Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2007
Another great Woodrell novel with more weight to it than "Give Us a Kiss". You follow the life of Shug an overweight kid living a hard teenage existence with his damaged mum and "crime spree" Dad. Woodrell creates empathy with ease and as Shug's mum lurches from one crisis to another, with Shug following into a world of danger and risk, you stay glued for the ending. Woodrell has written more exciting stories, and more dramatic ones, but this book has an Ozark "Roddy Doyle" about it that is greatly enjoyable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2001
Another breath-taking novel from one of America's greatest living writers. This man has not written a bad book. How many writers can say that? Since reading the fantastic "Give Us A Kiss" a few years ago, I've devoured them all, and can honestly say that no writer has so consistantly given as much pleasure.
As with all his works the characters are astonishing in their complexity without ever being overwritten. The dialogue is a joy to read, and the story unfolds at a perfect pace, tricking you into believing you're reading a simple tale of down-on-their-luck individuals before branching out in ways that leave you breathless.
This is a short novel, but one that will linger in your mind for weeks afterwards. I can't praise it highly enough. Do yourself a favour and get into Daniel Woodrell, because once you do you'll wonder why you didn't start years ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
Daniel Woodrell is a tremendous writer. I came to his books via "Winter's Bone" - I bought a dodgy DVD in the pub...didn't work...so: bought the book, while I waited for official DVD release.
"Winter's Bone" took me to "Tomato Red", then "Muscle For The Wing". Each book helped convince me of his talent.Not a wasted word; dialogue that is so real; tragedy around the corner.
"The Death of Sweet Mister" continues these threads. It is not unlike knowing a car crash is coming; but, still you have to look. No good, or redemption, can come from the tale - but still the pages are turned. The reader is in a vise-like grip.
No Exit Press have done a magnificent job, publishing his work. The large font; superb cover illustration; and heavy paper, all combine to make reading his books an almost visceral experience.
Read him - you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
this guy woodrell gets better and better, really good story and possibly one of the most devastating and shocking of last chapters. didnt see that coming despite the close mother/son relationship throughout. now off to purchase more daniel woodrell. god bless and damn the ozarks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
Dark and disturbing, but completely compelling, I gradually came to understand why my library has this filed under "Crime"! Shug narrates the story of how he and his flirtatious bibulous young mother live. They're on the edge of society, tipping into lawlessness, surviving but only just. Shug becomes the ransom to fortune demanded by Red, his mother's off-on lover, a violent druggie, about whom a fable exists that he's Shug's father. Eventually Shug shifts his pudgy ass to take power over the spiralling situation. Not a nice denoument, I'm afraid, deeply shocking. But the writing compensates for the distaste you'll feel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2007
The first Daniel Woodrell book that I had read, and from the first page I was hooked. A heartrending story told in the sparest of prose, but every character perfectly drawn. I read it in one sitting and have since read two more titles, both written in the same pared down, accessable style. I don't know how well regarded or known he is in America, but he certainly deserves to be better known in the U.K. Read it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Anyone who likes Daniel Woodrell will love this book. It arrived in good time from the seller and was in excellent condition, no complaints whatsoever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
fantastic bargain quick delivery first class all rounf
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
If you read this book because you were bowled over by the beautiful movie `'winter bone'' then you may be in from a disappointment. Bad writing. Save your money and enjoy it as a movie, if they can figure out how make one from it. But if D lehane thinks its great then I should have know better ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse