Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2015
The first couple of chapters were promising but it deteriorated rapidly and I had to concentrate in order to avoid drifting off, which is never a good sign. The characters were shallow and the unraveling of the cumbersome plot seemed to take forever. Sorry, I couldn't engage with this story at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Nice little book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Boring, gave up after a chapter or two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I thought this was a good first in a series murder mystery. I liked the lead character and I felt it was well written. The reason I didn't rate it higher was that even though the book was a decent length, I felt that apart from the lead I didn't get to know the characters very well. I would still recommend it as the story is very good. I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
The story starts with the birthday party of Straker the owner of The Toy Company all his empolyees are to attend he's not a man to be ignored. But with the sudden death of his wife during the magicians show and the mystery begins suicide or murder. Grace his employee is asked by Straker to investigate. The start of the book was very confusing to many characters all at once gave up after the first 40pages don't like being defeated so went back to it. It did get better, a light mystery, with a twist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
This is a 5star book with a 5star cast.kept me guessing till the end and that is hard to do,cause I read that many books I usually have it solved in a few chapters,well done xxx
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really like the Cozy Mystery type of story and this was no exception. I was disappointed to discover who the murderer was but not unduly surprised as I had wondered about the person in question a few times. Plenty of fast paced action and a real page turner. The boss of the company where Grace Holliday works is not a likeable character and reminded me strongly of Scrooge. Magic illusions are a key part in this detective story but I won't say how they save the day as this would spoil things. If you enjoy easy read mysteries that aren't too nail bitingly scary then you will enjoy this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
I seriously could not put this down but at the same time read it slow to make it last. It starts well and finishes brilliantly- it has it all. Great characters, action, drama, suspense and mostly -the mystery! Characters are great and you actually cant figure out who it is thats committed all the murders. I would pay full price fir this and yet it was free! Read a few other titles by this author and she's great- this book being the best. Love the magic concept. Easy, cozy, brill book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Pleasantly surprised. There were a lot of people and relationships to get my head around but the plot was pretty good. I did guess the baddie before the end but it didn't really spoil the story. Well written and certainly entertaining. Kind of book you would take on holiday or long journeys or, as in my case, read in bed before lights out. Sounds as if the heroine repeatedly gets herself into mysteries and other scrapes and it was good enough to make me think about reading another.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
I loved the plot, it was a real page turner, lots of suspense and intrigue and twists and turns. I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 because the characters lacked a bit of depth, it felt very much like a stage play rather than a novel, which was fun, but did not help in relating to the characters. I like a bit more description and detail. However, the story telling was exciting enough to make me want to read more by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse