£17.99
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 4 images

Dear Lucy Hardcover – 25 Apr 2013

4.0 out of 5 stars 15 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£17.99
£15.00 £235.80
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£17.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (25 April 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444767585
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444767582
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 10,017,015 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

DEAR LUCY introduces a young writer with a most original voice and a tenderly eccentric vision. Julie Sarkissian has created a boldly lyrical, suspenseful, and mysterious fictional world in this striking debut novel. (Joyce Carol Oates)

Gloriously intimate, full of strangeness and striking sentences that made me stop and savour Lucy's world. (Alison Moore, Booker Prize shortlisted author of The Lighthouse)

DEAR LUCY is about keeping promises against huge odds. This gorgeous novel does exactly that: the opening pages promise transcendent writing, remarkable characters, and a slowly unfolding mystery. But what happened and why is only part of what keeps you reading . . . Both whimsical and profound, DEAR LUCY wins your heart on the very first page and delivers it back, fuller and slightly cracked, on the last. (Charlotte Rogan, New York Times bestselling author of The Lifeboat)

Lucy is a heroine with a unique voice who offers a deeply engaging view of her world. The desperate journey Lucy embarks on is compelling - she carries us along with her every step of the way. The reader can see what Lucy can't, and the skilful depiction of her naivety contrasted with the intentions of those around her makes us care about her all the more. This is a novel which explores a variety of themes such as motherhood, life force, choice, faith and personal morals. DEAR LUCY is a rewarding and compulsive novel, written in a beautiful, at times poetic style. I fell in love with Lucy on the first page, and am still thinking about what's happening to her now, even after the last page has been turned. (Jess Richards, author of Snake Ropes, shortlisted for the COSTA First Novel Award)

An incredibly accomplished debut. Brave, beautifully written and above all big-hearted. I loved it. (Sarah Rayner, bestselling author of One Moment, One Morning and The Two Week Wait)

In DEAR LUCY, Julie Sarkissian has accomplished what many veteran novelists never achieve: a startlingly original work that is also profound and wise in the vagaries of the heart. What an amazing debut. (Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena and The Cove)

Julie Sarkissian has written a rare and precious novel - moving, captivating, and expertly written in a voice unlike any other. DEAR LUCY is full of characters who are heartbreakingly human; full of hope, desperation, love and joy. You'll want to linger over the poetry of each and every sentence, but the foreboding mystery looming on the horizon will keep you turning the pages of this hauntingly beautiful book. (Haley Tanner, author of Vaclav & Lena)

Hypnotic and mesmerizing. This is gothic noir that is full of heart and pathos. Lucy's lyric voice comes barreling off the page, and you will be utterly transfixed by the twists and turns of her journey. Sarkissian is a brilliant young writer who has written one of the most memorable debut novels in recent years. (Gabe Hudson, author of Dear Mr. President)

Julie Sarkissian has written the most original and stunning debut novels I have read in a long time. DEAR LUCY is one of those rare delights that you cannot put down, and once you do, you can't forget. (Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Thread and The Knitting Circle)

An ambitious debut expresses different versions of maternal need through three female voices . . . Sarkissian describes desperation on one side and deceived otherworldliness on the other as Lucy's interior landscape is revealed as a struggle for comprehension, memory and expression, lit with shafts of insight and fantasy . . . A daring mix of thriller, whimsy and intense emotional portraiture. (Kirkus)

Book Description

The debut novel from a brilliant new voice in contemporary fiction. With its quirky, enchanting narrator, DEAR LUCY is perfect for fans of Room and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 30 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 July 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?


Look for similar items by category