Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 May 2017
A classic Sci Fi adventure! Absolutely brilliant! Really well conceived and written. A bunch of 'ordinary' people (as ordinary as space pilots and engineers go) come together and experience high adventure in deep space. The characters are great - interesting and easily believable. The start of the book does not immediately reveal its quality, but keep reading - it gets better and better! The plot is very interesting - lots of twists and turns and unexpected events. I especially appreciated the lack of over-spectacular drama - it is not necessary to overdo the blood and violence, bad language and horror, and a perfectly enjoyable adventure results. I very much enjoyed this book and will be reading more from E.R. Mason. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2016
I don`t know what sort of story the author was trying to write here. The first half of the book was all about crew recruitment and practice sessions in the spaceship, this led to a storyline of sorts which ended with our heroes flying away and was never referred to again. A main character was killed off in another chapter only to miraculously re-appear later. The oblgatory mis-fit nasty was there too, up to his nefarious schemings - but guess what? - he turns out to be a nice guy after all! This meaningless and pointless switching of sub-plots in whichever direction the author`s whim took him just goes to show how lacking in a main plot it was. The discovery of another Earth went beyond any rhyme or reason and again went nowhere, to say this was ridiculous is to underplay it`s bewildering, pointless inclusion. The Science Fiction genre was strangled, pulped and stamped on with this travesty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2015
I really liked this book and it was a good follow on from the 1st in the series, sort of. It followed on in the sense that it was some of the same characters, in the same 'universe' with the same aliens. The 'sort of' comment comes from the fact that the feel of the book and its intensity was different from the first.

There were a few things that just didn't feel right to me, [spoiler alert] the whole identical twin thing. I get the whole concept of it but why was Tain's twin alive at the time of his visit when it could have been anytime since the planet was populated?!?

Apart from that though it was good. Although the final outcome to Doc was very predictable.

Or already started reading the next in the series, so you know it a good enough book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2018
Good complex yarn, well written with good characters. The only criticism is that is is very slow to 'take off'. So much so that I almost gave up. It takes seventeen chapters before we set off for our adventure! Once we get to chapter 17 the plot gets going. My advice to the author is to cut down on the first 16 chapters, you may lose a lot of readers before they get to the good bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2015
This was well written and held my attention throughout. However, it was not very original in the story line or the contents. The author referenced 'Star Trek' a couple of times, but it seemed like several rip offs from Stargate as well. The interactions between the crew were very superficial and could be developed in more detail. There were several references to the women 'manning' situations and amazement that the choice of female crew was unexpected. I would suggest that both of these references give a good indication of old fashioned thinking which I find a little out of date. The supposed death of a crew member seemed to be lifted straight from Star Trek NG but the ending seemed to reflect the syrup seen in US films. But the ending leaves an opening for future books, hopefully with a little more inventiveness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2016
Easy to read book, with some interesting ideas and starts off well. However the book is a bit of a dud firework, it starts to fizz but then dies out.
There was some unnecessary material put into the story like when the crew briefly stopping on a planet and the Doc gets swallowed up by some creature ..whats was the value of that episode in the book, how did that add to the story?? after spending so much time on the build up, the story ends rather quickly and everyone lives happy ever after (including the Doc)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2017
A really good plot. Strong characters. It has enough references to the current day and immediate past space race to make it sound plausible. It even has some speech taken from Star Trek. No beaming up but look out for "make it so". Even the language used is nicely grammatical. Is there a Deep Crossing II? I hope so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2016
For the first half of this book I thought we were in for a near rerun of the first book of this series, the Griffin coming across a ship supposedly adrift in space and the rest was going to be another fight for survival, but I was wrong although I still feel the ship adrift was a means of stretching out the book. Awaiting the next adventure with Tarn and RJ.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2016
The Griffin crew, cooped up together in a unique spaceship heading on a twelve month mission to retrieve a Naisebian ship that was lost two thousand years ago. The story tells of the highs and lows of a fantastic adventure to new worlds. The author takes us on a roller coaster ride of danger and wonder as the crew 'Boldly go where no one has been before'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2016
I gave this TWO stars as I thought the plot had promise. However the author doesn't really paint a good world-scape (Neal Asher, Asimov, Larry Niven are the masters). There was nothing that really hooked me in or made me curious.

It really feels like cheap TV movie on the SyFy channel. Not sure what the target audience is here in terms of age but the dialogue is very basic/borderline young-teen? The characters are also very two-dimensional and very dull.

I made it to 10% on the Kindle and gave up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse