime living conditions. Children were especially vulnerable, not only those evacuated out of cities of risk from bombing, but others who developed a certain independence and grew up in the six years of war to see their mother as head of the home. Adultery is the subject of Chapter 3. In the first 18 months following the war, every Sunday, a major British paper reported at least 1 story about a demobbed man killing or assaulting his errant wife or her lover; and these were not the Agatha Christie-style polite poisonings in the vicarage. These attacks were brutal: soldiers garroting, shooting, and bludgeoning their wives. Broken promises and shameful secrets were revealed, resulting in violence, especially when their wives had fallen in love with American GI's. We see that the crime wave was not all on the British side of the English Channel. Allport shares information in the popular press of the time, especially what was going on in the British Occupation Zone (BOZ) of Germany: titillating scandals of sexually fraternizing ("fratting") between Brits and German women. Brothels in Cairo, Egypt and Naples, Italy are detailed. Chapter 4 explores the lack of gratitude for demobbed servicemen. Shops and homes are dirty/unpainted; blackout curtains are still hung; the countryside was pitted by tank-traps and barbed wire. And the people are changed: tense, stressed, weary, dressed shabbily. Soldiers found the general public mood tense, weary. Expecting a hero's welcome was pushing his luck. The "demob suit" is explained: a complete civilian wardrobe given to returning soldiers...which becomes a badge of shame as the public is far from impressed with the suits' gaudiness. In Chapter 5, the author rightly points out that many historians have ignored the soldiers' return to work after their tragic and traumatic interruptions of war. The return to "Civvy Street" was not seamless. Many who had ambitious plans during the war had, with no educational training upon their return, no alternative but to take dull jobs. In contrast, the author relates the different approach in the United States: the use of the GI Bill with provisions for educational training. Britain had some few higher-educational opportunities for the demobbed, but they were simpler, cheaper, and less ambitious. Chapter 6 illustrates that crime became the alternative answer for soldiers who craved the excitement, money, and opportunity, and could not find in civilian life. Allport also includes a separate section in this chapter to "Nicking"...stealing for a living, both in England and in Europe. Chapter 7 gives insight into the PTSD of the demobbed, and the "barbed-wire disease" of the returning POW's. These problems, more clearly recognized in the U.S. Army, made for disastrous homecomings. Many didn't receive the needed counseling; for them, demobilization never really ended, because for them, the war never ended.

Allport closes with an "Epilogue" which brings us up to date with an assessment of how the years had to pass for some WWII vets to work through their frustrations/PTSD. I am impressed with his comparison of the American experience and the lost opportunity of the British. Now in the 21st Century, the author correctly assesses the current status of the British military. Service personnel returning from duty in Ulster, Falklands, Gulf War, Iraq, and Afghanistan over the past 30 years, have too often been unhappy ones, and the support network they need to manage the transition back to "Civvy Street" has been found wanting. 1 prisoner in 10 in a British jail is an ex-serviceman; among the homeless, 1 in 4. Young men who have served in uniform are three times more likely to commit suicide than their peers. The book ends with an appeal to have this problem addressed for the happiness of future generations of Britons. Highly recommended for readers on both sides of the "Pond."
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
I bought this book as my father was in Burma during the 2nd world war and was actually awarded a Military Cross for bravery.
I did not see him until I was nearly 5yrs old and we always had an uncomfortable relationship until his death in 1975. I found reading this book very emotional as I experienced very similar feelings to the ones portrayed in chapter 2 (so you're back then). I was terrified of this strange man who appeared one day as to me my Dad was someone who wrote letters and sent the occasional parcel from abroad.I was just starting to get to know him when he died at 63 and I found I missed him far more than I ever thought I would. So to anyone who was born during the war and had a father fighting abroad I urge you to fead this book. Thank you to Alan Allport for writing it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
What's so good about this book is not only the amount of research and sheer hard work that's gone into it, it's the ability of the author to leave absolutely no stone unturned; he takes the perspective of the serviceman returning home from conflict of course, but also the type of welcome awaiting him, sometimes effusive but often, none at all.

Alan Allport has examined the wives (often faithful but sometimes not), the children and the serviceman's pre-war employers and contemporaries - plus officialdom. All of them had differing views on the returning serviceman's lot, plus their own.

Many of those left behind during the conflict suffered deprivations of their own and were sometimes unsympathetic to the plight of the soldier who also experienced trauma of a different nature. This could vary with sarcastic comments from the reserved-occupation type: " ... of course, you fellows in the Services had all the good food!" to the crass, "So, you're back then", the latter comment being particularly poignant.

Little wonder the men who had seen six years of war found it difficult to adjust to peacetime; and of course, some never did.

This is an exceptionally well-written book - I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2011
you wonder how anyone could've made it, you wonder if the war at home was greater than than the war abroad, you realise that we're at war with ourselves as much as anyone else, that experience shapes personality and that it then runs on in generations; the story of Stan alone coming home with his sten gun welled me with an emotion that still resonants.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Having read a few WWII novels and seen many films from that era, as well as hearing about those times from my parents and other relatives, there was still much to be learned by reading this book. Although the details of my previous information sources had given me a lot of understanding of those times, there is a lot that has been swept aside, possibly deliberately forgotten, about the tremendous adjustment that men and women and their families had to go through when the war ended.

So far I have only read a part of this book, but it appears to be a good blend of a detailed academic work and very down to earth personal accounts of real life experiences, with many quotes from letters, diaries and newspaper articles of the day. Brings to life the hardships, joys and realities of the aftermath of war.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Detailed, absorbing, authentic.

Bought for research on the period, and little written about the experiences, and the expectations, of these men who had served and returned home to less-than-enthusiastic welcomes, at least by today's standards. A handshake seemed to be the norm, then chasing around after the job you left behind.

One veteran captain (if I recall correctly) applied for the job of bicycle messenger. The application letter is heartbreaking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed this book and gained a lot from it. The homecoming issues are often overlooked when researching/reading about the second world war. Allport gives a clear and easy to understand insight into the difficulties faced by returning servicemen and their families. I would recommend this for academic and enthusiast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)