Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
11
3.8 out of 5 stars


on 22 July 2017
My grandson loves this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I will admit to being a bit disappointed in this book. It's very sweet and has the lovely standard of illustration familiar to 'Dear Zoo' readers. But it is basically cashing in on the popularity of the proper story. I'm less than convinced about the value of the 'shape' elements, and it's disappointing that around the vaguely animal-shaped pages the story has been cut down to a scant 5 lines (as a toddler book, it was never exactly 'War and Peace'!).

Inside the hardback binding of the book are 8 board book pages with large pictures of animals on them, each animal occupying its own page. The pages have been vaguely cut around the shapes of the animals on their 3 unbound edges. Due to the nature of the cut-outs you get the same animal pictured on both sides of the page. The first side of the animal has its name printed on it, while legends 'too big', 'too tall', etc. are printed on the back. I'm not as keen on this as I could be. The pictures are nice and a good size, but by scaling all the animals to full page size it makes it a bit difficult for little children to see the reasons for sending the animals back to the zoo: the frog and puppy end up the same size as the elephant and giraffe!

The structuring of the last page in the book - which summarises the plot of 'Dear Zoo' - is a bit confusing, saying that all the animals were sent back... then contradicting this with a statement about having kept the puppy.

It's a pretty toddler book, and it has nice illustrations. But it's very much an adjunct to 'Dear Zoo' and does nothing in terms of teaching about shapes/sizes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rod Campbell's original 'Dear Zoo' book has been a massive hit with my two-year-old for at last a year. He loves the lift-the-flap aspect to it and enjoys identifying all the animals. This new book is a spin-off and just features cut-outs of the animals with the words 'too big!', 'too jumpy!' etc. It's a nice bright board book with the same attractive illustrations as the original. Unfortunately it's not engaging enough for my son now as he needs something with a bit more complexity. For a younger child, though, I wouldn't hesitate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is a firm family favouite. I got this edition for my 1yr old nephew and he loves it. The thick board the book is made from is durable and the colors are great. For those of you who dont know the story the child has written to the zoo for a pet but everything they send is wrong... the giraffe is too tall the snake to scaly ect... untill they send a puppy which is just right.
You cant go wrong with this pre-school story for 1-4 yr olds. especially for the price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'm afraid this book is cashing in the series' popularity. The original are funny and of good quality, this one is dull. The essence o the book is given here on amazon; too big, too small and that's about it. Buy the original instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Given that this book is called "Animal Shapes" I'd expected some shapes - ie squares, triangles etc.

In fact the only "shapes" are the shapes of the pages which are cut out approximately around the shape of the animals - eg the elephant page is very roughly elephant-shaped. There's no shapes which I could use as a teaching aid for my toddler.

It's an attractive but very basic board book. On each page there is a picture of an animal and its name, on the reverse, a description - eg "too big", "too naughty" etc until you get to the puppy which is "perfect!".

My son has the lift the flap version of the book and I vastly prefer it. It's more entertaining. The "shapes" version adds nothing so I would recommend sticking with the original.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The original Dear Zoo is a phenomenally popular book with its lift up flaps and clear illustrations. This edition is a board book aimed at younger children than the original was. I'd say it's suitable for babies from about nine months to one year onwards but possibly even earlier. The quality of the illustrations is as good as in the original with clearly recognisable animals all with a friendly expression on their faces. The title is a little misleading as I had expected some reference to shapes: triangles, circles etc but instead each page is cut in the rough shape of the animal. On one side of the page is the picture of the animal with its name and when you turn over to the other side there's a mirror image of the picture along with a short phrase explaining why it's not suitable to be a pet: too big, too tall, too fierce etc.

The subject matter is ideal for very young children, it's sturdier than the original and the different shaped pages will make it very easy for little fingers to turn the pages.

I think this is a good addition to the series. It's aimed at younger children than the original and has much of its charm. I can see it being very popular with parents and babies/toddlers alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 April 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My 2 year old loves his dear Zoo but this is not the best edition. It is basically the same as the standard Dear Zoo but the pages are animal shaped not square and half of the words are missing.

Instead of the text

"So they sent me a camel. But he was too grumpy so I sent him back."

is the text: "too grumpy"

A bit dull and really loses the mad charm of the original. The humour of these animals arriving, being unsuitable and being sent right back is totally lost on this edition.

The 2 year old prefers the original, and so do I.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 July 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My daughter really likes this book and its lack of any words allows free rein to make up stories and the like. She does also have the electronic version Dear Zoo Noisy Book and it is generally the noises from this that she makes as she looks at the picture only version.

On the other hand this cardboard version without flaps or sounds is very much more robust.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An excellent board book aimed at the very young child before they are old enough to look at the full story. The pages themselves are shaped and so easy for the young child to turn over.
Lots of bright colours to hold the child's attention. A good introduction to a few animals all with happy faces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here