Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2009
Is there no end to HBO's brilliance in drama. The Sopranos, The Wire and now Deadwood have all raised the bar in terms of television drama. Gritty, realistic, brutal, absorbing and very atmospheric. This is one of the greatest television productions that I had ever seen.

To fully appreciate and to fully understand and enjoy Deadwood; you need to watch the very first episode. Something that I failed to do when I first tried watching Deadwood. Becuase of this; I struggled to get into the story and the characters. However, once I saw the very first episode I found this hugley enjoyable.

Well written, fantastic acting and the whole production has you believing that your watching real-life events from the old American-west. Sometimes, due to accents and a certain old way of talking; Deadwood can be a little hard to follow, but after a while it becomes easier.

Once I watched season one .... I emmediately ordered season 2 and 3 off Amazon; and I cant endorse Deadwood enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Mostly, all the characters are in place. This first episode is establishing who's who.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Although the first few episodes are a lot to be desired, once you engage with the various characters and the story line, i was hooked, highly entertaining and amusing in parts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
American TV has really come out with some classics recently, like Desperate Housewives, Nip/Tuck, etc. But from out of all the glossiness comes Deadwood, a truly grimy and gritty show that deserves attention. As a fan of westerns, Deadwood seems to me to be the biggest boost to this dying genre since Unforgiven, which can only be a good thing. The style of the show is bleak, but convincing. For a good description of the style, check out the Amazon review. Suffice to say, you will be either strongly supporting or cursing the different characters as the story continues, and doing both to Ian MacShane's character of Al Swearengen, who is by far and away the most gripping villain in any TV show (sorry Nina). Anyway, buy it. The first episode is uncharacteristically slow as it lays the plot foundations down, but by the time I reached the second disc I couldn't stop watching. The lack of extras is a bit dissappointing, especially considerig the American boxset had a whole heap of extras. Regardless, with material this good, Deadwood is a great buy anyway.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
Wow, Deadwood. This is a serial that really kicks your a*se. The writing and scripting of each character is phenomenal, the acting by all members both principal and background is unwavering, forthright and utterly engaging.
The plot lines are strong and interwoven through each other - the writer David Milch really is a genius. The language maybe coarse - but then again I hardly imagine a town without law in the midst of a full-blown (excuse the pun) gold rush is not going to be for the lilly-livered!
Deadwood is brutal in its unflinching portrayal of the cut-throat (literally) daily life of this town. This series and the current second one too are not just mere surface drama and titilation, the stories are deep and though-provoking and in some areas - because of the style of language spoken (and I don't mean the swearing) you have to be quick to understand everything that's being spoken in order to follow the twists and turns.
The plaudits that have been reigned over this series really are justified.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2007
I highly recommend this series. It's more character driven than plot driven and because of this can feel slower than other modern tv series at times, but the writing and acting are excellent. The characters are so well thought out and the set is amazing. If you have the rental plan, then put this on it because you won't be disappointed. However, be warned, if you're easily offended by swearing, nudity or violence, then this definitely isn't for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2006
Possibly the best re-creation of true western life and spot-on dialogue ever put on screen. The script writing is perfection, subtle and very witty. Yes, there is a lot of profanity but that is part of the point. One of the finest examples of production design and character work ever put on TV. In fact, better than almost every western feature as well. Up there with the Wild Bunch, Unforgiven and The Searchers. Don't hesitate. Buy it, watch it and be astounded. Fantastic in EVERY way!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 June 2007
Can I just quote an earlier reviewer (Nobby Yates, see below): "A masterclass in screenwriting, beautiful TV cinematography, Shakespearean-like storylines, a clever fusion of fact and fiction, a strong core of characters, top-class acting, and an aura of authenticism make Deadwood S1 a must watch/buy".

That is right on the money. Deadwood is an absolutely stunning serial that oozes quality. The first thing you need to get over quickly is the language, as a viewer and as a reviewer. This is the most eye-watering script you will have ever encountered - it makes Goodfellas look like Lovejoy. But the language used is also really sophisticated and beautifully used - it IS very Shakespearean at times, most noticably of course during the soliloquies, when Swearengen or Farnum are postulating to themselves about the various plots. I must confess to watching it iwth subtitles switched on - because there is so much nuance and complexity in the script that you do not want to miss.

The collection of characters are just wonderful and rich - I know this is an overused term in reviews these days but this really is an ensemble piece. There are no weak characters - each is fully rounded and given due attention from the peripheral crippled floorsweeper Jewel, via just wonderfully acted characters like the local newsman Merrick, the toadying hotellier Farnum, the excitable Chinaman Wu, the enigmatic and grumpy Charlie Utter, the imposing saloon rival Cy Tolliver all the way to the kingpin Al Swearengen. Women, it struck me, are particularly well written for in Deadwood too. I think if I had to pick out any relatively weak performances in the whole series I'd have to go for former marshal Seth Bullock and upper class widow Alma Garrett, both of whom are a little one-dimensional and unconvincing at times.

I was a fan of Ian McShane's acting before this show but the marriage of McShane and the role of saloon/whorehouse keeper and underworld ruler of Deadwood Al Swearengen is one made in TV heaven. The first time you watch Deadwood Swearengen is a arch villain, an unscrupulous, heartless but clever gangster. But watch the series twice and you start to realise how complex he is, how compassionate, intelligent, trustworthy and just. He kills for mercy and for what's right as much as for financial gain or political expediancy. He berates and humiliates Jewel for being a cripple, yet still he employs her despite her inefficacy when others presumably wouldn't.

Similarly, the first time you watch Deadwood the overwhelming mood you'll detect is one of an uncomfortable scheming, brooding, murderous anarchy. The more you watch however you begin to see that it can be an ordered even hopeful place. It also is filled with moments of genuine comedy with pathos and running gags aplenty. The sets are wonderful, the photography beautiful and the research and energy there for all to see. TV of the very, very highest class.
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
Buy this and you hit the motherlode.

A masterclass in screenwriting, beautiful TV cinematography, Shakespearean-like storylines, a clever fusion of fact and fiction, a strong core of characters, top-class acting, and an aura of authenticism make Deadwood S1 a must watch/buy. It's probably the greatest set of 12 episodes in recent TV history: Feed your sci-fi, comedy, Lost and 24 box sets to Woos pigs.

The downsides?

The language is about the fruitiest you'll hear from a TV drama. Not one for listening with mother.

The knowledge that the final season, S4, has been canned in favour of two 2 hour TV movies, is a huge disappointment: HBO have let down all current and potential fans. You'll watch this, S2 and S3 and then think, I've been cheated by HBO. Shot in the back.

Just start with S1 and enjoy the ride while it lasts. Pure gold.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.99
£19.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)