Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2017
I keep praising each book from James Oswalds series of the Tony McLean novels but with good reason. They are page turners, I can't put them down. I'm getting through the series at a rate of knots simply because they are that enthralling I don't want to stop reading. The plots hold you and there is an element of spooky thrown in for good measure, a bit "twighlight zone"with maybe DS Ritchie being the Scully equivalent. I finished this book yesterday in my lunch break and then found myself on edge waiting for my delivery of books 5 (now reading) &6 having already purchased no 7 in my local Sainsburys at the weekend. These hope will last until I can get my hands on the next in line from one of my other favourites. Have also ordered another book from yet another new author to give it a go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Another brilliant piece of work from James Oswald. This is the 4th one I've read in the series of DI McLean and I intend to read all 6 as I am enthralled by them. I'm now getting used to the introduction of the Occult and Supernatural sway to these otherwise normal investigations, but that just adds to the whole intrigue of the stories that makes them so different and interesting. A truly great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
After reading book 4 in the series I'm getting more interested in how the battle of good v evil will pan out. However there will be readers who are wanting a detective story put off by the supernatural sub text, I know I was sceptical at the start, but as it is a continuous theme running within all the Inspector McLean books it does not distract too much from the story from being credible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
I really like this author, and so far the story's have been a compelling read.
In his previous books he flirted with the occult, this one however was full on speaking to the devil.
I don't know if I will carry on reading his series, I'm not really a fan of supernatural forces and Devils .
Anyone who likes great detective story's and doesn't mind some hocus pocus will love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
I just love these books. I'm a former Met police officer and James Oswald has captured the police mentality 100 per cent, including the humour. I find myself laughing out loud. He also portrays evil. It's easy to poo poo evil, but it's real. He also portrays good. Ordinary people who do extraordinary things simply because it's the right thing to do. And a really good read too. Just off to Amazon to buy the next book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Each book in this series is excellent by itself but reading them in order is a real treat - this is my second time of reading them all and the stories seem to get better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Yet another gripping tale from James. I can't wait to read the fifth book of Tony McLean's solving abilities and troubles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Have nearly finished this book, number 4 and really enjoy this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
I am a total fan. Excellent writing, well thought out plots and a continuing story line through the series. What's not to like!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Another fantastic read from James Oswald. On to Number 5 next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)